Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot On!
I reviewed the original Moro cookbook less than favourably - I felt it was a case of poor translation of recipes from restaurant to domestic kitchen as it suffered from uneven spicing and some odd proportions. This could not be less true of Casa Moro which is now my constant kitchen companion - perhaps this one succeeds because it's what the two Sams actually eat at home...
Published on 29 Mar 2005 by Booksthatmatter

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Book For an Adventurous Cook!
I have only flicked through the book but must admit that I am unlikely to try most (or all) of the recipes as it seems to be for semi professional chefs and cooks.....however that's from someone who likes using his slow cooker and reading cook books from Nigella Lawson. I would summarise that it is for an 'adventurous and confident cook'
Published 18 months ago by Simon Rhodes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot On!, 29 Mar 2005
This review is from: Casa Moro: The Second Cookbook (Hardcover)
I reviewed the original Moro cookbook less than favourably - I felt it was a case of poor translation of recipes from restaurant to domestic kitchen as it suffered from uneven spicing and some odd proportions. This could not be less true of Casa Moro which is now my constant kitchen companion - perhaps this one succeeds because it's what the two Sams actually eat at home. The recipes are enticing, instructions clear and the flavours gorgeous - oh take me to Marrakesh now!
My favourite recipe from far too many favourites is the subtle and enticing layered dish called Chicken Fattee - OK it's a comedy name to us unsophisticated types, but it's a dizzyingly rich and smoky dish which has the added virtue of amply feeding 8 people from one medium sized chicken. Yum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book packed with yummy recipes, 3 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casa Moro: The Second Cookbook (Hardcover)
I think this book has to be the best cookery book I have bought so far! The variety and amount of recipes is exceptional. Have had this book three years and it has never disappointed. The Carrot Puree with Caraway and Feta is to die for! I never realised carrots could taste so good! It's amazing the recipes are simple and yet turn out exceptional.

Casa Moro is an enjoyable read, full of easy to follow yummy recipes with nice colour photographs. I look forward to trying many more great dishes.

The only negative I would say, is that the dessert section leaves a lot to be desired. There are not many recipes and most are various ice cream dishes for which you need an ice-cream maker. I invested in one and the ice-cream is well worth the effort.

Overall I am extremely happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yum Yum, 4 May 2005
This review is from: Casa Moro: The Second Cookbook (Hardcover)
In the first week of owning this book, I cooked 3 meals from it, and now, 6 months later there is barely a week that goes by without a meal either from or influenced by this book.
Most dishes are straightforward to prepare, even easy at times, and little is required outside the ingredients most enthusiastic cooks are likely to have.
I am now very much looking forwards to trying the many light summer dishes after having been on gutsy winter fare so far. Surely a book for all seasons. Prawns and Oyster mushrooms in manzanilla on toast makes for a hard to beat lunch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The second MORO cookbook from the two Sams..., 20 Aug 2007
This review is from: Casa Moro: The Second Cookbook (Hardcover)
..........and much, much more than another book of recipes!

'Casa Moro' evokes Samuel and Samantha Clark's extensive travels, their first discovery of Spain and Morocco, and in particular their house in the heart of Moorish Andalucía - welcome to 'Casa Moro'.

'The food of 'Moro' has most of its roots in the home.......
This book has the same cultural culinary mix of Spain and the Muslim Mediterranean as our first - MORO The Cookbook.
However, we have also included a chapter on the wild food and traditional dishes we have come across in our Alpujarran village.
We are always interested in a sense of place with our food, that place often being the street or home.
This book therefore prefers to be at home, as there is no substitute for the love and care of the home cook.'

Eye-catching covers open to 319 matt pages, split over main chapters:-

* Bread, flatbreads and Stuffed Breads
* Soups
* Tapas & Mezze, Starters and Light Meals
* Salads and Cooked Moroccan Salads
* Fish Main Courses
* Meat Main Courses
* Vegetables
* Grains & Pulses
* Home-Made & Home-Cured
* Puddings & Cakes

plus the aforementioned section on 'Las Alpujarras and Wild Food'.

The appendix includes recipes for 'Basics Stocks', a Vegetable & Fruit Seasonal Guide and an interesting reference page headed:-

'the following information is our personal point of view - an insight into what informs the choices we make when buying food for the home and restaurant',

along with the full index.

Each recipe is preceded by a paragraph of relevant narrative, a full list of ingredients and the number of servings.... then the clear method.
Foreign and English titles, where applicable.

This chunky tome is interspersed with matt 'on-location' photography and the occasional 'step-by-step' method, but....
....perhaps a slight negative may be that it is a little light on photographs of the finished dishes - which may prove less appealing to those of us who like to see what we are aiming for on the plate!

However...having said that.... it is easy to forgive this with the general flow of this well-written, passionate book, which is far more than a cookery book.......evident right from the start in the truly descriptive paragraph entitled 'Winter':-

'To us the most evocative images of winter are the first settling of snow on the Mulhacén and surrounding peaks of the Sierra Nevada, the auburn spheres of kakis (persimmons) on their naked branches and the crimson seeds of wild pomegranates that have burst open. There is not much in the vegetable plots apart from cardoons, giant cabbages for potajes (stews) and broad bean shots just emerging from underneath the trees. Only the laden orange trees in the lower valleys are at their peak. Their orange globes and shiny dark green leaves are so perfect they look almost un-real.
As the nights and days grow colder, the sweet smell of almond wood fires fills the village.
Winter has arrived.'

The opening note to 'Barley Bread', page 264:

'As we were leaving Tangiers on our camper-van trip, we bought a couple of breads on the street to eat for breakfast.
One was flaky and oily, flavoured with onion and a little tomato; the other was a dense bread made of cracked barley.
This bread felt primitive and ancient - more like polenta than bread.
We like it lightly grilled and eaten with butter and other accompaniments..........'

and the closing note for the same recipe:-

'The brightly coloured enamel teapots that feature in many of the photographs come from Morocco.
We collect them and use them for pouring olive oil.'

Other recipes include:

* Almond Cake
* Turkish Pizza with Tomato, Lamb and Allspice
* Thick Gazpacho
* Chicken Dumplings Broth
* Garlic Prawns with White Wine and Chilli
* Salt Cod, Orange and Potato Salad
* Warm Tomato Bread & Garlic Purée
* Winter Tabbouleh
* Black Ink Sauce
* Scrambled Eggs
* Deep Fried Sardine Balls
* Roast Pork with Quince Purée
* Quail with Grapes & Ginger
* Preserved Lemons
* Paella with Chicken and Prawns
* Chicken Fattee with Rice, Crispbread and Yoghurt
* Lamb Tagine with Peas and Tomatoes
* Warm Pumpkin and Chickpea Salad with Tahini
* Saffron Potatoes
* Harissa
* Orange Flan
* Anise Biscuits
* Pomegranate Molasses
* Rice Pudding

One of my particular favourites is 'Seafood Salad', (pages 74-5) which whisks me back in time to fond memories of Andalucía....an easy to make dish with wonderful flavours, served with fresh limes and a chunk of rustic bread.
This, finished with 'Kate's Sherry Trifle', from pages 292-3, is a fantastic informal meal to share (eight in my case) and..... remember!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Tasty Food made with Simple Ingredients, 22 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casa Moro: The Second Cookbook (Hardcover)
A had brought this book a couple of years back as a result of a holiday with my family to Morocco, all of whom loved eating dishes like chicken tagine and harira soup whilst out there.

This book is beautiful and some of the recipes are spot on for my family for instance;

Soup Dishes: Salmorejo - Thick Gazpacho, Bessara - Dried Pea Soup with Cumin and Argan Oil, Chicken Dumpling Broth

Fish Dishes:Pan-fried Squid and Prawns with Harissa, Grilled Sardines wrapped in Vine Leaves with Tahini Sauce,

Vegetable Dishes: Warm Pumpkin and Chickpea Salad with Tahini, Beetroot and Potato Salad with Mint and Spring Onion

Meat and Poultry Dishes: Tangia - Lamb Steamed with Preserved Lemon and Cumin, Lamb Tagine with Peas and Tomatoes, Chicken Fattee with Rice, Crispbread and Yoghurt, Roast Chicken with Preserved Lemon

Even though these recipes are good I would have liked this book to also contain some authentic, rustic dishes that I tried out in Morocco and I know from my Moroccan friends who live in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best cook book, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casa Moro: The Second Cookbook (Hardcover)
My favourite book dazzle everyone at diner party's in the summer it is so easy long as you like garlic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you want to rush into the kitchen and get cooking, 25 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casa Moro (Paperback)
My second Moro book, and just as good as the first. The recipes are so simple and so delicious, they not only make you drool, they make you want to cook and they make you want to visit Spain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for me!, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casa Moro: The Second Cookbook (Hardcover)
good book, good packing, great delays! the ideal book for a quick mediteranean dinner, simple, original & great effect on the guests!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casa Moro (Paperback)
Bought as a present so not used but appears to have a good range of recipes and a style as you would expect from the Moro collection. Quality item and well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb cookbook, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casa Moro (Paperback)
Most interesting book with cultural history and background which makes for good reading. Thoroughly recommend for practical use or just as an interesting cultural guide for armchair cooks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casa Moro: The Second Cookbook
Casa Moro: The Second Cookbook by Samantha Clark (Hardcover - 4 Nov 2004)
Used & New from: 10.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews