Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
89
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2010
I was looking forward to reading this and laughing out loud as i've done with many of his other books (Grantchester Grind especially), but this one was just not funny. I kept turning the pages expecting to suddenly be knocked sideways by a hysterically funny moment, but none came, then it was the end. Even the storyline was not particularly good there seemed no point to it really. Disappointing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
With each passing decade since the 1980s, Tom Sharpe's books appear to have deteriorated further. The South African novels were brilliant, as were the first three Wilt books (1 and 3 more than 2 in my view) and titles such as Blott on the Landscape. Often furnished with surprisingly intricate plots, they gripped me and also could always made me laugh out loud. And even when, for instance, Vintage Stuff (1982) was to some degree a repeat of The Throwback (1978), it was done with such style and colour that it could still convice. Grantchester Grind (1995) and The Midden (1996) were a step down, but with the noughties (Wilt from Nowhere and The Gropes (2009)) came little more than a re-hash of old themes, with few if any laughs and left.

To me, The Wilt Inheritance is Sharpe's nadir. To begin with the title: whose inheritance? The poor dead uncle's? Edward's? None of this is clear. Plots points are cut off in mid-way, the ending is terribly rushed (by page 140 of 149 I could not see how this story was to be wrapped up) and although the usual Sharpe stereotypes are all over the place, nowhere does he make much use of them. As another observer remarked, this is more pastiche than authentic Sharpe, and it begs the question whether the (by now very old) writer wrote it by himself. One paragraph literally occurs twice (about Clarissa's uncle being buried on the estate), suggesting that no one involved had much interest in the story anyhow. And then there's a very unlikely all-over happy ending, which clashes uncomfortably with Henry Wilt's bittersweet fate in the other books.

If you treasure the first three Wilt books, avoid this one (or it predecessor).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
delivered early and in perfect condition. the story itself is a little disappointing as it seems to be scraping the bottom of the barrel regarding henry wilt and his family. not one of tom sharpes best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2011
I am a huge fan of Tom Sharpe's earlier books, but this does not live up to the original Wilt or the first two sequels. There are no laugh-out-loud moments at all and while the situations Wilt finds himself in have always been absurd, this one just seems plain stupid and pointless.

The book seemed promising at first, with the plotlines involving the antics of the quads, Eva's attempts at social climbing and the landed gentry with a dubious bloodline and a meddlesome uncle, but none of them came to anything. The hints that Sir George might not be who he claims to be, the mysterious secret "bathroom", the plans made by the irate teachers to get the quads expelled from their school are all ideas that are introduced and then just dropped. Wilt's old adversary, Inspector Flint, seems to have been written into a couple of paragraphs as an afterthought, and there is very little interaction between Wilt and his new adversary, the idoitic boy he is supposed to be teaching. More time is spent recounting a dull academic meeting in which we learn that Wilt's job is safe, having had no reason to believe it was ever in jeopardy, and describing Eva's drive to collect the quads from school.

I read on, waiting for the moment that Wilt would be landed in it up to his neck and eventually come out on top having outwitted all those who had conspired against him, but when everything finally came to a head I realised I was very close to the end of the book. Instead of the usual struggle to restore sanity, all misunderstandings are cleared up in a few pages and there is none of the expected satisfaction of seeing Wilt triumph.

I intend to re-read the original Wilt as soon as possible!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
I am an avid fan of Sharpe's books and dip into what I regard as his best works (Porterhouse, Blott, The Throwback, Riotous Assembly etc) on a regular basis, but my copy of The Wilt Inheritance is being given to the Oxfam shop.

I found The Wilt Inheritance to be a disappointing and boring book. It lacks the creative and intelligent humour and style of Sharpe's early works. The plot was poor and Sharpe seemed to be making a clangingly obvious - yet lazy and actually rather mundane - attempt to shock. I am grateful that this plodding book is so brief.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
I normally love Tom Sharpe's writing, though with this one I was quite disappointed. It seemed full of lost opportunities, somehow.I stuck with it through the usual range of strange situations, but all the time feeling this could have been done better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a bit of a return to form after the very disappointing "Gropes", but it is a very short book, Just over 300 pages and in quite large type-face. It is amazing that Tom Sharpe, at the age of 83 is still able to produce the goods, although The Wilt Inheritance, while pleasingly diverting, will not be remembered with the same affection as his earlier novels.

Here we have the usual ingredients, Over-bearing women, outrageous characters and utter mayhem. Wilt is forced by his wife to take a summer job teaching a half-wit History, while his wife and their four vile daughters get a free holiday on the grounds of the estate where Wilt will be teaching. Cue a magistrate with an obsession for fat women, a psychotic teenager and a nymphomaniac coming up against the members of the Wilt family.

So not bad, but not one of the classic Sharpe novels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Typical Sharpe, not his greatest by any means, the climax is not as compelling as some others and the denoument is sudden and disappointing but it's a quick easy read with some good giggles along the way. Not the Sharpe book to start with, if you haven't read the rest then start with his earliest and work forwards, his best comedy was in Riotous Assembly, Indecent Exposure and the first Wilt novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
If you are a fan of Tom Sharpe, you will love this, Another episode in the life of poor Wilt. V.funny, well crafted plot, I read this in one day whilst on holiday, perfect grin factor reading. Recommended. 8-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2011
Having read all of Tom Sharpe's previous books I was looking forward to this one. What a let down. It is as if the book has been written by someone else. It is boring,unfunny, has a dreadful plot and has none of the sparkle and wit of his previous work.
I must admit that with each new book the quality has slowly dropped (his earlier books were brilliant) but this one hasn't dropped it has plummeted. If you're a fan of Tom Sharpe's previous work DON'T buy this one it is such a dissapointment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.