Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - original, refreshing recipes that deliver genuine 'wow' power
I love cook books, and this is one of the best Asian food books I have seen in years. It is beautifully presented and would make an excellent gift for anyone who enjoys cookery and Asian food in particular. It is also well bound (hardback version) and looks like it will stand frequent use. It contains numerous original and refreshing recipes that are a million miles...
Published on 29 Jun 2009 by James Bury

versus
24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Anjum Anand stolen her crown?
This is going to sound like blasphemy to many people, but I have been a bit disappointed by this book. I suppose I should have looked at it a bit more closely before buying. What I wanted was a comprehensive guide to cooking curries and I wanted those curries to be from India or thereabouts.

Madhur's book goes chasing variants that have sprung up as far afield...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by doublegone


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

128 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - original, refreshing recipes that deliver genuine 'wow' power, 29 Jun 2009
By 
James Bury (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible (Hardcover)
I love cook books, and this is one of the best Asian food books I have seen in years. It is beautifully presented and would make an excellent gift for anyone who enjoys cookery and Asian food in particular. It is also well bound (hardback version) and looks like it will stand frequent use. It contains numerous original and refreshing recipes that are a million miles removed from the increasingly dull and predictable menus you find in so many 'Indian' restaurants. Even the most basic dishes are excellent, and frequently deliver real 'wow factor'.

One of the best aspects of the book is that it always seems to have a recipe that deals imaginatively with whatever it is you have too much of in the fridge - just look it up in the (excellent) index - there's usually a recipe you can adapt for it.

I am particularly enjoying working my way through the many recipes that have simple main ingredients that are then transformed into original and exciting dishes. It is often said that superb food doesn't need to be complicated, and there are numerous dishes in this book that bear this out. Two of my favourites are "Mushroom and Coriander Curry", and a simple sweetcorn with fresh herbs and lemon juice dish.

If you're seeking to impress with a real extravaganza, there are plenty of sophisticated recipes to meet any need. But my strong advice is to try the many more straightforward recipes and re-connect with quick, delicious meals from simple ingredients. If anything, they deliver more 'wow' factor by appearing to be simple, and so are great for when you are trying to impress or simply looking for delicious, everyday soul food. This is certainly far more than a book for special occasions - I cook from it at least twice a week and have never yet been disappointed by it.

One small word of warning - many of the recipes include authentic levels of chilli / cayenne that may be a little on the warm side for some. The recipes still work well if you reduce the chilli - as a rule I would say in most cases you can halve the amount of chilli for those who like moderately spicy food, and probably use 1/4 of the chilli for those who prefer mild food. Obviously each recipe varies in heat, and it is very much down to personal preference, but if you are cooking one of these recipes for the first time for someone who may not revel in hot food - just check the quantities of chilli being used and if it sounds generous, tone it down a fair bit.

You will need a moderate variety of spices - almost all of which are the standard sorts you'll find in any decent supermarket (turmeric, coriander, cumin, cayenne, cinnamon etc). It is worth investing the 5 or 10 you'll need to do this as most of the recipes work from the same palette of fairly standard spices. A couple of tips - quite a few recipes need 'nigella seeds', which unfortunately are known by many other names. Tesco sells them as 'black onion seeds', asian stores often call then 'Kalonji' seeds, and there are at least a dozen other names for them. Look out for little black, irregularly shaped seeds and then see if one of their alternative names is as above. Common fresh herbs include coriander and mint, and if you have space to grow your own that would be helpful. Another common herb is curry leaves - if you can't get these, try bay leaves as a different flavour substitute or leave them out - the food will still taste great.

Overall, this is a great book with superb dishes if you are seeking to create a memorable dinner party. But for me, the real treasure of the book is the many simple, everyday dishes that are an absolute delight - don't dismiss them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just can't put it down!, 22 Jan 2007
By 
Barry Cant (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible (Hardcover)
Amazing!

It's all in this book. From what the spices are to how to handle them. The origins and history of the recipes is an absolute bonus. Everything I've tried has worked really well. Curries, sauces, pastes and powders. I've learned and enjoyed so much. Delicious......

Simply can't praise this book high enough.

If you enjoy using and eating spices this is THE one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty curries, 20 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible (Hardcover)
This book is better than her first book, published in 1973, which up to now was my curry bible. It differs from her "Invitation to Indian Food" in that this book has recipes from SE Asia and Africa as well as from south Asia. The recipes do not require obscure ingredients and are not fussy. The results are delicious, especially the aubergine on a bed of yogurt and the chicken with two types of coriander. The naan recipe produced naan that tasted almost like they had been cooked in a tandoor instead of in an electric oven. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curry Lovers Everywhere!!!, 5 Aug 2009
By 
Dominic Tomlin "Cockney Sparrow." (Spain, originally London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible (Hardcover)
I am a chef with 20 years experience and have cooked banquets for the high commisioner of India in London. This book is spot on, well explained recipes and with a little pre planning you can turn out authentic dishes. Sometimes a little hard to source the ingredients for the ordinary joe on the street, but they are all available, in addition to this book you'll need to buy a cheap coffee grinder, as most of the recipes ask you to start from scratch, which is the way it should be. By grinding your own spices. I can not recommend this book enough if you love your curries etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Cultural Discovery, 14 Feb 2006
This review is from: Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible (Hardcover)
I am lucky to find this book almost brand new from a second hand book cart in Karachi for $3 dollars. Well this is the first success with this book. Then a series of successes which i owe to Madhur and this book. The cooking tehniques in this book are nothing new for me being a Pakistani, but history, narrative and description are totally awesome and of course a lot of receipie which i have never yet tried out were a great addition on our dining table.
My household is frequently visited by gests from West , and for them Indian/Pakistani food are amazing, shocking, pleasing and a discovery. With this book one can really make the meal times and guest times a great cutltural experience. I am glad that it is not one of those dumb cook books which dumps the recepie and never gives any history or cultural insignts whereas food is a significant part of any cutlture and traditon.
Many thanks Madhur for this book.
Farah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in LOVE! Hate cooking but seriously, this will revert anyone!, 10 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible (Hardcover)
Fantastic Book... Can't rave enough about it. The recipes are spot on... need a few tweaks but that's with everything. Would prefer more Pictures but never mind.
This book is for anyone who likes to experiment and try new things.

She has another book called:
* Madhur Jaffrey's Indian Cookery [Hardcover]
Publisher: BBC Books; 2nd Revised edition (7 Nov 2002)
ISBN-10: 0563488212 ISBN-13: 978-0563488217
OR
*Madhur Jaffrey Curries [Hardcover]
Publisher: Ebury Press (2008)
ASIN: B001J8FQCO
These two books are EXACTLY the same so don't make the mistake of buying them both like i did!!
These books are fantastic too but have less recipes and they are a lot simpler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A whole world of curries!, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. W. P. Burgess "wburgess" (Sutton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible (Hardcover)
This book was a great surprise to me. I went out searching for an authentic curry book so I could cook the curries we all know and love in the UK.

This is where I first went wrong, English curries are NOT authentic Indian curries, if you are looking for all of your local favs this book is certainly not for you. However if you are looking for a book of authentic family recipes from around the world, there is nothing better.

Of the many recipes in this book, I have cooked around 10, all of which have been stunningly good. The selection of Kenyan recipes have been enlightening to my pallet and the Vietnamese cuisine has also been a revelation. This truly is my most used and adored cookery book.

A brief history of the curry story has been included at the beginning of this book (brief compared to the whole story!) and can really increase your eating pleasure by making you aware of the similarities between the different styles and how they came to be.

As a quick footnote, I first used The Curry Secret as my go to for curries, I as many others are, was not impressed and making big batches of the curry base was inconvenient. This book knocks the socks off it and most of the recipes are a lot less effort and a lot more flavoursome!

Certainly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 1 Feb 2007
By 
C. Niblett (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible (Hardcover)
One of my favourite books! This book contains numerous exotic dishes & flavour combinations from all over the globe; don't expect to find the fodder your served in your local curry house in here (although there are a few old favourites) but experience some really interesting new flavours with lots of contrast. The recipes are fairly complicated & involve a fair bit of prep & cooking time but instructions are very easy to follow & the end results well worth the effort! Not a cheap book but money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, useful, and instructive., 23 Oct 2011
By 
Paul (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible (Hardcover)
The 27 page history of curry at the beginning of the book makes for an interesting read, as it relates how the cuisine developed within the subcontinent, and how the subcontinent's diaspora has influenced other cuisines on three continents and very many island nations.

Each section of the book is also preceeded with a history of how the main ingredient(s) of the section are used in different regions and cultural traditions.

The individual recipes come with an explainion of its particular origin, and often with an engaging personal anecdote regarding how the author recieved the recipe.

The recipes themselves are accessable to the novice cook, and anyone with some skill with cooking technique can produce superb results. Most of the ingredients can be found in UK shops. The recipes are very adaptable, and one main ingredient can often be substituted with another without wrecking a recipe.

Maestro Jaffrey has written a very interesting, useful, and instructive book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - Can't wait to try everything, 11 July 2007
By 
A. Panes "Alibongo" (Sarratt, Hertforshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible (Hardcover)
I am not one for a book without many photos and this hasn't got many but it is so fantastic. It is like ready a really great book with great recipes but not too much writing where you would get bored. After buying Madhur Jaffrey Indian Cooking book (which has loads and loads of pictures and is absolutely fantastic) but this book is absolutely brilliant. Buy buy buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible
Madhur Jaffrey's Ultimate Curry Bible by Madhur Jaffrey (Hardcover - 2 Oct 2003)
20.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews