Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow Her Bliss
With the multitude of lifestyle books out there, it�s rare to come across something that offers fresh ideas but Konig�s book is actually quite inspirational. She brings humor and a hip, urban touch to the domestic arts--still most of her suggestions are timeless. And the colorful, chic illustrations are fun.
The gift-giving section covers everyone...
Published on 26 Oct 2002

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chic sparkles
Nicely padded glossy red cover with lilac letters on the front and the back, this little book screams chic even before opening. Inside is packed with all the imaginative tips to boost style ratings round your home, ranging from how to add flair to your picnic sandwiches to the best ways of dealing with the builders. Apart from the mild disappointment when she starts...
Published on 4 Oct 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chic sparkles, 4 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rita's Tips For Domestic Bliss: How to Live (Hardcover)
Nicely padded glossy red cover with lilac letters on the front and the back, this little book screams chic even before opening. Inside is packed with all the imaginative tips to boost style ratings round your home, ranging from how to add flair to your picnic sandwiches to the best ways of dealing with the builders. Apart from the mild disappointment when she starts talking about (the preparation of) food - she can only cook roast chicken, says seasonal treat in spring is gulls eggs (and she's never even eaten it) and things like that - this book does make you want to try every little thing she suggests, and despite what she thinks she is not bossy at all. Great source of inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How to Live - for people with more money than sense, 29 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Rita's Tips For Domestic Bliss: How to Live (Hardcover)
I read the other reviews, and weighed up the opinions...girly, that sounds great, glamorous, I like that, vapid, well I read all the glossies, so I'm used to that. I decided to give the book a go, but now I wish I'd spent that £15 on something else (an ounce of caviar, I expect the author would recommend). I dont mind a bit of frivolity, and I like books that treat subjects in a lighthearted manner, but bad writing I cannot forgive. Ms Konig is an interior designer by trade, and she should stick with that. The book is aimless and wandering, almost stream of consciousness at times, and I got very tired of her name dropping. There is nothing really practical in the book - if it was entertaining then that wouldnt matter, but it isnt that either. If you want a practical guide, choose one of the other domestic guides; if you want girly entertainment, buy Three Black Skirts, or better yet, an armful of magazines. Ms Konig, stick to matching up fabric designs, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow Her Bliss, 26 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rita's Tips For Domestic Bliss: How to Live (Hardcover)
With the multitude of lifestyle books out there, it�s rare to come across something that offers fresh ideas but Konig�s book is actually quite inspirational. She brings humor and a hip, urban touch to the domestic arts--still most of her suggestions are timeless. And the colorful, chic illustrations are fun.
The gift-giving section covers everyone from godchildren to grandmoms to hard-to-buy-for boyfriends. For the woman who loves fine linens Rita advises really surprising the recipient by completely re-making her bed with new sheets, shams, then wrapping the bed with an enormous ribbon. Instead of handing a friend a gift, surprise her with a package in the mail, wrapped in chocolate brown paper and addressed in pink or white ink--a twist on the classic brown paper package tied up with string. Rita also has plenty of thoughts on spoiling oneself, making housework less of a chore, and entertaining guests. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 2 Feb 2005
By 
NikNak (the world!) - See all my reviews
I bought this book for my best friend who has recently moved into her first house. She loved the book and hasnt stopped talking about it. Rita has many simple yet really effective ideas. Very useful yet chic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic ! Every girl should have a copy, 1 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rita's Tips For Domestic Bliss: How to Live (Hardcover)
A totally fantastic book. Rita Konig is a genius. Gives common sense advice (handy for those times when we have none of our own) and delivers it with a sense of humour. With all the focus these days on work, career, work, career and relationships (or lack of), this is a breath of fresh air. Will have women everywhere returning to the Kitchen sink.
For added appeal, the red shiny cover (which, incidentaly is wipe clean) with purple 1950's look writing give this book a sort of kitsch, girly feel.
Buy it now (for the cover if nothing else). Slip into your favourite cosy PJ's, make some Hot Chocolate and curl up with this. A comforting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Girly Read, 5 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rita's Tips For Domestic Bliss: How to Live (Hardcover)
This book will get you off the sofa and into the world of domestic bliss. A fantastic light hearted look at a whole host of domestic chores from throwing a party to buying the right present. It makes you want to move in with Rita as this girl knows how to make life fun. I shall be buying my friends a copy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm and fuzzy life book, 28 May 2003
This review is from: Rita's Tips For Domestic Bliss: How to Live (Hardcover)
My first scan of this book left me wanting to read it from start to finish in one session. Lots of lovely fun ideas to bring warm & fuzzy pleasure into busy lives. I'm now torn between buying one for each of my girlfriends or simply keeping this as my own little secret source book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars fun little book - not very useful, 5 Aug 2008
This review is from: Rita's Tips For Domestic Bliss: How to Live (Hardcover)
fun little book - not exactly useful but that is not the point. Its a light read, for light moments, some nice illustrations and design. I would buy it as a present and despite some of the bad reviews it got, Rita has a refreshing approach to writing about things she knows very little about. Thats the beauty of it! Having said that - it is already looking a little dated ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good read, 3 Feb 2013
By 
F. Skears (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rita's Tips For Domestic Bliss: How to Live (Hardcover)
Bought this for the novelty but I have actually enjoyed reading it and have found some of it useful. Really nice looking book, some of it is ridiculous (buying for staff!!!) but quite a bit that is interesting and helpful.
Probably could find all of these tips in a magazine or online but I still like having this on my shelf and do dip into fairly regularly, it is strangely feel good, feel organised book.
A good buy for February/ March when you feel (or maybe it's just me) a bit disorganised and want everything to be a bit cleaner, tidier and just generally nicer looking, Rita can help!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute book, 3 Aug 2004
By 
V. Guest "GuestyGrrl" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a cute book with some helpful ideas. Particularly good for college girls getting ready to move on their own. But if you want more pratical and realistic advisem, I would still go for a Martha Stewart book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rita's Tips For Domestic Bliss: How to Live
Rita's Tips For Domestic Bliss: How to Live by Rita Konig (Hardcover - 19 Sep 2002)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews