Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but a bit too hard for begginners
I have not been knitting that long but have been making some animals from another book so I thought this would be a good progression. The pictures are beautiful and well laid out that the instructions are clear but I did not know enough of the techniques yet to put them into practice. I hope to be able to make more of this book soon.
Published on 7 Sep 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved it but...
Al the bears are just fantastic !! but the explanations are difficult for me to understand as I am French. To understand, I need to have each rwo explained...
Published 10 months ago by Olga Proniewski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but a bit too hard for begginners, 7 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Teddy Bears: More Than 25 Irresistible Designs for Knitted Bears (Paperback)
I have not been knitting that long but have been making some animals from another book so I thought this would be a good progression. The pictures are beautiful and well laid out that the instructions are clear but I did not know enough of the techniques yet to put them into practice. I hope to be able to make more of this book soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful designs., 27 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Teddy Bears: More Than 25 Irresistible Designs for Knitted Bears (Paperback)
This pattern book is lovely. There are various types of bears in several shapes, sizes and stitches, but it's the outfits unique to each one that makes the book enjoyable. Although the patterns are easy to read (I'm used to following patterns in French or American English), this is not the book for a beginner. Low intermediate and above knitting abilities are required as one must know basic knitting techniques such as increasing, decreasing and seaming. A few of the teddy bear outfits require jacquard and fairisle as well, so one must know how to change yarn colors and follow charts. One other important thing that should be taken into account before purchasing this book is that nearly all patterns for the teddy bears require Rowan Lightweight DK wool, which has now been discontinued. However, yarn weights, lengths and tension are provided so substitutions might possibly be found. If one doesn't mind that drawback, the book is a nice investment for the knitter who enjoys making toys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clumsy bear collection, 13 Oct 2007
By 
Elaine B Reader (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Bears: More Than 25 Irresistible Designs for Knitted Bears (Paperback)
I bought the book primarily for the outfits - these are very good. As far as the bears go, there are instructions for 5 which are about 10 inches tall, 5 are about 14 inches tall and a couple are 7 inches or so. They look very clumsy when completed and don't sit at all well. As I like the outfits I may buy a different book for the bears, but will try adding joints to one of these first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Lovely, 28 Oct 1998
By A Customer
A well presented and beautifully illustrated book that combines a love of teddy bears and knitting. Although not an experienced knitter, I have found the instructions easy to follow. After knitting the stars and stripes sweater bear, I've had requests to knit more - mainly from fellow adults, men included !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant to knit, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Bears: More Than 25 Irresistible Designs for Knitted Bears (Paperback)
Love it just what i was looking for ..Love the the fact you can change the clothing so one ted has a His own wardrobe of cloths
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Loved it but..., 3 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Bears: More Than 25 Irresistible Designs for Knitted Bears (Paperback)
Al the bears are just fantastic !! but the explanations are difficult for me to understand as I am French. To understand, I need to have each rwo explained...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Bears: More Than 25 Irresistible Designs for Knitted Bears (Paperback)
I wanted to dress a knitted Debbie Bliss teddy bear and this book has several fun to knit patterns to give him/her a range of outfits. The only disadvantage in my view is that there are several patterns for different size bears and so the patterns are not completely interchangeable and I am not sufficiently experienced to alter the patterns. Having said that, there is plenty of variety to make it worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teddy bear, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Bears: More Than 25 Irresistible Designs for Knitted Bears (Paperback)
This book came in supreme condition. I was most surprised. Never ordered boos like this before. Will do in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic toy knitting book, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Bears: More Than 25 Irresistible Designs for Knitted Bears (Paperback)
I have bought alot of toy knitting books. This is by far 1 of the best. Debbie Bliss patterns are excellent to follow and these make toys that look like they should. It has alot of projects for bears and thier clothes; including a pilot, farmer, golfer, baby, and many more.
If you can get hold of this then buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice teddies but hard to put together, 25 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Teddy Bears: More Than 25 Irresistible Designs for Knitted Bears (Paperback)
The teddies in this book are very nice however having knitted one I found that the head was very hard to put together and that the front of the head didn't stick out very far. It was very disappointing having put so much work into it. I had to knit a mussle and sew it on. I'll never make another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teddy Bears: More Than 25 Irresistible Designs for Knitted Bears
Used & New from: 6.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews