Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless
Can it really be 30 years since the first Wilt book? And isn't it about 10 years since the last Tom Sharpe book?
While this is not up there with the classic Sharpe books, it still a decent read. In some respects this could have been written back in the 70s as half the characters still inhabit that timeless Tom Sharpe world where people still keep the words 'blighter'...
Published on 17 May 2005 by A. Skudder

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RIP Wilt - alive but concussed
In a South Bank Show special about Tom Sharpe a couple of years ago, the great man was asked about his very slow output in recent years. Two problems were at the root: a serious heart condition and equally serious writer's block. Sharpe told Melvyn Bragg that he'd used his barbecue to burn about 1500 pages of text on the grounds that it didn't make him laugh. He also...
Published on 11 May 2005 by Andy Millward


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RIP Wilt - alive but concussed, 11 May 2005
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In a South Bank Show special about Tom Sharpe a couple of years ago, the great man was asked about his very slow output in recent years. Two problems were at the root: a serious heart condition and equally serious writer's block. Sharpe told Melvyn Bragg that he'd used his barbecue to burn about 1500 pages of text on the grounds that it didn't make him laugh. He also described his humour as "juvenile." Be that as it may, at his best Sharpe has been truly inspired, creating edgy mayhem and scream-out-loud laughter that few if any writer could match - consume and discard humourous literature par excellence.
So it's with heavy heart that I can confirm Sharpe's waning powers, based on the evidence presented by Wilt in Nowhere. The plotting devices and characterisations are as vivid as ever - Sharpe's instinct for farce is still as strong as ever. But the laughter is but a pale shadow of his finest achievements. The 1500 discarded pages must have made grim reading indeed if the final volume of Wilt's adventures is anything to go by.
The two separate plotlines - Eva and quads in the USA, Wilt on a walking tour and for much of the book in deep concussion, fails to add up to a coherent whole, and lacks much of the edge and sense of orchestrated debate displayed in earlier Wilt epics. If the moral of the tale is anywhere, Wilt in Nowhere says that taking an unambitious family holiday prevents chaos! Sharpe appears to said everything worth saying.
Furthermore, Wilt's arch adversary Inspector Flint has a comparatively minor role to play, though readers will be gratified to know his understanding of the Wilts is no greater now than ever before, albeit infinitely more advanced than his over-promoted peer, Hodge.
It's disappointing to see a once great writer well below his peak powers, and I wish Tom Sharpe a happy retirement. But I'd sooner remember him by earlier books, those that had me helpless with laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spark nearly dead, 17 May 2005
I normally do my reading in bad late at night. Some 20 years ago the bed shook regularly with laughter and giggles and my eyes frequently went out of focus through tears of mirth. As another reader says one dared not read Tom Sharpe on public transport for fear of uncontrollable fits of giggles. How I looked forward to the recent book after such a lengthy gap in time. But, such disappointment in the end. No uncontrollable giggles, no bursting guffaws, only a slight wimper of enjoyment and an occasional smile. Alas, all good things come to an end and history cannot be repeated. Wilt is dead, long live...... no, Wilt is dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 17 May 2005
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Can it really be 30 years since the first Wilt book? And isn't it about 10 years since the last Tom Sharpe book?
While this is not up there with the classic Sharpe books, it still a decent read. In some respects this could have been written back in the 70s as half the characters still inhabit that timeless Tom Sharpe world where people still keep the words 'blighter' and 'swine' in their vocabulary and use them regularly. At the same time there are still characters with a more earthy choice of words, and you would not guess this was written by someone pushing 80.
The only real disappointment is that some of the set pieces are not developed as much as they could have been. For example, the hunting lodge with the sound system which could double as a weapon of mass destruction and the garden full of heavy weaponry: the scene is set for a major disaster, but it doesn't meet its potential.
The style is typical Sharpe, apart from a bit more restraint, but a slightly restrained Tom Sharpe is still a lot more riotous than most writers, so don't let it put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wilt wilting................., 7 Nov 2005
By A Customer
As a fan of Tom Sharpe, and the Wilt books in particular, I looked foward to this book. It raised a few smiles, but it is no where near the level of previous Wilt novels. Really it was like wandering down memory lane with an old friend, talking about the good old days.
I'd really only recommended it it if you've already read the previous books, and the original 'Wilt' in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISSAPOINTED, 13 Aug 2006
By 
Kenneth Nutt "NUTTY" (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read all Tom's novels over the past 26 yrs, and a great fan,i was dissapointed in his latest,i just raised the odd smile,whereas before i would laugh out loud on public transport even,but not this one.New readers to Tom,must not be put off,and will be well rewarded by reading all his other hilarious yarns from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looked forward to this new Wilt but........................., 4 May 2005
Having read all of Tom Sharpe I looked forward to the new Wilt with much anticipation. I'm afraid to say that some of the plot went awol to the point of being confusing. More frustratingly there was not enough Wilt in the book !! His run ins with Inspector Flint in previous Wilts were hilarious.
Overall it was a good read but not side splittingly funny as other Sharpe books have been.
If you want to read a hilarious Wilt read the First in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wilted, 14 July 2006
'Wilt In Nowhere' finds our hero searching for the 'real England', but losing his way in spectacular fashion. Sadly appropriate, as this book starts promisingly, but loses its way after just a few chapters. While mildly amusing throughout, it doesn't even come anywhere close to the giddy heights of the laugh-out-loud-funny original 'Wilt'. Newcomers to the series would be well advised to start at the beginning before picking up the latest instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wilt is Nowhere, 24 Dec 2007
By 
Christopher Slade (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was disappointed with this latest excursion by Tom Sharpe into the land of Henry Wilt. Previous instalments, especially "Wilt" and "Wilt on High" have seen our misfortunate Tech Lecturer battle, humorously with the bureaucracy of institutions and situations generated by his own approach to life. This time in "Wilt in Nowhere" Henry Wilt is no more that a bit part player in a set of scenarios loosely linked by the Wilt family, in fact Wilt is Nowhere. The clever humour that Tom Sharpe has generated in previous books has been replaced an increase in "coarse" language a move that can be seen in a number of less able comedians today and is supposed to reflect common speech. Hopefully this drop in standard is only a blip and any future instalments will again rise to the previous high and humorous standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wilt In Nowhere, 19 Jan 2007
By 
A. Wallington (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Blot on the Landscape, was original witty, funny. This Tom Sharpe offering failed to live up to the reviews offered on the sleeve. I was bought this as a Christmas present but have to say was very disappointed and rather fed up with the 'F' word everywhere. Not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 27 Nov 2005
By 
Vicky Banham (Taunton, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I just wish I had read some of these reviews before I bought the book. Having found Porterhouse Blue so funny and finding a book that makes me laugh out loud a rarity, I went straight for this one without my usual dip into the Amazon review pages which I really appreciate. Had it not been so short (and it is even shorter than it seems because of a serious waste of paper caused by insisting on starting each new and miniscule chapter on a right hand page)I would have broken a life-long habit and not bothered finishing it once I had started. It is crude, shallow, uninteresting and worst of all unfunny. Wilt has not improved with age and should have been left where he was when the author was at the height of his powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wilt in Nowhere
Wilt in Nowhere by Tom Sharpe (Hardcover - 2 Sep 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews