Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars20
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2005
At finishing a long term relationship I decided that I needed some help in meeting women so I ordered this book on the basis of the other reviews.I can honestly say that after reading this book I am now more demotivated in my search for romance than before.The basic premise of this book is that you are a good looking male who only needs to be a bit more charming in order to get the girl of your dreams.If you fall into this category then you might get something from it,if not the advice is very basic. In addition this book also appears to be badly researched the 5 graphs to show womans opinions all have the same small number of respondents,48.This would indicate that the author has simply asked her friends their views rather than doing any real research.
In short please do not buy this book unless you are a good looking rugby playing type who only approaches woman in bars after you've had too much to drink.
11 comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2004
The book certainly offers an insiders perspective, but unless you are a natural I don't think that it will make you brilliant with women. It certainly makes you more understanding of a woman's nature which can be esoteric.
A few bits towards the end seem 'strange' I mean I doubt that I would be desperate enough to go into a handbag boutique and purchase a handbag just because I could talk to a few women. But then hey I am still single, i'm probably more Millwall than Moschino anyway!
I think if you follow some of her advice you may end up just one of her girly 'friends' for her to cry on. Little advice is given on how to initiate even a first kiss more effectively and convert things into a boyfriend girlfriend thing!
However I think if you follow the more central themes in this book you will at least be popular with women and understand that their sexual drive is fundamentally different from mens despite their changing role in the workplace.
I found her style of writing entertaining unlike many american style psycho babble dating guides which would not work on a European female unless she has the brain of a squirrel.
But buy it anyway its about the price of a couple of pints and you can easily disregard the stuff you don't believe in or find inappropriate in the modern world!
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2005
OK so I read Tracey Cox books Superflirt and Superdate and felt positive about going out there and finding a woman. I then read this book and it made me feel despondent again. It focuses so much on the negative things that men do to blow their chances. It does cover the positive things that men do but you just seem overwhelmed by the negative stuff. There are a few black and white pictures in the book which are uninspiring. Compare that to Tracey Cox books that are both colourful and contain full colour photos of real people (well hired models). This book generally focuses on stories of the friends of the authors and these stories are just througout the book, whilst real life situations can build up a picture in your head, there are just too much of them in this book, which seems to leave the author drolling on with story after story.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2003
Full marks - filled with sharp observation and written in a very entertaining style. While there are great new tactics, it's benefit is the insight given on how girls want to be charmed - which is blindingly obvious now I've read the book. I'm not "in touch with my feminine side", nor do I intend to become better acquainted - so I really appreciated Julia’s apparent hunger for 'red-blooded' blokes and the ways in which girls can be won over without us doggedly jumping through hoops. But, she doesn't pretend to be your therapist - so if you think that you've got serious problems in dealing with women, then you probably need a different book.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2006
Retitle this book 'how to get lots of female friends who all wonder why such a nice guy is still single (but don't want to shag you)'

Nice book on getting on with women, treating them with respect and understanding how they think they work. This is a lot more respectful than the more manipulative books recommended alongside it... but it totally ignores the fact that in choosing someone to hook up with, most women want a man who excites them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
If you want to get brainwashed with the idea that it is your duty to finance a girl to seduce her get this book. There are some useful pointers.
If you really want to get informed well get Layguide: How to Seduce Women More Beautiful Than You Ever Dreamed,The System or The Natural Art of Seduction: Secrets of Success With Women
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2003
Average to begin with , actually lulls the reader into believing that there might be some value in putting up with the cheap shots at men and believe the story that women have the right to be rude men and that it is the men's fault. This book in one sentence ; Men are not very good and should make all the effort, do all that chasing, pay for everything and then when the woman is rude he has to accept that its his fault.
A disappointing middle and finish after a good start.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
After reading the first few pages using "click to look inside", I was excited to buy this book which seemed really amazing. On arrival i read past those first few pages and i am really sorry to say it made my skin crawl. I wanted to buy a book written by a women as i thought it would give a real first hand inside of how to be better with the opposite sex. Instead my reality was the book is full of unintellegent obvious information which in my opinion would be detrimental for any kind of sucess. A real let down!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2009
Perhaps this is the male version of so called chick lit! Or is it a vain attempt to get men to see life from a feminist viewpoint? (I ask the author!)
All in all a light hearted easy read giving the author's view on what men need to do to be more successful in attracting and dating women.
A few assumptions are made about the reader though: You need to be middle class with a good job, good looking, and interesting. If you met all these criteria would you really need to read the book?!
Good luck lads . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
Really enjoyed reading this book.. In fact, it was a friend who bought it and we've all been putting the ideas into action. It's a fun book, not very self-help and Julia doesn't go for phoney analysis or try to intellectualise. She gives normal advice that works a treat, and let's you see the opportunities that hide in everyday situations. Very enlightening, you'll never see things the same again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)