Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, what bliss...
Comfort food at it's best!
After collecting so many cook books that dress the plate like an art exhibit, it's so nice to find a cook book that is written by real people for real people!
Yes, the food is is at the higher level of "comfort" food, but it's the 1960's come back to life... bubble 'n' squeak, rabbit, pease pudding and the like are all there to take...
Published on 6 Mar. 2003 by Anthony R. Webber

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars two fat ladies
The book took a few days to arrive, longer than Amazon books take, it's in fair condition but not stained. The recipes are the usual two fat ladies stuff. I tried one and as expected it cost a lot in terms of ingredients but was delicious and probably very fattening.
Published 18 months ago by doris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, what bliss..., 6 Mar. 2003
By 
Anthony R. Webber "Anfine" (Northamptonshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Comfort food at it's best!
After collecting so many cook books that dress the plate like an art exhibit, it's so nice to find a cook book that is written by real people for real people!
Yes, the food is is at the higher level of "comfort" food, but it's the 1960's come back to life... bubble 'n' squeak, rabbit, pease pudding and the like are all there to take you back gloriously to those far forgotten days.
The recipes are written so that they are easy to follow and it's just like having your Mum at your side giving you advice; no fancy spring-sided cake tins for the Adult Chocolate cake, you just give the bottom of the tin a good "thump".
The book is amusing, well written interspersed with Jennifer & Clarissa's personal memories (which are worth the price of the book alone!) and they did it all with an Royal Enfield (isn't that where the Queen keeps her chickens?)
Sad that Jennifer is no longer with us, but in the hope that Clarissa soldiers on for many more books... I shall definitely be buying them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Luxury made easy, 30 Aug. 2002
By 
With fish pies, slow cooked lamb and scotch eggs on the menu,who could resist ! As newcomer to these wonderful ladies and their concoctions, I was very happy to discover that it was very easy to put the food together.
Most of the recipies are accompanied by a little tale of their origin that are interesting and amusing, and give a you a warmth for the meal you are about to prepare. The ladies have put such a love for food onto paper and it shines through. The food is sophisticated, beautifully balanced and everyone can find at least five recipies that will become firm favorites for all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delicious, 22 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Two Fat Ladies: Gastronomic Adventures (with Motorbike and Sidecar) (Hardcover)
After having seen these two on tv I couldn't resist buying the book. And I wasn't disappointed. The recipes are not all that complicated, the resulting meals are a revelation and the comments of the two ladies are always good for a laugh. Seeing that their view on food is sideways on the nowadays accepted way of cooking and pointing in the direction of enjoyment you can't go wrong! Saskia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On yer bike, 22 May 2009
By 
R. Lillicrap (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two Fat Ladies: Gastronomic Adventures (with Motorbike and Sidecar) (Hardcover)
Old classics whether its bikes, ladies or food just seem to get better with age. This combination of wit, wisdom and cuisine is as entertaining now as it was in the nineties when it came out. About as PC as a Bernard Manning joke this book revels in the use of quality ingredients and anecdotes. Finished off with a flourish of red painted nails, the Two Fat Ladies are classics indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cookery book if you love life, 24 Jan. 2010
This book is fantastic - as are the Ladies that have written it. The recepies are truly extraordinary, their comments as well. Even if I never try the recepies,(which I will, because all my family begs me to) the book makes me just want to join these Ladies on their adventures!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one exception!, 14 April 2011
This book has reliably good tasting recipes and quite unusual ones, sometimes. Having loved, for example, Tillipronie orange fool with orange shortbread, I confidently made lady Llanover;s salmon for dinner with guests. Luckily they were family, because although I made it exactly according to the recipe and it tasted delicious - it was the most foul dirty purple colour, the red wine having interacted with the mushrooms during the marinading, I presume. What was that about? Does anyone know? Are the Fat Ladies and Lady LLanover colour-blind? If I could write to C D-W I would, because this I don't understand, and now I'll have to practise before presentation - something I don't always want to do with expensive ingredients. My confidence in the dear eccentric fat ladies has taken a big dip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you don't like their extra fattening recipes reading the prologue and general ..., 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth the money, if you don't like their extra fattening recipes reading the prologue and general theme is well worth the fiver I paid including postage.They could have done stand up without the four letter words used by most
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... of how two not so thin ladies lived and loved cooking and, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Fat Ladies: Gastronomic Adventures (with Motorbike and Sidecar) (Hardcover)
this is a classic and will always remind me of how two not so thin ladies lived and loved cooking and food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars two fat ladies, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Fat Ladies: Gastronomic Adventures (with Motorbike and Sidecar) (Hardcover)
The book took a few days to arrive, longer than Amazon books take, it's in fair condition but not stained. The recipes are the usual two fat ladies stuff. I tried one and as expected it cost a lot in terms of ingredients but was delicious and probably very fattening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You get what you expect, in a good way, 22 Mar. 2013
By 
Mike (EDINBURGH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Fat Ladies: Gastronomic Adventures (with Motorbike and Sidecar) (Hardcover)
Great show so great book. Not so much for up-to-the-minute tastes but you get what you expect, in a comfortable "two-fat-ladies" fare sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Fat Ladies: Gastronomic Adventures (with Motorbike and Sidecar)
Two Fat Ladies: Gastronomic Adventures (with Motorbike and Sidecar) by Jennifer Paterson (Hardcover - 3 Oct. 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews