Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book to return to again and again
This highly practical book seeks to motivate readers to raise the quality of their personal and business lives. By focussing on - and changing - bad habits, setting ourselves goals, and identifying our true purpose, we can achieve success and fulfillment.
This is not a book to be read once and then shelved; there is just so much to absorb. Each of the 10 chapters...
Published on 5 Jan. 2002

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too American for my liking
Dropped the book after 2nd chapter - same obvious things repeated over and over again with a slightly different wording. After reading 2 chapters had nothing to digest - it was all about 'how important to be focused' instead of 'how to get focused and why some of us can't'. It was not a psychological insight I hoped for, just a bit of very american fluff about power of...
Published on 10 Aug. 2012 by WRW-ER


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book to return to again and again, 5 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty (Paperback)
This highly practical book seeks to motivate readers to raise the quality of their personal and business lives. By focussing on - and changing - bad habits, setting ourselves goals, and identifying our true purpose, we can achieve success and fulfillment.
This is not a book to be read once and then shelved; there is just so much to absorb. Each of the 10 chapters describes an important life strategy, followed by an exercise to promote its implementation. Advice and anecdotes are plentiful. Perhaps not as readible as the "7 Habits...", but nevertheless a worthy complement to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant tool for understanding where you are at, 24 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty (Paperback)
This is a fabulous and enlightening book. Full of great exercises to complete as you read through the book which will help you to focus on where you are now and where you want to be. Without direction, we often head nowhere, this book helps you gain clarification of your intended destination and identify a map to get you there! I would recommend it for any self development bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent about reaching your goals while living in balance, 5 Feb. 2005
This review is from: The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty (Paperback)
I am a businessman running a small computer company where I am facing a high workload and a lot of stress. I found this book a few years ago.
It gives a very thorough guide to how to get your life in the direction that you wish, while - what's really important - maintaining a balanced life. If you are a person with high ambitions, but feel that you do not have the time necessary to accomplish your goals, this book suggests a very simple daily checklist you can use to maintain the balance. It encourages you to develop clarity in what's important, to make a habit out of improving your habits, and suggests how you can develop your own inspiring guidelines. After reading the book, I have worked a lot to adapt the excellent ideas to my own life, and it has really been worth the effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Powerful, 9 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty (Paperback)
I am not a big self-development book buyer.

To be quite frank, if you read too many of these type of books it can become confusing and many of them are re-working earlier works like Think and Grow Rich.

This book is one of the best self-development books I have come across. It is easy to read and gets you thinking, involving the reader in the exercises. The point they made about behaviour being 80% habitual struck a cord. Also that by writing down your bad habits and doing the opposite was a simple concept but very powerful.

This defiantly worth having if you want to take stock of your situation and build a new plan for your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self help book of the year, 27 Mar. 2010
This review is from: The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty (Paperback)
For me this is the best self help book ever. Not only does it tell how to focus but actually helps you to do so. Some self help books state the obvious this guides you through how to set objectives and then focus on making it happen. I will recommend it anyone who like me finds it hard to focus on one thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 1 Jun. 2008
By 
Joshua H. Domb (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty (Paperback)
I am a big fan of Jack Canfield's work, i think he is brilliant, and this is another book in a long list of great ones. It is well structured, easy to read, and full of inspirational stories. Moreover it's enjoyable, useful, and most importantly practical, the advice given can be used by anyone whatever their situation. This is one book im going to be re-reading this summer, and for anyone who is unsure, I would highly advocate buying this book, its worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of Focus...Out of Reach, 28 Sept. 2005
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty (Paperback)
Long ago when I was a child, I purchased a large box of Crackerjacks and the prize within was a small plastic magnifying glass. I recall using it to burn holes in leaves which demonstrated the power of focus. I thought about that as I read this book. Here is one of its core concepts: "Negative habits breed negative consequences. Successful habits create positive rewards." I agree. However, as the authors fully understand, replacing negative habits with successful habits is very difficult. A sincere and sustained commitment is imperative. However, as the authors of this volume correctly point out, something else is also needed: focus. "You must invest most of your time every week doing what you do best, and let others do what they do best....When you focus most of your time and energy doing the brilliant things you are truly brilliant at, you eventually reap big rewards." Within organizations, this is the essence of alignment: getting the right people in the right places, doing what they do best to achieve whatever the organization's goals may be.
Canfield, Hansen, and Hewitt recommend and then explain ten different strategies to develop and sustain successful habits, focus on strengths, see "The Big Picture," balance career with personal life, build excellent relationships with others, eliminate (or at least significantly reduce) fear and anxiety, ask for what you want (the authors provide a seven-point system to achieve prosperity), sustain consistent persistence, take decisive and appropriate action, and finally, how to simplify one's life without compromising one's purposes. A set of specific "Action Steps" is provided at the end of each chapter. If implemented effectively, the ten strategies can enable almost anyone to "hit" their business, personal, and financial "targets" and in many (if not most) instances "with absolute certainty." First, however, each reader must determine what her or his "targets" are. My own experience suggests that, over time, people change their targets. Also, whatever they may be at any given time, the little rascals tend to be moving.
In their Final Words, the authors note that "there are no shortcuts to building a life of substance. It's an ongoing process. It takes time, real effort and a desire to become more than you already are. It's a worthy challenge. However, your biggest challenge starts tomorrow. How will you apply what you have learned between the covers of this book?" As suggested earlier, reading this this book reminded me of a large box of Crackerjacks. The material it provides reminded me of that little plastic magnifying glass. Both the box and the book offer the same "gift": an understanding and appreciation of the power of focus. I join with the authors in wishing their readers "an abundance of health, joy, and prosperity in the years ahead."
If at all possible, read this book in combination with Bossidy and Charan's Execution: The Discipline of Getting Things Done; Hammer's The Agenda: What Every Business Must Do to Dominate the Decade; Covey's The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People; and finally, Connors, Smith, and Hickman's The Oz Principle: Getting Results Through Individual and Organizational Accountability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are serious about changing your life read this book, 15 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. N. J. Mckay "NJM" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty (Paperback)
This book is excellent.
I have read it 5 years in a row.
It works if you are focused and determined to improve your life and achieve your goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply as good as you can be, 1 April 2011
This review is from: The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty (Paperback)
the book is simply great, it empowers you to take on life and try your best. I've given this book out as presents to several people I appreciate, but at the end of the day I've noticed that the book is only as good as your own self-belief and will power, discipline and your perception of the world around you. I highly recommended it. I read it when I was 23yo and it gave me a big push in the right direction. Thanks to my ex-boss, partner and friend C.Z. and his mentoring and his contribution to my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sets things straight, 24 April 2011
This review is from: The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty (Paperback)
In this, Jack has done something that he should be proud of but unlike his last book I read, I felt this one went on a little too much. I am not one to read a book over and over again so expect to be able to absorb the contents in one read, but I feel with this book it has to be read over a few times for things to be absorbed, that is my only gripe. On the plus side, it is well written and I like Jack's style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Power Of Focus: How to Hit Your Business, Personal and Financial Targets with Absolute Certainty
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews