Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best cookbook there is.
Some of the reviews below criticise this book for sounding 'strange', promoting the author's own preferences, and being too picky (and too french). The real benefits of this book are exactly the same - it's an invitation to cook beautiful, extraordinary food as well as possible, from a writer who clearly loves eating as much as he loves cooking.

I've been using...
Published on 12 Mar. 2007 by Alastair

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars US Measures
Purchased in UK, but has been "translated" into US measures of cups, sticks etc.Have given up on using it as a cookbook despite its reputation.
Published 15 months ago by Paul Milligan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd hand book, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book arrived in timely fashion, was in very good condition and has been a great read. No problems, damage, missing pages etc - no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cookbook Ever, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roast Chicken and Other Stories: A Recipe Book (Paperback)
Far and away the best cookery writer, excelling even the sainted E David, Nigel, Jamie and the hugely
overrated Ottolenghi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well written classic for anyone interested in food., 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simple easy to follow recipes that do not require an ingredients list as long as your arm,a great book to have in your kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I love Simon Hopkinson!, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roast Chicken and Other Stories: A Recipe Book (Paperback)
I made his rice pudding best ever! He is passionate about full flavour and never disappoints.Ths book is also a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really nice quality books, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roast Chicken and Other Stories: A Recipe Book (Paperback)
Really nice quality books, he makes the recipes look so easy and you know they are all going to turn out winners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roast Chicken and Other Stories: A Recipe Book (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for my sister.She likes the quirkiness of the book and has used several recipes so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars roast chicken, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roast Chicken and Other Stories: A Recipe Book (Paperback)
Got it for my husband who loves it and uses it for cooking. I would recommend it to anyone as a good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roast Chicken and Other Stories: A Recipe Book (Paperback)
So many recipes I'd like to try. well written too. He clearly loves his subject. As so I. Great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Oct. 2014
By 
L. Marsden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roast Chicken and Other Stories: A Recipe Book (Paperback)
Great book. Simple, delicious recipes. The most used recipe book in my extensive collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roast Chicken and Other Stories: A Recipe Book (Paperback)
First class book by The Good Cook great recipes that are easy to follow with good results
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roast Chicken and Other Stories: A Recipe Book
Roast Chicken and Other Stories: A Recipe Book by Simon Hopkinson (Paperback - 2 Sept. 1999)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews