Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE outstanding guide for UK apples
I have not found a better book for those interested in apples in the UK. There is an excellent potted history, plus details of many apples varieties local and foreign. A brief guide to growing apples at the back tells you most of what you know to start a small orchard.
The descriptions of the apple varieties are what makes this book outstanding. They include...
Published on 28 Jan 2005

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars KINDLE version no good
First of all I must apologise to all those that will get annoyed at my giving this excellent book 1 star only, and this merely on account of the very very poor quality of the kindle format version. In my defence I can say that I am posting this review on the kindle version page of the book, and not on the printed version page. It is one of Amazon's shortcomings that they...
Published 11 months ago by Tout en chantant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE outstanding guide for UK apples, 28 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Book Of Apples: The Definitive Guide to Over 2000 Varieties (Hardcover)
I have not found a better book for those interested in apples in the UK. There is an excellent potted history, plus details of many apples varieties local and foreign. A brief guide to growing apples at the back tells you most of what you know to start a small orchard.
The descriptions of the apple varieties are what makes this book outstanding. They include details of history, appearance, flavour, shape and so on - enough not only to help identify and apple, but also to help you choose one to grow. For instance, the entry on Ashmead's Kernel gives a brief decription of its development by a Gloucester physician, describes its taste as "strong, sweet-sharp intese flavour reminiscent of fruit or acid drops", talks a bit about what it's grown for, comprehensive details of appearance, picking and storage dates. There is also a drawing to help in identification.
The one downfall of the book is the shortage of apple pictures. There are only 32 plates, all of which show apples of great interest in this country - but a poor showing nonetheless. Obviously it would require a mammoth effort to provide pictures of over 2000 apples, but a more comprehensive photo directory would have been useful. Failing that, they might have mentioned that pictures of many apples are available on the Brogdale webiste (referenced in the back - but failing to mention the availability of descriptions and photos on the website).
Although 2000+ seems a lot, there are a lot of UK apples missing. I would also have preferred that they concentrate on full coverage of the UK (for instance, they are missing several of our local cider apples), and omit some of the foreign apples.
However, this is still a great book for what it does do, and well worth having if you have even a few trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic Apple Reference, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: The New Book Of Apples: The Definitive Guide to Over 2000 Varieties (Hardcover)
This is a very informative and useful book for anybody with more than a very cursory interest in apples - invaluable to the enthusiast and apple grower.
Fascinating chapters on the historical aspects of the apple tracing the story of the fruit from the Garden of Eden. The section from the Tudor period onward to our modern day apple is especially readable and the history of cider in Britain, America and France is informative.
The Directory which occupies more than half of the work is the main reason I want it on my reference shelves covering some 2000. It begins with explaining characters used to identify the fruit and flavour , pollination and picking are covered. There is useful information on introduction and parentage but some lack any description of the actual fruit perhaps because they are not well know in the UK. Nonetheless this is a splendid work packed with information and strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars KINDLE version no good, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all I must apologise to all those that will get annoyed at my giving this excellent book 1 star only, and this merely on account of the very very poor quality of the kindle format version. In my defence I can say that I am posting this review on the kindle version page of the book, and not on the printed version page. It is one of Amazon's shortcomings that they mix all the different ediotions, formats etc of a book together when it comes to reviews, which makes it hellish for us customers to make head or tail of it...
Back to my review: the kindle version is impossible to navigate as the apple varieties section of the book has no table of contents to help you find your way. The index at the end of the book is not directly linked to the contents. This way, the book becomes a locked treasure box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Book Of Apples: The Definitive Guide to Over 2000 Varieties (Hardcover)
An apple book that is all you will need with a very interesting history of apples which I have not seen elsewhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Book Of Apples: The Definitive Guide to Over 2000 Varieties (Hardcover)
comprehensive, although names where more than one name is used for a variety they dont display alternatives. well recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of 'The New Book of Apples' by gb-online.co.uk, 8 Nov 2012
By 
G. V. Bale (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Book Of Apples: The Definitive Guide to Over 2000 Varieties (Hardcover)
A very concise listing by Brogdale, of all types of apples grown in the UK. With excellent descriptions and notes. For the price a must for your library shelf. As I grow fruit rootstocks (gb-online.co.uk) and I collect old varieties of fruit, this is an asset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was a present. The recipient loves it., 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Book Of Apples: The Definitive Guide to Over 2000 Varieties (Hardcover)
This was a present. The recipient loves it. I keep getting 'Apple facts'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Book Of Apples: The Definitive Guide to Over 2000 Varieties (Hardcover)
What a wonderful resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
By 
David Annison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Book Of Apples: The Definitive Guide to Over 2000 Varieties (Hardcover)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Book Of Apples: The Definitive Guide to Over 2000 Varieties
Used & New from: £41.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews