Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't do without it!
I have had this book for a number of years now and it is my very favourite book on vegetarian cooking. Even though I have a shelf stuffed full of veggie cookery books, some of which are extremely useful, without fail I will always return to this one when, at the eleventh hour, I am at a loss for something interesting and fairly straightforward to do. It has various...
Published on 28 Feb 2005 by Frenchpea

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Vegetarian cooking
A bit old fashioned, but contains some good classics and a lot of photos .i have not had a chance to try the recipes yet, but will be using some
Published 13 months ago by Coccinelle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't do without it!, 28 Feb 2005
This review is from: "Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook (Hardcover)
I have had this book for a number of years now and it is my very favourite book on vegetarian cooking. Even though I have a shelf stuffed full of veggie cookery books, some of which are extremely useful, without fail I will always return to this one when, at the eleventh hour, I am at a loss for something interesting and fairly straightforward to do. It has various chapters that are well laid out and pleasing to the eye with many inventive recipes alongside the more well recognised veggie fayre. From flatbreads to summer vegetable soufflé to spiced potatoes and cauliflower to apple and pecan tart, there really is something here for everyone.
There is a lovely colour index to start with, followed by a fantastic display of photographs showing recipes at various stages which is really helpful when I am not sure if things are going according to plan, because the photos provide a quick reference, quite apart from which they are very attractive and appealing and make some of the recipes very mouthwatering indeed. Personally, I find it difficult to cook from a recipe that has no picture anyway. At the back there is a glossary of terms, sections on food safety and freezing, followed by a very well laid out index.
Although there are cheaper books around, I don't think there are so many that would stand on their own as this one has done and I would highly recommend it for anyone thinking of buying their first vegetarian book (or their last!) or as a gift for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. Now...what to make for tonight.....?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book you'll enjoy for many years, 3 Jan 2003
This review is from: "Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is one of my favourite vegetarian cooking books. It offers many recipes, as well as helpful information per recipe. The additional informative section makes it a useful reference for people who are new to (vegetarian) cooking.
The book starts with an explanation of the various ingredients used in the book. The sections included are: rice & grains, pasta, pulses & nuts, vegetables, fruits and dairy products.
Next is one of the best features of the book: the colour index. It has mouth-watering pictures of all the main recipes. When you're not sure what will be on the menu, this index makes choosing a nice dish a lot easier.
The recipes are grouped according to the structure of the ingredient section, with some additional groups which indicate the type of dish it is: soup, salad or dessert.
Each recipe will have an indication of the number of people it serves, the cooking time, number of calories and whether it is suitable for freezing, which is very helpful in case (unlikely with many of the recipes) you have leftovers.
The ingredients are also indicated according to the metric system.
There is a good variety in cooking styles as well, with recipes taken from a.o. Africa, Asia and Italy. Most of them are straightforward in their preparation, but that doesn't mean they'll be on the table within 5 minutes. Many will give you the opportunity to enjoy the process.
The final section of the book has some basic recipes for sauces and dressings.
Definitely a book you'll enjoy for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: "Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook (Hardcover)
I have been veggie for 18 years & would highly recommend this book. The recipes are innovative, tasty & very easy to follow. There are enough new ideas, interesting ingredients & flavours to satisfy an experienced veggie cook.
The clear step-by-step instructions also make this a winner with my newly converted (both to cooking & being veggie) boyfriend. We have both made several dishes for meat & non-meat eaters & without exception they have gone down well. Also worth a mention is the photo index at the front - ideal for a quick browse..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How recipe books SHOULD be written, 5 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: "Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook (Hardcover)
I have tried about twenty or so recipes from this book, which is a small selection of the many recipes on offer. To put this in context, I probably only ever use about 5 to 10 recipes from any single cookbook. I am not a vegetarian, so why is this book so heavily used in comparison to others I own? Simple. Because all the recipes WORK. These recipes have obviously been bench-tested to death, because nothing ever comes out burnt or undercooked, and no 'minor' details are left out of the method sections that you have to second-guess. Also, everything I've made out of this book has been absolutely delicious, especially the balti and biriani dishes. So it's easy to follow, and gives foolproof and delicious results. It's the best cook book I've ever used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious and Easy - Is that possible??, 20 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook (Hardcover)
I have recently become a vegetarian and have looked everywhere for a cookbook that has interesting, delicious and easy to make vegetarian recipes. This book has it all! Along with hundreds and hundreds of tasty recipes, it has a facinating introduction about how to balance a vegetarian diet and gives a page overview of each of the food groups. This is followed by a wonderful colour index which features pictures of all the dishes in the book! The recipes are easy to make and taste as good as they look. I would highly recommend this book to vegetarians and non vegetarians alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible!, 2 Jun 2004
By 
Lee Boehmer (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook (Hardcover)
This attractive book dispels the notion that a vegetarian diet consists of bland and uninteresting meals. The 500 or so dishes presented in this book are a delight: varied, substantial and uniformaly delicious. Ample instruction is provided for the novice while many of the recipes will be stimulating for the more capable cook. Highly professional and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recipes for the newly converted, 7 Aug 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook (Hardcover)
The recipes in this book are truly brilliant. As a new convert from meat I had concerns that I wouldn't be able to stay on the wagon, being forced to eat tasteless and boring food. Having read this my opinion has changed, with many diverse options all so far proving to be tasty and filling. I heartily recommend this book to anybody hoping to change their food habits in an animal friendly way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely indispensible, 11 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: "Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is without a doubt the best vegetarian cookery book around. Having gone through a serious vegetarian stage as a teenager I am only too aware of the tasteless recipes so many cookbooks offer as the 'vegetarian option'. This book gives easy, tasty recipes which are a genuine alternative to meat- even my carnivore partner has been known to comment on how tasty a dish is. An absolute must for anyone- vegetarian or non-vegetarian. Also a great book to just have on the shelf for that scary moment when the words 'I'm so sorry I didn't tell you, but I'm actually a vegetarian...' are uttered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, tasty, colourful, well presented recipes!, 12 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook (Hardcover)
I have really enjoyed the recipes in this cookbook - the best I have seen to date in my 10 years as a vegetarian. It is colourful with a wonderful photo index at the front, and the dishes are delightful! I have converted 3 people with this book, and each person went out and bought it. If you are a vegetarian or are cooking for one, you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete veggie cookbook, 8 May 2004
This review is from: "Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook (Hardcover)
I genuinely cannot recommend this book highly enough. It is a must-have for all vegetarians and a joy to browse, not to mention cook from. All the recipes I have tried have been divine and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook
"Good Housekeeping" Step by Step Vegetarian Cookbook by Good Housekeeping Institute (Hardcover - 4 Sep 1997)
Used & New from: £4.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews