Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best
There are hardly any good books about football. Why else is 'Fever Pitch' still regarded as one of the best. But Nick Hornby is just League Two compared to George Best, who writes as wicked as he played. 'Scoring at Half-Time' makes your stomach hurt as much as his liver. It is full of self-ironic anecdotes and definetely the funniest football book ever.
Published on 18 Nov. 2004 by Christian Joericke

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little padded out
I have been to a few ex-footballers after dinner events so this book really appealed to me. It does have quite a few amusing stories in it (many of which I had heard before) but it does feel padded out. Short chapters, large print and so on. It also is an odd mix of general football anecdotes mixed in with a bit of George Best biography. I have to confess it could...
Published on 15 Sept. 2003 by Nick Brett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 18 Nov. 2004
By 
This review is from: Scoring At Half-Time: Adventures On and Off the Pitch (Paperback)
There are hardly any good books about football. Why else is 'Fever Pitch' still regarded as one of the best. But Nick Hornby is just League Two compared to George Best, who writes as wicked as he played. 'Scoring at Half-Time' makes your stomach hurt as much as his liver. It is full of self-ironic anecdotes and definetely the funniest football book ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff but very sad, 20 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Scoring at Half Time (Hardcover)
Written in a breezy, self-deprecating style the book captures George Best at a point in his life where he seems to have a perspective on himself and his past and is looking forward to a sober,rewarding future. Sadly, that frame of mind and that hope is perhaps dashed. This aside the book seldom strays into the self-introspection that characterirsed Blessed and is an appropriate follow-up. Stories, some old - some new, abound and his observations and reflections on the characters around him during his heyday are often genuinely funny. The story about George, Eusebio and a book signing is among the best I've come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars George at His Best, 8 Dec. 2005
By 
This review is from: Scoring At Half-Time: Adventures On and Off the Pitch (Paperback)
The writing style of this book takes a little getting used to, but if you persevere you will be rewarded with an insight into George Best and the world of football from an era that is sadly long gone now. Back in those days footballers were not millionaires and were not untouchable. Back then though there were similarities with today’s game and for an example take George Best's description of Wolverhampton Wanderers Billy Wright from the 1950s and David Beckham from today’s scene. The stories that George Best relates throughout the pages of this book will shock you, open your eyes, make you laugh and sometimes cry. George best is very frank about the game and I learnt many things about football from his era that I had not previously realized. The biggest impressing this book made upon me is the fact that the footballers from George Best's time were ordinary men playing on a football field and as a result many of the accounts on the surface feel ordinary - but the way George Best relates them is anything but ordinary. Sadly, George Best passed away on Friday the 25th of November 2005. Reading this book is one way to keep this great footballing genius' memory alive in all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little padded out, 15 Sept. 2003
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scoring at Half Time (Hardcover)
I have been to a few ex-footballers after dinner events so this book really appealed to me. It does have quite a few amusing stories in it (many of which I had heard before) but it does feel padded out. Short chapters, large print and so on. It also is an odd mix of general football anecdotes mixed in with a bit of George Best biography. I have to confess it could also have done with some additional editing, but all in all, quite entertaining if a little expensive for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles were the second, third, fourth and fifth George Best!, 31 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: Scoring at Half Time (Hardcover)
This book was written with Martin Knight in the months after George`s life-saving operation. Sadly, we all know he was destined to leave us a couple of years later, but when you read some of the adventures he got up to, and some of the women he either tried, or succeeded in getting up to those adventures with, you can only say, boy, he had some life! Divided into two distinct sections, on the pitch and off, George runs through his stories, some I had read elsewhere but still good entertainment for all that. He also relates some other players` anecdotes. George WAS the Sixties, there is no doubt about it and he gets enough living into his life for ten men. He is quite open about his hedonistic intentions then, he burned the candle at both ends and something had to give. He also admits that the story from which the book derives it`s title is, as I suspected, a load of footballs. By the end George and his legend were wrapped up in each other and he was only too happy to play along. Rest in peace Bestie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Be careful what you wish for!, 25 Jan. 2010
By 
Strangerbird (United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scoring at Half Time (Hardcover)
George Best was a man of undoubted charm and charisma who could have made a success in many fields had he not have been the most gifted footballer of his generation. That much is clear, judging from the number of friends whom he had, and the lengths to which some of them would go to protect him. His warmth of personality shines through every page, albeit that most of them are addressed to a British tabloid-reader's mindset. Nonetheless the book is worth reading for a number of reasons. Above all it contains some very amusing anecdotes about footballers, many of them the household names of the 60s and 70s. Secondly it catalogues in dire terms the destructive power of fame and financial success in a person so unprepared for it as Best was. He thinks his drinking began as a means of overcoming his shyness, but it is also evident from the stories he tells that it was a fundamental part of some of the footballing culture of those years. Finally George Best's life reveals much about sudden stardom; and is useful reading for any history student seeking to discover the hows and whys of the rapid elevation of working-class culture in Britain in the 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny book from the legend., 4 April 2013
By 
R.Over (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scoring At Half-Time: Adventures On and Off the Pitch (Paperback)
I had just finished George's 'Blessed' autobiography and enjoyed it very much, So I was pleased to see he had another book out there.

This book is very different from his autobiography, it is George telling you stories of his experiences and also those of other football players, colleagues and family like the strict but father-like figure Matt Busby, the outspoken and witty Rodney Marsh and his loving proud father Dickie.

Most of these tales he shares with us are very light-humoured and it feels like your attending one of his after-dinner speeches.

"Hello, I am a reporter from the Sun".... "And I'm George Best from f*****g earth!"

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining in parts but ultimately very sad, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Scoring At Half-Time: Adventures On and Off the Pitch (Paperback)
I read this book after finishing 'Provided You Don't Kiss Me' and, frankly, it suffered by comparison. There are lots of funny stories and witticisms here but I struggled to get beyond the fact that the jokes ultimately were underpinned by the alcoholism that was killing the greatest footballer in British history. There are lots of laughs but I was left with an overriding feeling of sadness. Good book but, to be honest, there are far better out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scoring At Half-Time: Adventures On and Off the Pitch (Paperback)
I like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 9 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Scoring at Half Time (Hardcover)
As a collector of all things United I was hobby-bound to purchase this latest tome from George Best. Frankly, I could not imagine what he could add to Blessed and the numerous others works about his life.
I was more than pleasantly surprised to find the book humourous, fresh and informative. It is written in the style of George sitting down with the reader and having a relaxed chat in convivial circumstances. As such it gets closer than anything before to what it was really like for George to live through those heady times in the 1960s and 1970s and many of the revelations, gentle and mickey-taking as they often are, I have never come across before. There are cameos from just about anyone who was anyone in the swinging sixties. Good old fashioned nostalgia told with humour and verve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scoring At Half-Time: Adventures On and Off the Pitch
Scoring At Half-Time: Adventures On and Off the Pitch by George Best (Paperback - 3 Jun. 2004)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews