Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars56
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2002
If I were allowed to recommend only one book to prospective horse-owners, this would be it. By means of practical exercises, anecdotes and case studies, Kelly Marks takes the reader through every aspect of handling horses with empathy and understanding. She stresses the importance of creating good habits, and sets out her philosophy of training, in which, to use her own words, ‘attitude is everything’. One particularly valuable aspect of this book is the way in which the author explores ways in which problems arise. She does not get stuck, as so many people do, in a kind of ‘single-explanation-single-cure’ rut; instead she explores a variety of possible causes and possible cures. She remains open-minded, and never says ‘this is the only way to do this’. I particularly like the way she stresses that ‘It is so easy to fall into that trap of dealing with the symptoms rather than the real causes’. How I wish more horse trainers would understand this! Kelly insists, and rightly so, on respect for the horse; her response to those who believe horses are stupid because they allow us to ride them is unequivocal: ‘To suggest that if someone is willing to generously work for you they must be stupid speaks more of you as an employer than it does of the employee.’ Quite so.
This is a brilliant book, which should be compulsory reading for every person who trains, rides or handles horses in any way.
0Comment|98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2002
This book is a must! Refreshing and informative throughout - I didn't want to put it down! It's filled with beautiful photos and fascinating insights into the horse's perspective and how we can communicate more successfully together. The way that we humans behave around horses is so important and can affect the horse's views and behaviour - and Kelly has some wonderful advice and observations that are really helpful. She has included case studies and stories from students as well as her own experiences and knowledge. There is so much to learn about these wonderful creatures and Kelly Marks skillfully covers many important aspects of handling and training in a way that really "sinks in". No horse lover's bookshelf should be without it.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2002
If you have 'issues' in your relationship with your horse (or even if you dont) this is an essential reference work. Giving clear instruction, case histories and drawing on her experience as well as that of her students, Kelly gives basic framework exercises for you to undertake with your horse to improve your mutual understanding and respect. No horse should be sold without a copy of this book in his suitcase!!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2002
Loved this book. Helps you to think differently about how we interact with horses. Full of information but Kelly puts it across with humour that makes for absorbing reading. Contains steps that you can work through with your horse to enhance your relationship together. Very much recommended.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2004
Kelly Marks is an extraordinary horsewoman. She communicates simply, succinctly and with a sense of humour, how to set about training your horse. I have followed the methodology she has proposed and find that it illuminates an otherwise treacherously dim path.
I could not recommend a better book anywhere. I've worn mine out completely.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
This book was not only enjoyable to read but extremely helpful. I have used so much of the content with my own horses and my relationship with them has improved a great deal. When I got my 16hh Irish Draft x TB a year ago he used to walk over the top of me and was extremely bulshy, now he moves back when I ask him, leads well and treats my space with respect. There is no reason to ever use violence, Kelly Marks and Monty Roberts have proved this time and time again. Thanks Kelly.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2005
An excellent book. Once you start the first page, you are hooked. A fascinating insight and understanding of how your horse thinks and how your own actions have such an effect on your relationship. Uncomplicated, well illustrated. If you love horses, this book is a must.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2003
Monty Roberts in a "How to" style. After reading Monty's story, or just reading a little about the modern methods of training horses utilising their own body language, Kelly's book is the one you are looking for to put it all into practice, or just explain to you how it works. Also check out her "intelligent horsemanship" website, nearly as good as the book. Well worth a read and to keep for ever for reference.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
well written and well laid out book, taking the reader through various sections, logically and convincingly. i have been practicing some of the techniques that Kelly explains and found them useful but most of all it has helped my confidence and increased my enjoyment with and around horses. sound common sense all round with plenty of examples.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2006
A super book that guides you through getting a better relationship with your horse. If you want to communicate with your horse this is the book for you. The exercises are great and the case studies really benefical
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)