Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring recipes
I bought this even though I had the "text only" version already. This illustrated version is so much more inspiring because of the photographs and better layout - much more like a cookbook. It has certainly encouraged me to try more of the recipes. Another good point is that it tells you at the start of which chapter whether recipes are suitable for Induction, On-going...
Published on 7 Jun 2004 by Barbara Coulter

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as it could be
The recipes are for at least two people and sometimes up to ten.
Not realistic in that more than one person per household on this diet would be unusual.

As a guide about what is allowed, and in terms of presentation it is worth the money.
Published on 14 Jun 2011 by P. Mcdermott


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring recipes, 7 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Illustrated Atkins New Diet Cookbook: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Help You Follow the International Number One Weight-Loss Programme (Hardcover)
I bought this even though I had the "text only" version already. This illustrated version is so much more inspiring because of the photographs and better layout - much more like a cookbook. It has certainly encouraged me to try more of the recipes. Another good point is that it tells you at the start of which chapter whether recipes are suitable for Induction, On-going Weight Loss, Pre-Maintenance or Lifetime Maintenance levels of the diet. The good news is that the vast majority of the recipes are suitable on Induction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 0091894700, 13 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Illustrated Atkins New Diet Cookbook: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Help You Follow the International Number One Weight-Loss Programme (Hardcover)
This is a truly excellent cook book. Not only for those who want to lose weight (especially as summer approaches) but for those who just love to cook simple and really wonderful food. The illustrations are inspiring and the text easy to follow. Makes a lovely gift too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cookbook!, 2 May 2004
This review is from: The Illustrated Atkins New Diet Cookbook: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Help You Follow the International Number One Weight-Loss Programme (Hardcover)
I bought this book with the hope that it would inspire me with new recipes whilst on Atkins and it has done just that!! I found that it has given me ideas with different foods that I would not have thought of using! Atkins is by far the best diet I have ever been on - it works with good results and you are never hungry. When you see the recipes in the book, it is hard to believe that they are for a diet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atkins Cook Book, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Atkins New Diet Cookbook: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Help You Follow the International Number One Weight-Loss Programme (Hardcover)
Its got lots of nice recipes which are easy enough to follow if you like to cook.
The only prob is the recipes are often for 6 people, so if (like me)your maths isn't too hot, you need to set asidea bit more time for the calculations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, 27 July 2010
This review is from: The Illustrated Atkins New Diet Cookbook: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Help You Follow the International Number One Weight-Loss Programme (Hardcover)
This book is simple to understand, although does have quite an impact on your lifestyle. I use it for the recipes in the evening, as the process is quite difficult to follow in a normal working day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atkins recipes, 20 May 2010
This review is from: The Illustrated Atkins New Diet Cookbook: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Help You Follow the International Number One Weight-Loss Programme (Hardcover)
A very useful set of recipes to help you stick to the Atkins diet.Some are rather americanised but if you are selective this is a useful cook book which presents tasty meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low Carb Cook Book, 4 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Atkins New Diet Cookbook: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Help You Follow the International Number One Weight-Loss Programme (Hardcover)
Atkins New Diet Cookbook has some lovely recipes that I would try out even if not on a low carb diet.
The only down side that I can see is it not being easy to spot what stage of the diet each recipe belongs to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful book, 22 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Illustrated Atkins New Diet Cookbook: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Help You Follow the International Number One Weight-Loss Programme (Hardcover)
I first used this cookbook two years ago when I started the Atkins diet - it's mainly useful for giving ideas of what is and is not possible for meals during the various stages. I started this diet using only this book for reference in January 2009 and by March 2009 I had lost nearly 2 stone and went from being nearly a size 16 to a size 12! After that I did bring in small portions of carbs back into my diet, but have never been one for a lot of pasta or rice (the only think I really missed was bread) and continued to use this book as a guide. I think it's particulary good for helping to set your frame of mind while dieting and helping you to realise it's mainly thinking what you should and shouldn't be eating before you eat something, rather than just denying yourself everything you love (if that makes sense!!). I still use this book occassionally as a reference guide now (March 2011) although I haven't been on the diet for 1 1/2 years, and I am still a still 12.

The recipes are all very simple to follow as well and I have never had problems making anything listed in the book. I especially recommend the mushrooms in marscapone, and I often make them for my dinner even when not dieting...

Oh and if you want to drink occassionally during the various phases, then I certainly recommend vodka, lime & soda!! Doubly great since soda is on the ok to drink list (in moderation of course!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget you are on a diet!, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Illustrated Atkins New Diet Cookbook: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Help You Follow the International Number One Weight-Loss Programme (Hardcover)
This cookbook is an excellent purchase if you are new to the atkins diet as it brings not only the basic rules and facts of the diet, in a concise way, but also menus and hundreds of delicious recipes that are easy to follow. You will forget you are on a diet as you eat nutritious and yummy food while at the same time loosing weight. Sounds perfect and it almost is... the rest is up to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as it could be, 14 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Illustrated Atkins New Diet Cookbook: Over 200 Mouthwatering Recipes to Help You Follow the International Number One Weight-Loss Programme (Hardcover)
The recipes are for at least two people and sometimes up to ten.
Not realistic in that more than one person per household on this diet would be unusual.

As a guide about what is allowed, and in terms of presentation it is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5e6eec4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews