Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five books in one - good value!
I have read a lot of so called property guides, including several 'TV books' and they are usually empty and very disappointing with no content other than a few nice pictures - probably hastily written by a ghost writer. This one is different, if anything it is too big, aimed as much at property developers as it is home improvers, covering everything from design and...
Published on 20 Dec. 2009 by William Ditton

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars English Property Porn How To
Neither as detailed nor practically useful as the Housebuilder's Bible. Seems too much the product of our (the English) obsession with house (land) prices and how to make a living out of the rents (economic meaning - look it up) to be derived from them. If you've a place in inner London, or are otherwise wealthy, and have the means to buy and renovate in, say, the...
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five books in one - good value!, 20 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Renovating For Profit (Paperback)
I have read a lot of so called property guides, including several 'TV books' and they are usually empty and very disappointing with no content other than a few nice pictures - probably hastily written by a ghost writer. This one is different, if anything it is too big, aimed as much at property developers as it is home improvers, covering everything from design and planning through to the minutiae of property law, tax planning and even build costs in a lot of detail - at 300 or more pages it is like several guides in one.
It covers the key things you need to know about doing up a property or taking on a development project chapter by chapter, from finding a property, assessing its potential, understanding how to add value, how to get your own level of involvement right, how to budget, working with designers and builders, and how to project manage. The building itself is dealt with chapter by chapter too, from repairs, to improvements to adding space, heating, plumbing, wiring, insulation, eco things, listed buildings etc.
If you are looking for a book that will help you get your home improvement or first time development project right, this one is for you. It answered pretty much all my questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good book!, 22 Mar. 2010
By 
MC Griffiths (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renovating For Profit (Paperback)
I picked up this book a few months ago at an exhibition about renovating and building your own home. The author, Michael Holmes, was there and I watched him give a talk about home improvements. He did seem knowledgeable but I've also seen him on TV, presenting Who Owns Britain's Best Home?, so to be honest thought maybe he was just a TV personality putting his name to a book as opposed to a real expert. But anyway, I thought I'd give it a go as I was about to start renovating my post-war semi.
To cut a long story short, I was very impressed with this book. It had a lot of tips beyond the obvious advice I've read in property magazines and online. When you've never renovated before, it's an incredibly daunting experience, and I found this was a real hand-holding guide - but much more besides. It takes you from the stage of complete beginner to expert (I hope!), with lots of advice about how to maximise your investment. It's built up my confidence so much that I was originally just planning to renovate - I'm now adding on an extension!
My only criticism is that it's a little pricey. I paid the full £25 but I wish I'd come on here and gotten it at the reduced price. However, I would say that it was £25 well spent, and will save me 100 times this in the long run! Thank you Mr Holmes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book :D, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Renovating For Profit (Paperback)
Really good book... all the information i need for starting property development and in depth about most aspects.

Overall great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive guide. Easy to read and understand, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renovating For Profit (Paperback)
Very comprehensive guide. Easy to read and understand. It's quite extensive but breaks down into easily digestible chapters. A good reference guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book comments, 2 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Renovating For Profit (Paperback)
Very useful book with great advice. Only negative point is that some of the information is not up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 29 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Renovating For Profit (Paperback)
The only really poor thing about this book is the title. It sounds like a shallow guide to making a quick buck but its actually an extremely thorough and worthwhile book - probably the best on market about renovating a house in the UK. I agree with the previous reviewer who described it as more like several books in one. If you are looking at undertaking a renovation project this book is an invaluable aid whether you are doing all of the work yourself or getting the builders in to do it. I too have heard Michael speak and he is extremely knowledgeable and has plenty of practical experience. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for the home renovator, 2 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Renovating For Profit (Paperback)
Whether you read this wonderful book from cover to cover - or just dip into it with specific questions - it's clear that you are in the hands of an expert. In our current economic times, this book is a must-read for anyone considering renovation on a small or large scale. It gives a very clear understanding of the renovating process from start to finish - along with the pitfalls to avoid. It will save you a lot of money if you follow Michael Holmes's sound advice!

Paula Robinson Rossouw - author & Sunday Telegraph columnist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity for any amateur property developer!, 8 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renovating For Profit (Paperback)
If you are considering going into property development or renovating a house for the first time,please get this book. It covers everything and I mean everything-from choosing the right property, buying at the right price, marketing your property, finance and tax, etc. It should be called "Property Bible" instead of Renovating for Profit. This book has helped me to avoid the pitfalls. Buy this book and I guarantee you wont have any regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars English Property Porn How To, 16 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renovating For Profit (Paperback)
Neither as detailed nor practically useful as the Housebuilder's Bible. Seems too much the product of our (the English) obsession with house (land) prices and how to make a living out of the rents (economic meaning - look it up) to be derived from them. If you've a place in inner London, or are otherwise wealthy, and have the means to buy and renovate in, say, the Cotwolds and pay someone to do the worrying for you then this is your kind of book. It is written from the point of view of doing your own worrying, but, disingenuously, I think, is really selling the services of "professionals" that you can pay to make this all happen for you. On the other hand if you want to go the time honoured route of living in, renovating and then selling on to riches and likely eventual buy to let portfolio then this may also be for you. It is in short an uncritical practical celebration of our obsession with property, it's tax privileges and how to make a living (or better) taking advantage of them.

Good luck and start young, or better still, get your parents, or their parents, to start for you.

If you just want to do something with your own place to live in ,which you are having to pay for as you live in it, and don't want to make your life completely about property, but, have to pay some attention to it, because that's how it is, then there are better books for you,this will just irritate you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, well written, 3 July 2014
By 
D. Goldman (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renovating For Profit (Paperback)
Great read, well written. Helped me a lot, as I needed to quickly understand all the stages of selling a property, including renovation. It gave me all the information I needed, with little 'fat' - I now feel I have a good grounding in property, and this is from the position of a complete novice. For anyone that wants to read a specific area - i.e. just interiors - the book is separated carefully into chapters, so you can find what you want easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Renovating For Profit
Renovating For Profit by Michael Holmes (Paperback - 24 April 2008)
£18.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews