Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collector's item
Having only recently read the poem on a website, I became incresingly aware of its intense emotion and beauty. I found myself re-reading it again and again, I must say I really fell in love with it. When I found this book for sale at Amazon I was initially afraid that it might be a disappointment. Now that it has just recently arrived, I find that it has become preciouss...
Published on 10 Nov 2002 by Luis Ferreira

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
This book is shorter than I have ever imagined.
Published 16 days ago by Larissa Calado


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collector's item, 10 Nov 2002
By 
Luis Ferreira (Pašo de Arcos, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bilbo's Last Song (Hardcover)
Having only recently read the poem on a website, I became incresingly aware of its intense emotion and beauty. I found myself re-reading it again and again, I must say I really fell in love with it. When I found this book for sale at Amazon I was initially afraid that it might be a disappointment. Now that it has just recently arrived, I find that it has become preciouss to me... Pauline Baynes' drawings are just wonderful, suitable for a child or an adult in the same way as "The Hobbit" itself fits both audiences. The hardcover is beautifully decorated and comes covered with a perfectly identical removable softcover. On each odd page you get a bit of the poem, while each even page is illustrated with a large drawing relating to Bilbo's departure from Middle-Earth. On the bottom of every page there is also a small illustration from "The Hobbit" which, as a set, roughly depict the main passages of J.R.R. Tolkien's wonderful book.
In the end, I must say that this book truly conveys part of the emotion of "The Lord of The Rings" and "The Hobbit", so it should appeal to anyone who's already a lover of these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This poem made me cry, 13 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: Bilbo's Last Song (Hardcover)
There is a risk, if you have Peter Jackson's epic as your visualisation of Middle-earth, that you might find Ms Baynes' illustrations too primitive; they are the sort you might find in a childrens book. I found them enchanting. The 24 line poem is spread throughout the book with illustrations of Bilbo's last journey with the Elves, meeting Frodo and Sam, then on to the Grey Havens and the Blessed Realm. Illustrations from The Hobbit sit in cameo,like a memory, on each page. In this way, the pictures mingle with the poem and become part of it; the journey experienced as the poem forms and the memory of Bilbo's finest hour. It's almost as if you're inside Bilbo's mind as he journeys to leave Middle-earth forever. This is a great book to give to a Tolkien fan, and to any child who has read The Hobbit, or had it read to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Farewell to Middle-Earth at last, I see the Star above your mast!", 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bilbo's Last Song (Kindle Edition)
This exquisitely beautiful book is a real treasure, with such wonderful full-color illustrations by Pauline Baynes and sparkling silver lettering on the cover. Bilbo's Last Song is considered to be Tolkien's epilogue to his classic work `the Lord of the Rings' and closure on Bilbo's story. The jewel-like paintings by Pauline Baynes (Tolkien's favorite illustrator of his works), within this book tell two stories simultaneously ~ with the larger illustrations depicting the journey that brings the Ring-bearers and the company of Elves to the Grey Havens and the beginning of the final voyage across the sea. Running concurrently is a sequence of vignettes showing scenes from `The Hobbit' so Bilbo remembers his first journey, as he prepares for his last. This is an enchanting, supremely magical book filled with lyrical prose and fantastical adventure.

Bilbo Baggins, famous Hobbit adventurer and savior of the One Ring, arrives at the Grey Havens at the end of the Third Age to board the White Ship on its journey West. It is here that he composes his last song, reflecting on the leaving of Middle-Earth and the voyage that will take him to the Undying Lands at the end of the sunset. (This representation of JRR Tolkien's ideals on death and/ or immortality is pleasantly harmonius and it is nice that you are left in the unknown). Poignant and lyrical, the song is both a longing to set forth on his ultimate journey and a tender farewell to his friends left behind.

"Farewell friends! The sails are set, the wind is east, the moorings fret..."

Bilbo's last song is a must for all fans of Tolkien's vast, epic fantasy as it offers closure to one of the most significant character's stories. Alongside the stunning illustrations that adorn every single page, including the inner cover, is a section at the back containing more information on the pictures that convey Bilbo's stories and adventures. Although this is considered to be a children's book, similarly to `The Hobbit' I feel strongly that this is a book for all ages who love and cherish Tolkien's works, and who have read The Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings and are interested in a sequel. Pauline Baynes artwork, (which also features in Farmer Giles of Ham, The adventures of Tom Bombadil, Smith of Wotton Major and Tree and Leaf) is perfect and really adds to Bilbo's story; bringing clearly to life his adventures and last voyage across Middle-Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bilbo's Last Song, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bilbo's Last Song (Paperback)
Tolkien, J.R.R. (2012), Bilbo's Last Song, illustrated by Pauline Baynes, London/Uxbridge: Red Fox (= a Random House subsidiary). ISBN 978-0-099-43975-2.
This is a complex document. At the heart is a poem, originally drafted in the 1920s and given to Joy Hill in 1970. Shortly after Tolkien's death it was published in poster form, and also set to music by Donald Swann. The text has gone through three editions since then (1990, 2002, 2012), all illustrated by Pauline Baynes in her faux-Luttrell style. The present edition coincides with the première of the Hobbit. The volume contains Tolkien's poem, Bilbo's Last Song (at the Grey Havens), Baynes' illustrations, a biographical note on Tolkien and `Notes on the Pictures' probably by Baynes.
The pictures form two groups: 13 large pictures, which illustrate Bilbo's final journey, and 26 small pictures, placed at the foot of the page, which follow the original narrative of The Hobbit. This gives the work a double focus. The original poem bids farewell to Middle Earth, saying `Farewell, friends'. In a sense it is Tolkien's own farewell. He imagines Bilbo at the Grey Havens, awaiting the departure of the Last Boat, as in the final chapter of The Return of the King. Bilbo's hopes appear to mirror Frodo's thoughts on the voyage: `And the ship went out into the High Sea, and passed on into the West, until at last on a night of rain Frodo smelled a sweet fragrance on the air and heard the sound of singing that came over the water.'
The Baynes pictures add a retrospective note. They tell us of Bilbo's recollections of his old journey `There and back again', while at the same time they follow his movements from Rivendell, where he lives in retirement among the Elves, first to the Grey Havens, where the elves are met by Cirdan (ill. 8, p.17), and then, after Merry & Pippin have arrived to bid farewell, out into the open sea. The last three pictures follow the voyage, with Sam watching the ship disappear over the waters, and Bilbo looking ahead to `a far green country under a swift sunrise.'
It is a quiet, meditative book, easy to dismiss at first glance (Rosebury 1992 found it `banal'). But that would be over harsh. Shippey 2000, 304 gives it a significance greater than the actual words, as the verse counterpart to Tolkien's Smith of Wootton Major (1967), in which he re-evaluates his own relationship with the FaŰrie realm, and accepts the unavoidable necessity of old age and loss. The illustrations bear close attention, not only for Baynes' meticulous detail, but the way in which they seek to draw out Tolkien's inner meaning and references. It's an edition to keep and re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Gift, 29 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bilbo's Last Song (Hardcover)
If you have read Hobbit and LOTR, this might be a bit of a surprise. Bilbo's farewell to Middle-earth as a short poem with illustrations from Tolkien's favourite illustrator Paulinen Baynes. The perfect little gift for Tolkien fans of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stolen by Thiefses Grandparents., 26 Nov 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bilbo's Last Song (Paperback)
With the Hobbit being this years hot Christmas film, there are going to be a number of people out there that would love to introduce the father of modern fantasy to the young reader in their home and whilst its going to be a little bit too old for some this book makes a wonderful addition to your home whilst bringing the full flavour to your young readers imagination. Beautifully written and accompanied by wonderful expansive art this title is one that really will hit the spot and help take many back to their first reading of the Hobbit or Lord of the Rings whilst entertaining the next generation.

Add to the mix the readability factor which means it'll be requested again and all round a definite sure fire hit so much so that when my Dad saw that I had a copy he not only half hitched it but decided on an impromptu reading for his Grandchildren who sat enraptured around his feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend to all..., 24 Jun 2014
By 
SMAC (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bilbo's Last Song (Paperback)
Beautiful presentation, the poem is lovely but the book brings about some beautiful heartwarming images. A must for all avid Tolkien fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Too short, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Santiago Benitez Buitrago (Sevilla, Espa˝a) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bilbo's Last Song (Paperback)
I hoped it was a little longer, but I like the illustrations, which state parallelisms between LOTR and The Hobbit stories.
Also, I wanted it for my EFL classes, but I consider its language maybe too high for my pupils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Swan Song for Bilbo, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bilbo's Last Song (Hardcover)
Didn't realise when I purchased this book that it was poetry rather than a story, but nevertheless found it breathtaking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice artwork and verse., 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bilbo's Last Song (Hardcover)
I would recommend this wee book to anyone who enjoys J.R.R.Tolkiens works, it has a wealth of relative sketches and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bilbo's Last Song
Bilbo's Last Song by J R R Tolkien (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2002)
ú6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews