Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest thing I've read in ages
I don't know what book the previous reviewer had read (if any) but I thought this was one of the finest books I have read in a long time. It is a moving and honest look at a sensitive subject, which also manages to be extremely funny. It proves that you can write about what could be a delicate area (pun intended) without being po-faced or going over the top. I'd...
Published on 14 Oct 2003

versus
3 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible
I've never wasted money and time on something so dire and worthless. Juvenile toilet humour at its worst.
Published on 10 Oct 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest thing I've read in ages, 14 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Talking Cock: A Celebration of Man and his Manhood (Paperback)
I don't know what book the previous reviewer had read (if any) but I thought this was one of the finest books I have read in a long time. It is a moving and honest look at a sensitive subject, which also manages to be extremely funny. It proves that you can write about what could be a delicate area (pun intended) without being po-faced or going over the top. I'd recommend this book to anyone, whether or not they possess the part in question. Above all, it made me laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 20 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Talking Cock: A Celebration of Man and his Manhood (Paperback)
Talking Cock avoids the obvious traps of juvenile toilet humour to deliver a serious, but never somber discussion of what it means to be a man in modern society. The fact that this is viewed not only from the perspective of straight men, but also gay men, women and even lesbians makes the book full of interesting new ideas no matter who you are. If approached with an open mind the reader will find many firmly held preconceptions challenged. It is also very funny, but the jokes are never cruel. This book should be recommended reading for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make this book a standard text in sex-education - NOW!, 3 Nov 2003
This review is from: Talking Cock: A Celebration of Man and his Manhood (Paperback)
At long last, someone has had the courage to write a book about a subject that has - for too long - been treated with prudish discomfort and embarrassed silence!
Richard Herring has rescued the penis from the sterile pages of medical textbooks and restored it to its proper place - the trousers of the 3 billion human beings who actually own one, and whose feelings and thoughts about it, though important to them, have never been considered suitable topics of dinner-party conversation.
Why should we feel ashamed to talk about penises? In the author's mind, no reason at all, and so he does. He talks about them a great deal, the whole length and breadth (or should that be girth?) of the subject, dispelling myths, poking fun at prudes, ridiculing penis-phobic religions, correcting a few medical misconceptions, and encouraging us to "...celebrate The Power of the Penis!", by seeing it in all its aspects - as a miracle of nature, a thing of beauty, a bringer of pleasure and a creator of life.
Oh, and some of the knob gags are very good, too!
'Talking Cock' is one of those books that is so engaging you almost have to read it at a single sitting, because it is very difficult to put down. Not only is it a joy to read, but it should be essential reading for all penis owners and their friends, because they are sure to learn lots of funny, interesting and impressive facts about their little fella that they didn't know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will love this book about big men's cocks, 21 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. S. Berry (Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talking Cock: A Celebration of Man and his Manhood (Paperback)
This is an excellent, well researched and very funny book that expands on Richard Herring's stage show of the same name. Self-deprecating and serious in equal turns this is more than just a collection of nob gags (despite what the cover warning would have you believe).
If you can handle being seen on a packed train, chuckling away at a book with the word "cock" on the cover in big red letters, then you're in for a treat. Men and women of all ages should read this book - in fact, it should be a set text at schools. As well as making you laugh it will help you understand men (and their little fellas) a bit better. And if you get the chance to catch the live show on tour, do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, Not Smutty, 21 Oct 2003
By 
N. Stewart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talking Cock: A Celebration of Man and his Manhood (Paperback)
At first glance this might look like an attempt to flog books the ‘Wicked Willy’ way, i.e. through sniggery double entendres, but it couldn’t be further from that.
It turns out to be a very thoughtful examination of man’s littlest friend, and as such indispensable for anybody who owns or regularly sees one. Herring manages to make some good points about people’s relationship with the unmentionable anatomy, but still keeps coming out with observations of internally-damaging funniness.
What with the current atmosphere of simultaneous prudery and ladishness, the subject isn’t discussed in depth nearly enough, and Herring has made a heartfelt attempt to bring it into the open. So to speak.
Buy it, read it (but not on the train) and then realise that you can’t quote any of the best bits to people, so they’ll have to buy their own copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Honest Exploration of Man's Manhood, 7 Jan 2004
By 
Dave (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Talking Cock: A Celebration of Man and his Manhood (Paperback)
Entertaining, thought-provoking, reassuring and with far more information than is strictly necessary on the penis. Richard Herring's book gives a much needed exploration of man's private parts and their importance both physically and mentally, aided by statistics from his successful questionnaire as well as literature and folklore surrounding the organ throughout the ages.
For male readers the book will likely reassure, remind of past experiences, and disgust; this is all aided by Richard's personal view of the subjects and topics the book covers. He doesn't reveal enough to make his parents hold their heads in shame, but his increasing frustration with having to spend a year researching willies would make any grown man feel uncomfortable.
With illustrations, photographs, diagrams (yes that one- Mister Herring is also very adamant that his more modern and understandable definitions for aspects of the reproductive system will be taken into consideration by all Biology textbooks), Talking Cock is a great read which reveals a lot about the British population and manages to avoid making knob gags at every opportunity; a true feat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cocktastic, 9 Aug 2013
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking Cock: A Celebration of Man and his Manhood (Paperback)
I think I ordered this because I loved reading Richard Herring's autobiography 'How Not To Grow Up' so much and I'm glad that I did. It's a story of man's obsession with his member, but it's well-researched, funny and incredibly insightful. Of course, it's fairly profane and won't suit everyone, but as a woman I thought that it was great as it linked to one of his stand-up shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I'm a bit biased..., 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do feel that Richard Herring is one of the most generous comedians in the country right now, as he gives away more of his comedy than he charges for (and that's not in any way a reflection of the quality, incidentally) so when he does put out something which requires payment then I'm more than happy to hand over the cash. The book is a few years old now, and I purchased the Kindle edition (although I think that you will find a link to hard copies via his website) and read it within a few days. It's rare that I will read a book that quickly, but I enjoyed this so much that I found it hard to leave.

Don't be put off by the title, there is a lot of serious and useful information in here. I don't know whether I would leave it lying around for any aged and prudish grandparents to skim through, but for anyone with a sense of humour and a penis of their own (and/or access to somebody else's) then the book is a must. I've had one for almost 53 years and I still learned a few things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Herringbone, 12 April 2010
By 
Mr. A. Richards "Andrew R" (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talking Cock (Paperback)
So glad that this book has been reprinted, even if only in the US. The book is fascinating, both funny and interesting, although it took me longer to read because for some reason I didn't want to take it into work and read in my lunch hour - I didn't want to have to explain. There's probably a chapter in the book about that!
Wish I'd seen the stage version, although Herring has talked about performing it once again to record a DVD. I hope that he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for girls and boys., 14 Mar 2010
By 
B. A. Shipston "Sacred Cowgirl" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talking Cock: A Celebration of Man and his Manhood (Paperback)
A sweet, blunt, pragmatic and honest look at all things cock! Herring has a endearing writing style that helps you indentify with his perspective. It's funny, you learn a hell of a lot as a woman and (I should imagine) get a great deal of reassurance if you're a man. I would highly recommend this to anyone with a healthy sense of curiosity and an even healthier sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talking Cock: A Celebration of Man and his Manhood
Talking Cock: A Celebration of Man and his Manhood by Richard Herring (Paperback - 9 Oct 2003)
8.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews