Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and open account of George's life
Very rarely do I find a book which I can't put down. From the opening chapter which begins by dealing with George's drinking problems I was hooked to it. Very witty; honest and poignant. George Best has always been one of my footballing heroes, this book just adds to that. Highly recommended.
Published on 22 Sep 2001 by Peter G Warner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it just for the stories
Some may be disgusted by how George Best lived his life, particular after his playing career was over, but that doesn't mean this is a bad book. An honest reflection of a true genius. He did more in his life than most who will read this book put together. And I loved it just for the anecdotal stories.
Published on 9 Nov 2009 by Mike Perk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and open account of George's life, 22 Sep 2001
By 
Peter G Warner (Surbiton, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Very rarely do I find a book which I can't put down. From the opening chapter which begins by dealing with George's drinking problems I was hooked to it. Very witty; honest and poignant. George Best has always been one of my footballing heroes, this book just adds to that. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A honest view about one of the greatest by himself., 29 Nov 2001
By A Customer
"How did one of the greatest footballers who graced the game, lose it all?". A question asked and answer by many people, but only one man can really answer that question. "Bestie" talks about how a shy young lad from Ireland, with a great talent for football, is more known for his off field activities. This book is not about George Best's football career, is it about the life of the man, and how he was ruled by the bottle. From his days kicking the ball in the back streets of Belfast, to the night of glory at Wembley in '68, thought to the prison cell and his fight for life, it is all here in an honest accent. It is a great read for all, a wonderful account about the drive of the man, but it was not a ball!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to Reflect, 17 Dec 2002
This review is from: Blessed - The Autobiography (Paperback)
A thoroughly good read where George has left no stone unturned, he tackled each part of his life story with honesty, has admitted that he is an alcoholic and finally prepared himself for major surgery. I'm sure there are many other tales to tell and maybe when he is fit again we will get a second helping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The highs and lows of a genius is told in this book, 27 Feb 2002
This book was a great read and i found it hard to put down as i was interested what he got up to next.
Best was truly a genuis on the park and after reading Blessed i feel he is a writing master aswell.
He talks about his childhood right through to his time in prison.
In this book he goes in to great detail of his problem with drink and i really admired him for this.
Im not a Manchester Utd fan but a football fan and a fan of George Best.
Im only 23 years old so im not old enough to remember him playing but ive seen on videos what a genuis he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 15 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: Blessed - The Autobiography (Paperback)
There are hardly any good books about football. Why else is 'Fever Pitch' still regarded as one of the best?! But Hornby is just League Two compared to George Best, who writes as wicked as he played. Best's self-ironic anecdotes will make your stomach hurt as much as his liver. 'Blessed' is the funniest football book ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute legend, 7 Jan 2002
By 
dmorehead@hotmail.com (Birmingham, England, UK) - See all my reviews
George best is quite simply the best footballer ever to set foot on earth. Read about his battle against alcohol and how he tried to cope with all of the pressure on and off the field and how he became simply the best footballer ever. An absolute must for any football fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars could not put it down, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, very sad at times although I did laugh at his carefree attitude. George Best really enjoyed his short life.Very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
George tells his life as it was from Belfast Boy to global star. Still sadly missed, but the memories will always be there. Recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hero, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blessed - The Autobiography (Paperback)
I've followed Man.Utd since the Munich air crash which involved the birth of some of the worlds greatest footballers, one of them was Besty. I've read a few autobiography's and enjoyed this one very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars George Best bargain, 11 Dec 2013
By 
M. A. Ware "dog mad" (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blessed - The Autobiography (Paperback)
Have not read this book as it was for a present however I am hold it is a very good book for those who are interested in Best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blessed - The Autobiography
Blessed - The Autobiography by George Best (Paperback - 1 Aug 2002)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews