Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Not Great
Stella Rimington joined the Security Service (MI5) in 1965 and during her career she worked in all the main fields of the Service's responsibilities - counter-subversion, counter-espionage and counter-terrorism - and became successively Director of all three branches. She was appointed Director-General of MI5 in 1992. She was the first woman to hold the post and the first...
Published on 9 Oct 2007 by J. Chippindale

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spymistress doesn't quite Hit the Mark
At the very least it would be impossible to fault the authenticity of this novel. Rimington's former life as the head of MI5 gives this the pedigree of someone who clearly knows what she's talking about.

The day to day details of the UK's Security Services are deftly written: all the interview and investigative procedures ring true and Rimington also has a good...
Published on 19 Nov 2006 by Mr. S. J. Bonsor


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Not Great, 9 Oct 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Stella Rimington joined the Security Service (MI5) in 1965 and during her career she worked in all the main fields of the Service's responsibilities - counter-subversion, counter-espionage and counter-terrorism - and became successively Director of all three branches. She was appointed Director-General of MI5 in 1992. She was the first woman to hold the post and the first Director-General whose name was publicly announced on appointment. Following her retirement from MI5 in 1996 she became a non-executive director of Marks and Spencer and published her autobiography.

With a background like that you would think the author would find writing a book full of authentic facts a stroll in the park and I am sure her ability to do so cannot be questioned. The characters in the book are well thought out, even those on the peripherals of the plot and the story is fast paced and well linked together, but on a personal note I just found it lacking something. However it would be wrong of me to criticise a book that another reader may well find a terrific read. I did enjoy the book, but not as much as I thought I would.

The plot itself revolves around a terrorist cell and the fact that intelligence suggests that there is a mole at work inside British Intelligence. Liz Carlyle is an MI5 agent and while her colleagues are scrambling to avert a terrorist strike, Liz must find out who the mole is, and what their intentions are before it is too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Not Great, 24 May 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Stella Rimington joined the Security Service (MI5) in 1965 and during her career she worked in all the main fields of the Service's responsibilities - counter-subversion, counter-espionage and counter-terrorism - and became successively Director of all three branches. She was appointed Director-General of MI5 in 1992. She was the first woman to hold the post and the first Director-General whose name was publicly announced on appointment. Following her retirement from MI5 in 1996 she became a non-executive director of Marks and Spencer and published her autobiography.

With a background like that you would think the author would find writing a book full of authentic facts a stroll in the park and I am sure her ability to do so cannot be questioned. The characters in the book are well thought out, even those on the peripherals of the plot and the story is fast paced and well linked together, but on a personal note I just found it lacking something. However it would be wrong of me to criticise a book that another reader may well find a terrific read. I did enjoy the book, but not as much as I thought I would.

The plot itself revolves around a terrorist cell and the fact that intelligence suggests that there is a mole at work inside British Intelligence. Liz Carlyle is an MI5 agent and while her colleagues are scrambling to avert a terrorist strike, Liz must find out who the mole is, and what their intentions are before it is too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant page turner/ beach novel, 29 Aug 2006
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Secret Asset (Hardcover)
If you like spy thrillers you will almost certainaly love this book. As well as trying to stop a terrorist attack, Liz Carlyle must find an IRA mole (who infiltrated MI5, but was never activated.)

The characters are great and the story cracks along at a terrific pace. There are the usual twists and turns, and although I did guess who the mole was about half way through, there was always the chance that I was wrong (!) and it did nothing to spoil my enjoyment of the book.

Rimington also adds in some nice touches. Even characters who are only bit part players are well drawn and we find out small details about their lives and why they were in that place at that time.

If this is the kind of thing you usually enjoy then buy it! Safe houses, surveillance techniques, the inner workings of the terrorist mind, IRA informers.....this book has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The former DG's new best seller, 5 Aug 2006
This review is from: Secret Asset (Hardcover)
Reads just like an episode of Spooks, but a hundred times better.

The story isn't as fast paced as "At Risk", but it dosen't lack any of the realism.

With real locations and twist and turns on every page this sure to become a No1 best seller.

Richard & Judy need to review this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent thriller !, 1 Nov 2008
By 
Ann Fairweather (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I started reading Rimington with her first book 'At risk', where I found the conclusion a real let down. Then I carried on with her latest 'Dead Line' and again exact same phenomenon,a complete anti-climax ending. Still there is something I like in Rimington's thrillers because I moved on to 'Secret Asset' and this time right on target ! The two-strand plot is riveting, Liz Carlyle is fleshed out very convincingly and the whole book is a completely gripping success !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rivetting Rimington, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Michael Reeves "purse strings" (Cardiff Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a superb writer Stella Rimington is! Undoubtedly her stay with MI5 has helped her enormously but that said, what a rivetting read! Every page challenges you to put the book down - action from start to finish, well worth the value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect beach novel, 7 April 2007
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If you like spy thrillers you will almost certainaly love this book. As well as trying to stop a terrorist attack, Liz Carlyle must find an IRA mole (who infiltrated MI5, but was never activated.)

The characters are great and the story cracks along at a terrific pace. There are the usual twists and turns, and although I did guess who the mole was about half way through, there was always the chance that I was wrong (!) and it did nothing to spoil my enjoyment of the book.

Rimington also adds in some nice touches. Even characters who are only bit part players are well drawn and we find out small details about their lives and why they were in that place at that time.

If this is the kind of thing you usually enjoy then buy it! Safe houses, surveillance techniques, the inner workings of the terrorist mind, IRA informers.....this book has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spymistress doesn't quite Hit the Mark, 19 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. S. J. Bonsor "bonsor2" (Horley, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secret Asset (Hardcover)
At the very least it would be impossible to fault the authenticity of this novel. Rimington's former life as the head of MI5 gives this the pedigree of someone who clearly knows what she's talking about.

The day to day details of the UK's Security Services are deftly written: all the interview and investigative procedures ring true and Rimington also has a good eye for character and motivation.

The plot twist is quite novel but the denouement leaves a lot to be desired- it's as if a kind of real-life reticence kicks in: what is reqired is the unbuttoned fantasy of a hollywood plot to create the kind of climax most readers have come to expect. No doubt the author knows what is real and is unwilling to suspend disbelief.

I enjoyed this book, and would not discourage the interested reader from giving it a go. My advice to Ms Rimington on writing the next one would be: keep the authentic detail, stick with your characterisations, but don't be afraid to spice up the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underpowered, 12 Nov 2006
By 
Claretta (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Secret Asset (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this, and it's certainly very readable, but unlike other Amazon reviewers I found it rather underpowered. The ending was definitely a let-down - I had the feeling Stella Rimington was struggling to bring the book to a conclusion, and I didn't find the character of Liz as compelling as in the previous book. Wetherby, her boss, is an interesting character, and I hope we'll see more of him and find out more about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a decent thriller, 18 Aug 2014
This is quite a decent novel written by somebody who was in the trade, so to speak, and clearly knows the world she is describing. The plot is believable, though the ending seemed like a bit of a let-down, and the writing very competent. Personally, I found it a little slow to get going, and felt that it needed spicing up a bit. I know it doesn't directly affect the story, but I also found some of the bizarre names, like 'Peggy Kinsolving', irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret Asset
Secret Asset by Stella Rimington (Hardcover - 3 Aug 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews