Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic for beginners
aftrer collecting wedgwood for the past 6 years i decided to move on to other english makers and bought this book,it is simply fantastic for the novice,very informative and helpful and extremly easy to understand,a must if you want to save yourself a lot of time and of course money.A+++.
Published on 31 Dec 2001 by PAUL DEVONALD (bigdevs@btinter...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tghis is a handbook - very good concise review of its subject
Tghis is a handbook - very good concise review of its subject. Good for carrying around. If you can afford it the full version is better.
Published 1 month ago by aristotle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic for beginners, 31 Dec 2001
This review is from: New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
aftrer collecting wedgwood for the past 6 years i decided to move on to other english makers and bought this book,it is simply fantastic for the novice,very informative and helpful and extremly easy to understand,a must if you want to save yourself a lot of time and of course money.A+++.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy reference book!, 3 Mar 2006
By 
Michael Bermingham "mjbermingham" (Birr,County Offaly,Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
This book is excellent for anyone with an interest in porcelain collecting.All the major British porcelain factories are included with clear reference to their various marks.The various marks are tied to the different manufacturing periods of each factory.There is also a brief history of each pottery works.
This book also includes details of many lesser known porcelain factories.There is also an explanation of how to interpret the general registration marks used for all porcelain items c1839-c1999.At the end of the book is a most helpful list of registration numbers used from 1884 up to 1999.
With the help of this book I have been able to date various pieces I purchased on ebay-even when the sellers were unaware of dates of pieces!Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars informative for the car booter, 11 May 2007
By 
L. J. Kirk (Newark Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
if you are an avid car booter and not sure about marks years and makers then this is a must i have found it interesting and now want a similar one indentifying pattern numbers and shapes a good read and very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift for a friend, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
I have owned this for years because of the appendix with registrations listed.Happy to find the correct edition for someone else.Now I won't be pestered for information.Godden's Encyclopaedia well used for serious research but the appendix in this little handbook is of infinite value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handbook of Pottery and Porcelain Marks, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
Good value for money and very helpful. Written in a way that makes the information you want easy to find rather than having to read through non-related information firs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book., 18 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. S. Newbury "Galleons" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
I found this book very useful and it covered all makes of pottery that I was looking up. Clear photo's of the pottery marks make it easy to identify and date your items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tghis is a handbook - very good concise review of its subject, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
Tghis is a handbook - very good concise review of its subject. Good for carrying around. If you can afford it the full version is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
Exactly what I was looking for and within arms reach on my desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks
New Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks by Geoffrey A. Godden (Paperback - 5 Aug 1999)
Used & New from: £0.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews