Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little handy primer
This book is a great handy primer for those on anatomy & physiology courses who need something to carry around with them as they learn the muscular-skeletal system of the body.
The big plus for this book is the comb binding which allows the book to be opened flat, or worse, folded over.
The artwork is clear, and covers the major muscles and bones, with...
Published on 9 Jan. 2005 by Darren Koh

versus
33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I bought this book to see if I could find the mistakes
I can't find the mistakes in it yet, so maybe I'm missing out on something.
Yes, the book is very brief and a couple of diagrams are dodgy, but it is very portable and the bone and muscle diagrams are good.
Maybe a bit pricey, try Robert Stones Atlas of Skeletal Muscles
Published on 4 Oct. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little handy primer, 9 Jan. 2005
By 
Darren Koh (Singapore, Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body (Spiral-bound)
This book is a great handy primer for those on anatomy & physiology courses who need something to carry around with them as they learn the muscular-skeletal system of the body.
The big plus for this book is the comb binding which allows the book to be opened flat, or worse, folded over.
The artwork is clear, and covers the major muscles and bones, with additional tables setting out the origins and insertions, and the origins of ennervating nerves.
In short, a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New edition *with corrections* superb for students, 27 Mar. 2003
This review is from: The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body (Spiral-bound)
The new edition of this little book has all the mistakes corrected which marred the last edition. This makes it the most useful, portable booklet I have seen. It covers trunk and limbs systematically with clear illustrations of the bones and ligaments first, then the muscles in their different layers. It also contains charts of muscles, origins, insertions, innervation and function for each of the muscles by area. Further short sections on joints, posture and movement patterns, types of muscle contraction and muscle fibre types, nerve supply, energy systems and common types of injury make this book invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one forthe students, 4 Dec. 2002
This review is from: The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body (Spiral-bound)
As a teacher of Body Massage, Beauty Therapy and Holistic Therapies at a further education college, I feel this book offers, clear, colourful pictures, easy understanding of how the body moves, all in a neat and moderately priced book. This is a useful and quick teaching aid that the majority of my students have found(on recommendation) useful - I should be on commission!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very handy little book, 11 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body (Spiral-bound)
Just bought this book as a quick reference for when giving massages and I am not disappointed. It is very handy to use and the spiral binding is excellent and very adequate for the type of book this is as i can leave it open flat while massaging and don't have to fiddle with it continuously.
It does just what it says, but of course doesn't replace the bigger more detailed/thorough books on muscles and anatomy.
This book is for taking with you when you're out and about and can't /don't want to take the bigger books.
Great quick reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 20 May 2012
By 
Anne Crockford (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body (Spiral-bound)
My husband had a major accident 6 monthe ago. The physios came to help him walk, and gave us exercises. Now its just me and him. I wanted a book that would show him the muscles he is trying to improve, and this does that extremely well. The drawings are of top quality, and have helped his understanding of what is required. I am a retired GP, and was fascinated to be reminded of the intricacies of the musculature of the human body, some of which, I admit, I had fogotten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent book, 15 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body (Spiral-bound)
I have ordered this pocket atlas to learn my origins and insertions for my sports massage exam. I have to admit the book is excellent. Not only I can keep it in my drawer in my treatment room and refer to it as I go along, but also it's very concise and it gives me all the table of muscles, origins, insertions and actions. It's brilliant. Good for anyone who is having tests from anatomy and physiology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massageblast, 18 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body (Spiral-bound)
Very simple yet very complete mini atlas of muscles and bones. Ideal to use as reference and to learn the two systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Atlas of the Moving Body, 12 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body (Spiral-bound)
The Pocket Atlas of the Moving Body

Neat little book that has clear illustrations and explanations of the major working muscle groups. Excellent reference book for those in the fitness industry and certainly I'm sure equally a great reference for those in the medical field, particularly students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I bought this book to see if I could find the mistakes, 4 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body (Spiral-bound)
I can't find the mistakes in it yet, so maybe I'm missing out on something.
Yes, the book is very brief and a couple of diagrams are dodgy, but it is very portable and the bone and muscle diagrams are good.
Maybe a bit pricey, try Robert Stones Atlas of Skeletal Muscles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, 18 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body (Spiral-bound)
small enough to carry around with you anywhere. gives you detailed information but without the usual overloading jargon used by some books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body
The Pocket Atlas Of The Moving Body by Mel Cash (Spiral-bound - 1 April 1999)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews