Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Join. No, buy the book first, no - join first, no...
Join Me is testament to how a crazy idea can bring people together for the good of others. It proves undeniably that the majority of people wish to help each other and sometimes they just need the smallest of excuses to do it. With a cast of odd characters the story goes from a silly idea by an exceptionally bored man to the whole scheme going wildy out of control to...
Published on 15 May 2003 by Mr. Mj Whitby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes Man's little brother
Quite enjoyed this book - classic Danny Wallace. Didn't have the laughs of Yes Man and he admits he's no Bill Bryson but still a fun read.
Published 16 months ago by Romeshopper


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Join. No, buy the book first, no - join first, no..., 15 May 2003
By 
Mr. Mj Whitby "Matt Whitby" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join Me (Paperback)
Join Me is testament to how a crazy idea can bring people together for the good of others. It proves undeniably that the majority of people wish to help each other and sometimes they just need the smallest of excuses to do it. With a cast of odd characters the story goes from a silly idea by an exceptionally bored man to the whole scheme going wildy out of control to the heady heights of appearing on Belgium's top-rated TV show. This is most certainly a book with it's heart in the right place. Every joinee has learnt from the experience. Whether it's that a small, random act of kindness can have a big effect on the recipient, that strangers truly are friends we've not yet met, or perhaps just that it's not a good idea to look at pictures of peoples flats on the internet - and then mention it in casual conversation. Did I mention that the book is very funny? -- and by the way... It's not a cult, it's a collective. Only 2% of the vote? Damn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder: Let's nip it in the bud!, 2 July 2004
This review is from: Join Me: The True Story of a Man Who Started a Cult by Accident (Paperback)
It appears I have actually been living in a cave, because the oddly successful Join Me campaign passed me by entirely in 2002 (and onwards). And also, I did read Are You Dave Gorman before this. That book was pointless, yet life-affirming - and it had something important to say about friendship, and being nice to people. Nothing you could quite pin down, though.
Danny Wallace's first solo book, detailing his quest to get 1000 people to "Join him", is hilarious. Like Are You Dave Gorman, it's occasionally a little convenient and hard-to-believe at best. But life imitates art, and strange things really do happen.
Also, unlike said novel, Join Me has a definite message, and Danny's collective isn't a "bored man's experiment" at all. It merely started as one. It's basically a religion, minus all the trappings of sermons and scripture, with just a single aim: make people happy by being nice to them. It's starkly simple stuff, and the sense throughout the novel that Danny truly doesn't see the scale of what he's done is rather humbling. Hundreds join him out of sheer curiosity and trust. Hundreds do good deeds, finally feeling they have the excuse and right to. After reading this, you'll be truly hard-pressed not to sign up.
If anything, the book makes the human race seem a warmer, more lovable breed than before. An absolutely touching, sweet (and more importantly), funny story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolutely Fantastic Read!, 4 July 2003
This review is from: Join Me (Paperback)
I have been aware of Danny Wallace's existence since the first BBC showing of "Are you Dave Gorman?", I have watched the series again and again, devoured the book many times and watched 'Dave Gorman's Important Astrological Experiment'. So because I found him a)extremely funny and b) really quite sexy I bookmarked his website to follow what he did next. Which is when I came across Join Me.
I came across the idea while I was bored one afternoon and emailed to say I wanted to join him. The responce was to send a passport photo and await instructions. You see this is where I am kicking myself, I never did, after reading 'Are you Dave Gorman'I was I admit, extremely nervous of as to where it might lead.
About a year later I found he was writing a book about the experience, I ordered the book to find out what I had missed, safe in the knowledge that Mr Wallace would have wrote an extremely good book no matter what the outcome of the collective. So let me tell you - I was not wrong. This book is brilliantly funny. It tells of why Danny set up the collective, what happened as he tried to get more people and the way the idea snow balled almost out of his control. The amazing lengths both the Leader and the Joinees have gone to are frankly astounding.
You have to buy this book, it fantastically laugh out loud funny and inspiring all at the same time. So buy, laugh and if you haven't already - Join Him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new breed of nutters, 17 May 2005
This review is from: Join Me: The True Story of a Man Who Started a Cult by Accident (Paperback)
A new writer has emerged - one that throws himself into some diabolical situation, then records every move for our reading pleasure. Three such type books I have read all in the past week - JOIN ME, ARE YOU DAVE GORMAN? and the hilarious (and similarly warped) UK ON A G-STRING. Can't wait to see what these authors do next - Buy Join Me! Buy the others, trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Funny, 8 July 2004
This review is from: Join Me (Paperback)
This book is simply fantastic.
Having been Dave Gorman's ignored voice of reason in Are you Dave Gorman? Danny Wallace (not the one who used to play for Southampton and Man Utd) shows he too has the gift of being able to complete a daft undertaking and then recount his tale in a charming, easy to read and thoroughly amusing style.
Just like AYDG? you end up willing a total stranger to suceed at a task so marvelously pointless that even at your drunkest you'd never do it yourself.
The only problem is he writes so well someone's bound to try to get him to do a novel and stop him doing something much more entertaining instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Send One Passport Sized Photograph to ...., 4 Oct 2003
This review is from: Join Me (Paperback)
Absolutely bloody wonderful.
All you need to join Danny's cult is a passport photo. You don't know what the cult's for or if it has any purpose whatsoever.
Loads of men remain addicted to what Danny's annoyingly sensible girlfriend calls "stupid boy-projects" and the book is a hymn to the child that sits within the man and refuses to dislodged by adulthood.
The naughty schoolboy sets up an aimless cult in memory of a dead Uncle whose similar attempts were derided. Danny dares not tell his girlfriend because he knows she will drag him back into the real, go shopping, meet acquaintances world.
The guilt he feels about this and the absurd excuses he concocts run through a book littered with wonderful, odd people and implausible meetings - the unfrench quintessential Frenchman, the duo who write jingles for Polish butter, the rock vicar, the evil usurper, loads of characters from fiction, all apparently living in the real world.
Look at the passport photo of Joinee Jonesy grinning at you from Chapter1. It's worth buying it just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and very very very funny!, 17 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Join Me (Paperback)
I thought that this book, Join Me, was utterly wonderful - I read it in one sitting and plan to start reading it again this evening... it is hilarious and caused more than a few strange looks to be thrown my way as I sat in a cafe after a heavy day of shopping, laughing loudly on my own. Very embarrassing but more than worth it!
The characters Danny meets along the way are all fascinating in their own way, and you can't help but wonder what it was that drew them all to Join Me in the first place
The fact that Danny started a cult by accident is hilarious - and the fact that he had no idea what to do with all his hundreds of new followers is more hilarious still!
And then when he decides what to do with them all... it's inspiring.
Hilarious and original. Like nothing else I've read.
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chapter 10 is my favourite!, 17 Sep 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join Me (Paperback)
I'm not really the kind of guy who joins organisations. Okay, so I was in the Beavers, Cubs, Scouts, Air Training Corps, and am now a priest in the Church, but as I was saying joining organisations isn't really my cup of tea. Or rather it is, as I don't drink tea. But Join Me is different. Let me start at the beginning.
I joined. Near the beginning. You can read about it if you like in this book (chapter 10, begins on page 118 when you get to it). It's not a cult, it's a collective, I was told and I believed Danny. Why should I disbelieve the bloke? he helps old men, he visits Belgium, he asks his joinees to do random acts of kindness every Friday. He even invented a new word: joinee -- try looking that up at dictionary.com!
This is the book of something very, very silly, but at the same time something so beautifully simple and wonderful how can it possibly go wrong? This is a beautifully and hilariously written book, by a shambling, truly postmodern cult leader of the most humble kind.
Why not do someone a good deed and buy them a copy too when you order yours.
Gold Joinee (and Reverend) Saunders
(p.s. refering to another review: the vicar - that would be me - was in Inverness, not Aberdeen!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will you Join Me?, 29 May 2007
This review is from: Join Me: The True Story of a Man Who Started a Cult by Accident (Paperback)
This was the first Danny Wallace book i read, and my god, it's brilliant, i read it constantly for hours on end, laughing all the way through, if you like true funny stories, I highly recommend you read this.

If you dont enjoy it, I'll refund your money*

*not an actual offer, i dont earn enough, but trust me, its brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallace's World, 27 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Join Me: The True Story of a Man Who Started a Cult by Accident (Paperback)
No single person has graced the land of literature with so much honesty and vibrance as Mr Danny Wallace.He does things that people like you and me can never consider.He writes with no anger or quarl about the things that have happened to him.Setting up a 'collective not a cult' is an achievement but to change normal peoples everyday lives is something that takes a gift few of us have.Join Me has something other books can't seem to grasp.You enjoy the times he enjoys and you feel sad when he feels sad.You are gripped by the way he puts the things that are most important to him on the line to do this.Your life will have less karma if you don't read this book.Join me and enjoy Danny's dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Join Me: The True Story of a Man Who Started a Cult by Accident
Join Me: The True Story of a Man Who Started a Cult by Accident by Danny Wallace (Paperback - 3 Jun 2004)
5.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews