Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Francophile's Dream
Many congratulations to John Burton Race for writing this truly creative and inspiring book about his year in France. This is a real treasure for foodies and non-foodies alike as he settles himself and his family (including sulky teenagers) into a new way of life in South West France. What a wonderful combination of lifestyle and recipes - I almost felt as if I was...
Published on 22 Sep 2003 by A Benson-Smith

versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars French leave!!!!!
Not impressed as a cookery book. Considered it to just be a re-take of the t.v. series. Nothing to inspire me.
Published on 18 Mar 2004 by Maureen Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Francophile's Dream, 22 Sep 2003
By 
A Benson-Smith (North Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: French Leave: Over 100 Irresistible Recipes (Hardcover)
Many congratulations to John Burton Race for writing this truly creative and inspiring book about his year in France. This is a real treasure for foodies and non-foodies alike as he settles himself and his family (including sulky teenagers) into a new way of life in South West France. What a wonderful combination of lifestyle and recipes - I almost felt as if I was there with him and his brood. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, 6 Nov 2003
This review is from: French Leave: Over 100 Irresistible Recipes (Hardcover)
Not only an excellent recipe book but a fantastic insight into John and his family and the highs and lows of moving and settling into a new life. An excellent read for all and even my husband has read it and agrees how good this book is. Please can we have more!! I read this book on holiday and could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Under rated chef, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Leave: Over 100 Irresistible Recipes (Hardcover)
We are not so interested in his life in France but bought this book for the excellent recipes. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French Leave, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Leave: Over 100 Irresistible Recipes (Hardcover)
Great recipes, and great book, from a very good chef, only tired one recipe up to now and it turned out well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick who??, 25 Oct 2005
This review is from: French Leave: Over 100 Irresistible Recipes (Hardcover)
Far better as both a series and a book than Rick Steins` recent stab at the genre.
Two years earlier as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars French leave!!!!!, 18 Mar 2004
By 
Maureen Williams (Salisbury, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: French Leave: Over 100 Irresistible Recipes (Hardcover)
Not impressed as a cookery book. Considered it to just be a re-take of the t.v. series. Nothing to inspire me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

French Leave: Over 100 Irresistible Recipes
French Leave: Over 100 Irresistible Recipes by John Burton-Race (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews