Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Publication
This book is everything you could hope for in a Star Wars publication. The artwork (it really is ART) through out is beautiful and inspiring. If after you have read/looked through this book and its accompanying script and you dont want to see the film I would be very surprised.
It also gives you an insight into the creative minds behind the Star Wars universe with...
Published on 23 April 2002 by hallben

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable attempt - but soulless
There has been a long-standing tradition of "Art of" books relating to the Star Wars movies. Generally these are packed with insights to the creative process behind the movies. In that respect the goal is admirably met. It does what it says on the cover. Not only that you get the complete script - including deleted scenes.
However, this volume seems to lack...
Published on 17 Sep 2002 by rassybeds


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Publication, 23 April 2002
This book is everything you could hope for in a Star Wars publication. The artwork (it really is ART) through out is beautiful and inspiring. If after you have read/looked through this book and its accompanying script and you dont want to see the film I would be very surprised.
It also gives you an insight into the creative minds behind the Star Wars universe with informative and yet short (leaving room for more art!) pieces on the art within. Key quotes litter the pages and build your anticipation to may 16th.
The script at the back of the book (to be honest I would have preferred a separate book like with Ep 1) is set out well, just one niggle its doesn't have much in the way of art to help tell the tale as you read it. Of course this isn't really a problem as the art is set out in the order in which it is shown in the film and therefore tells the story in a amazingly graphical way.
Its very difficult to find any real faults with this publication, its actual quality (of publishing) is outstanding and seams that it will last several years. I think the cliche line of "a must buy for any Star Wars fans" is in order as it truly is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a starwars fan but loved this book., 5 Nov 2002
By A Customer
I have had to sit thru star wars more times that I care to remember, I bought this book for my son, but I have to admit that it now resides in my bookcase. The drawings are stunning, its a book I pick up again and again. The screen play at the back is very funny if you try to act out the parts, how hammy the lines were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is truly ART, in the best sense of the word., 17 Nov 2002
This book is everything you could hope for in a Star Wars publication. The artwork (it really is ART) throughout is beautiful and inspiring. If after you have read/looked through this book and its accompanying script and you dont want to see the film I would be very surprised.
It also gives you an insight into the creative minds behind the Star Wars universe with informative and yet short (leaving room for more art!) pieces on the art within. Key quotes litter the pages and build your anticipation to may 16th.
The script at the back of the book (to be honest I would have preferred a separate book like with Ep 1) is set out well, just one niggle its doesn't have much in the way of art to help tell the tale as you read it. Of course this isn't really a problem as the art is set out in the order in which it is shown in the film and therefore tells the story in a amazingly graphical way.
Its very difficult to find any real faults with this publication, its actual quality (of publishing) is outstanding and seams that it will last several years. I think the cliche line of "a must buy for any Star Wars fans" is in order as it truly is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars packed with great illustrations from cover to cover, 1 Jun 2010
By 
D. Gallimore (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wasn't the greatest Star Wars film, but blame for that can't be pointed at the art department, whose superb professional illustrations fill this book and leave little wanting.
As well as being of interest to anyone who likes Star Wars, I would strongly recommend this book to anyone involved in or learning drawing/painting/illustration for the fields of industrial, fashion, theatre or architectural design. There are many examples of how a designers ideas have been conveyed and communicated clearly to the client (Lucas and the rest of the production team) by means of manual and hybrid digital graphics - a point largely proven by comparison with the finished film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great look at the art behind Star Wars, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 0:22 Mins

This art book is noticeably better that the already good The Art of Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace.

This time round, even more details are added to the concept art. Most of the sketches are now coloured. As usual, the pages are filled to the brim with character designs, environment paintings, storyboards, sculptures and ships. All drawings are captioned by the individual artists on the idea they are trying to bring across.

In some ways, the character designs and sketches look better on book than in the movie. The environment paintings are just epic.

Included also, at the back of the book, is the full script for the movie.

This book is highly recommended to sci-fi artists, concept artists and of course Star Wars fans.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must!, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack of the Clones (Paperback)
must have! full of creativity, ideas and wonderful art.
beyond the film itself, this book illustrates the complex and thorough process of ideating an screen solid fantasy that will outlive it's creators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just bought "The art of Star Wars: Episode II Attack of the Clones" second handed and the book was in great conditions. Apart from the cover protection that had minor damage on the edges, the book is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art Of Star Wars. Attack Of The Clones, 10 Aug 2011
Prompt delivery, took 5 days approx.
A1 condition, exept the thin plastic cover over the main paper cover seems to stick to the paper, like it is wet, but isn't. Wrong choice of plastic?!
Otherwise, good images and info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything about art designing, 1 July 2002
This review is from: Attack of the Clones (Paperback)
Great for Starwars art designing lovers. Includes art, photos, comments and the original (and complete) screenplay (with several dialogs not included in the final version). A safe bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable attempt - but soulless, 17 Sep 2002
By 
There has been a long-standing tradition of "Art of" books relating to the Star Wars movies. Generally these are packed with insights to the creative process behind the movies. In that respect the goal is admirably met. It does what it says on the cover. Not only that you get the complete script - including deleted scenes.
However, this volume seems to lack any "soul". If you look back at the books on the original trilogy there is a certain enthusiasm in the writing and content of the books which seems absent here. I suppose it's that the process behind the movies has now so radically changed and is more of a production line. This book tends to show that this failing has all too clearly extended to the "Art of" books' presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attack of the Clones
Attack of the Clones by Doug Chiang (Paperback - 22 April 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews