Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book
This volume has been in print now for a number of years and the recipes still feel fresh and challenging as well. It is not a book designed for those who don't already have some basic cooking skill - it is not a 'method' cookbook so if you need to know how to reduce a sauce properly etc then I should get something else to accompany this one e.g.Mastering the Art of French...
Published on 18 Feb. 2009 by Dommy1973

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book arrived promptly well packed and in good condition. So really I should give it more ...
OK book but not an attractive lay out and recipes ... well not inspiring in choice or presentation. Though have used a recipe and got some ideas. Which in the end is what it is all about. Book arrived promptly well packed and in good condition. So really I should give it more than two stars!
Published 2 months ago by J. Picken


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 18 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Cafe Cook Book (Paperback)
This volume has been in print now for a number of years and the recipes still feel fresh and challenging as well. It is not a book designed for those who don't already have some basic cooking skill - it is not a 'method' cookbook so if you need to know how to reduce a sauce properly etc then I should get something else to accompany this one e.g.Mastering the Art of French Cooking: Vol 1 for example. However, the recipes in themselves are largely uncomplicated with a focus on the very best of ingredients. There are a wide variety of vegetarian recipes such as Ribollita and Ricotta al forno (a wonderful green souffle), as well as a number of more unusual meat dishes too. Particularly good was the fascinating Pork Roasted with Balsamic Vinegar - one would expect this to be far too acidic and sharp, but with slow cooking, the meat (which is grilled first) is complimented by a rich thick treacle-like goo, not too sweet and with only a hint of acidity - an excellent dish especially for a large group as you can simply leave it to cook. Their game dishes are also very good and the timings of most recipes are pretty accurate for the average household oven. If you want to impress your friends and yourself with fabulous Italian dishes, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian food like you've never tasted before, 23 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The River Cafe Cook Book (Paperback)
Ruth Rogers and Rose Gray's The River Cafe Cook Book and the follow-up River Cafe Cook Book Two changed my life. The recipes are easy to follow and yield consistently sensational results. After the first bite of their Panzanella--Tuscan summer salad--you'll think you're in heaven. And the Winter Minestrone--sublime. It's better (and a whole lot cheaper) than a holiday in Tuscany!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely fabulous darlings!, 12 Oct. 1999
This review is from: The River Cafe Cook Book (Paperback)
Despite the embarassing associations of this book - polenta eating, virgin olive oil drizzling Southern yuppies - when you get past these understandable feeling and pick one up, you will have bought one of the best cookbooks you will ever own. The chicken stuffed with mascarpone and rosemary is a favourite, but most of the recipes are incredible. Use the ingredients you can get hold of and don't use the amounts suggested if they seem ridiculous - and you are confident.This book improved our cooking 100%. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the book shelf...., 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Cafe Cook Book (Paperback)
It's a standard book for any lover of Italian, coming from what is an institution in the UK. Combine it with some of the works of Carluccio & Contaldo you will not need anything else for Italian cuisine in my mind (Apart from perhaps Silverspoon). Nice and clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the most outstanding cook book ever!, 2 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The River Cafe Cook Book (Paperback)
I agree with the other reviewer - the Winter Minestrone is fabulous - but so are all the other soups - the Sardinian fennel in Book 2 - and the stocks are so simple to make, yet taste SO GOOD! The vegetable recipes are a yum, the meat and poultry superb and the desserts, delicious! Absolutely brilliant. Try their Estate Olive Oils too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... have already tried several of the recipes to the enjoyment of family and friends, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Cafe Cook Book (Paperback)
Lovely book and have already tried several of the recipes to the enjoyment of family and friends. I look forward to trying some more especially as I have now shared the book with a friend.

The book arrived earlier than I expected and the condition is as described, so that's just as it should be. Many thanks to the vendor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book arrived promptly well packed and in good condition. So really I should give it more ..., 28 April 2015
By 
J. Picken (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Cafe Cook Book (Paperback)
OK book but not an attractive lay out and recipes ... well not inspiring in choice or presentation. Though have used a recipe and got some ideas. Which in the end is what it is all about. Book arrived promptly well packed and in good condition. So really I should give it more than two stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent! just what we wanted at an excellent price in very good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book makes interesting menus a pleasure to create, 17 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
I flicked through this book at a friends house and couldn't put it down. The recipes are imaginitive but simple and most of them are quick. Lots of fresh ingredients and herbs are used and there are loads of recipes for vegetarians. All the methods are explained without jargon so you don't need any experience of cooking. All the recipes I've tried so far have been a great success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Otherwise fine., 16 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a few scribbles in pen on the first two or three pages. Otherwise fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The River Cafe Cook Book
The River Cafe Cook Book by Ruth Rogers (Paperback - 3 Oct. 1996)
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews