Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, glorious colour, 3 Nov. 2002
Just when I thought I'd seen 'everything' in patchwork and quilting Kaffe does his "colour magic" again and presents a collection of the most exciting creations I have seen.
Glowing colour as in his previous work in knitting, needlework and decorating books but this time with a discipline and restraint that allows for the readers own concepts to develop as the pages turn.
There are so many quilts to choose from but especially effective is the Handkerchief Corners quilt featuring stripes in rich colours Kaffe has designed and had produced in Indian cotton. I found them available on his web site which helps if you want to start this project. His "Japanese Brocades" quilt is soft and muted in a simple design to allow the fabric to be the 'hero' - the close up photographs show it to be lusterous and simply beautiful
Instructions are clear, diagrammes are helpful and the photography as in his previous books is a joy.
The projects are probably most suited to intermediate to experienced quilters or sewers as the quilting instructions especially presume some prior knowledge.
A gorgeous book - I think his best yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, lovely photos, brimming full of ideas, 10 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passionate Patchwork (Hardcover)
This is a beuatiful, bright book with many quilt ideas, mixing blocks of different scales in the same quilt. Most of the quilts use Kaffe Fassett's fabrics, and perhaps my one criticism is that it would have been nice to see more of the quilts made in scrap fabrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INSPIRATIONAL!, 12 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Passionate Patchwork (Hardcover)
For me Kaffe Fassett is one of the most inspiration quilt designers I have come across. The designs are simple, and it is easy to create your own interpritation of his ideas, but the most stunning aspect of his work is his use of colour, it leaves me stunned and breathless every time. It has made me bold with my own work, it has made me throw together colours I would never have dreamed of putting together, it has helped me relax and make freinds with colour - and when I feel down, just sitting in my quilt room, leafing through his books always raises my spirits!

Passionate Patchwork is just another fabulous example of this - even if you never make anything from it, it will influence you in some way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Patchwork Book, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my absolute favourite patchwork book - and I have lots. I return to it time and time again and always find something else to inspire me - whether Kaffe Fasset's words, his descriptions of how he puts colours together, or the amazing photographs. I tend not to use 'patterns' but frequently flick through the final section of the book which has cutting instructions and quilt assembly instructions. I think this is a brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful 'saturated colour schemes', 2 Feb. 2012
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More unique and inspirational quilt ideas from Kaffe Fassett- I really liked the applique designs for 'Hatboxes' and 'Rice Bowls', also the use of striped fabric for a design of odd-shaped squares. And I love the photo of 'Delft baskets' wallhanging of inky blue fabrics, set against a blue-and-white ceramic collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaffe is always inspirational., 23 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passionate Patchwork (Hardcover)
I bought this book and loved it so much that I bought another as a gift for a friend. She has been inspired to create two beautiful wall hangings, I have been inspired to think - but one day soon I'm going to get the needle and thread out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have Fassett classic, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
Ulla Qvistgaard "USQ" (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passionate Patchwork (Hardcover)
There is so much inspiration to be gained from this book. Fabulous photos and wonderful designs, easy as well as more difficult projects. I highly recommend this book to all home decoration enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful quilts as usual, 11 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent book by Kaffe Fassett. The quilts are wonderful and the photography stunning. A good variety of quilts for beginners and more the experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star Book, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Kaffe Fassett and this book is brilliant. I want to make everything in this book, it is so inspiring. A book to look through over and over .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely designs., 12 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are some marvellous quilt ideas in this book, I liked it so much I bought another one for my friend. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passionate Patchwork
Passionate Patchwork by Liza Prior Lucy (Hardcover - 6 Sept. 2001)
Used & New from: £19.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews