Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars real tragic lives
A touching, harrowing contribution to the misery memoir genre - the story of one man's struggle with sexual inadequacy, his fears of repressed homosexuality, and the humiliation his dreadful flatulence daily heaps on him. Anyone who has a heart should buy this book out of social concern.
Published on 3 Jun 2010 by Mr. A. R. Harrowell

versus
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity
In the words of Soren Kierkegaard, "The most terrible fight is not when there is one opinion against another, the most terrible is when two men say the same thing -- and fight about the interpretation, and this interpretation involves a difference of quality." I cannot help that this terrible fight must come to exist between those foremost modern thinkers, Richard...
Published on 7 May 2007 by L. Davison


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars real tragic lives, 3 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Littlejohn's Britain (Paperback)
A touching, harrowing contribution to the misery memoir genre - the story of one man's struggle with sexual inadequacy, his fears of repressed homosexuality, and the humiliation his dreadful flatulence daily heaps on him. Anyone who has a heart should buy this book out of social concern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity, 7 May 2007
By 
L. Davison "conspirator" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Littlejohn's Britain (Hardcover)
In the words of Soren Kierkegaard, "The most terrible fight is not when there is one opinion against another, the most terrible is when two men say the same thing -- and fight about the interpretation, and this interpretation involves a difference of quality." I cannot help that this terrible fight must come to exist between those foremost modern thinkers, Richard Littlejohn and Jeremy "I like cars" Clarkson. And when it does, the difference of quality will surely favour Clarkson because he did that DVD of crashing things into caravans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


181 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beguiling,, 15 May 2007
This review is from: Littlejohn's Britain (Hardcover)
Top flight! Once more John LittleRichard hits the nail on the head, we're losing what made this country great - hack journalism.

In a deftly coded satire on modern journalism Littlejohn reminds us of The Daily Mail's support of Oswald Mosley and the British Union of Fascists.

With his continual reference to 'recycling nazis' and 'the country our grandparents fought for' he brilliantly alludes to the papers owner Lord Rothermere, a friend and supporter of both Benito Mussolini and Adolf Hitler, which influenced the Mail's political stance toward them up to 1939.

If you like LittleJohns opinions I urge you to get somebody to read it out aloud for you, priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


145 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devastating, 8 May 2007
This review is from: Littlejohn's Britain (Hardcover)
Devastating. Through a series of extravagantly counterintuitive detournements, deliberate solecisms and a fresh and shocking schizoid logic, Littlejohn delicately intimates his troubled relationship with his own sexuality and his anomie in the face of a late capitalist society that has yet to afford him either respect or love. A startling account of spiritual desolation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark, twisting and exhilarating masterpiece, 12 May 2007
By 
P. Nattress (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Littlejohn's Britain (Hardcover)
'Littlejohn's Britain' is the third instalment of the eclectic 'Littlejohn Mysteries', and arguably the best yet. As the novel commences we are reintroduced to maverick sleuth Richard Littlejohn; a straight-talking, no-nonsense freelance detective who stops at nothing to get answers. But Littlejohn has changed: no longer the bright-eyed optimist he once was, the events of the previous book, Murder at Mbongo Hall, have left him embittered and disillusioned with the job he once loved. However, it's not long before an anonymous tip-off from a civil servant draws Littlejohn deep into the heart of a political conspiracy which goes all the way to Downing Street.

Tightly written and highly exhilarating, 'Littlejohn's Britain' rockets along at the pace of a runaway train and never lets up. From the initial discovery of the dead prostitute ("She had it coming," a gruff Littlejohn observes with peerless humour) through to the unspeakable evil of the government's nefarious 'recycling' scheme, every turn of the page brings a shocking new twist which will never fails to excite. In particular, the climatic showdown atop the London Eye is worthy of literature's finest.

'Littlejohn's Britain' is rife with the trademark humour which has already made the series a modern classic ("bloody speed cameras!" should be the nation's new catchphrase), but it also explores a darker and more sinister side of Littlejohn's past. Tales of drinking, debauching and even a fleeting homosexual encounter are all gradually peeled away as the story progresses to reveal a complex and ultimately tragic character. With the addition of some truly horrific villains -- the scheming 'Two Jags' Prescott, PC-gone-mad Trevor Phillips, and psychotic gay Johann Hari -- the recipe is complete, and the result is some of the greatest work ever committed to print. 'Littlejohn's Britain' is simply a masterpiece; essential reading for anyone who can handle the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 11 May 2007
This review is from: Littlejohn's Britain (Hardcover)
There are those who credit Plato with defining that obscure and fluctuating artefact which has been termed the 'western mind'. Perhaps we might admit the philosophies of Jesus of Galillee and Freidrich Nietzche into that elite club of thinkers who have contributed to its further elucidation - but never before has a work emerged of which we can triumphantly declaim: Plato is obscured, we have our new republic!

With a lacerating intelligence Littlejohn dissects his subject, exposing for all time the inadequacies of those who would make us weak. Let us move forward. Let us see this not as the end to the process of social thought (though that is, perhaps, what it is) but the beginning instead of a new era, a new politics, a new humanity. There is no more right and left, there is only Right, that blighted syllable now reclaimed for all time by Littlejohn - a man for whom the lost titles of Fuhrer and Duce can finally be taken back from the grubby paws of history.

Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Dickens, more important than the Bible, 7 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Littlejohn's Britain (Hardcover)
I can't thank Littlejohn enough for this incredible book - it completely changed my life. I mean, I always thought that speed-cameras were just a helpful way of reducing road deaths by careless drivers, but now I see that they just mindlessly stop people from driving as fast as they want - how blind I was before! And recycling - what a complete waste of time, it's political correctness gone mad!

I'm sending a copy to my MP - hopefully we can reverse some of the equal rights laws for gays that the dark, evil Blair years have ushered in.

Love you Littlejohn! I want to kiss you on the face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book by a truly great man, 20 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Littlejohn's Britain (Hardcover)
What a fantastic book. Richard Littlejohn reminds me of Winston Churchill, he wasn't scared to say what he thought! What a brave man, ranting about Britain from his gated mansion in Florida. My two greatest idols in life are Adolf Hitler and Richard Littlejohn. LITTLEJOHN FOR PM!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond words, 9 May 2007
This review is from: Littlejohn's Britain (Hardcover)
Wittgenstein opined that "whereof one cannot speak, thereof one should remain silent". But John Little is a greater philosopher still - he cannot remain silent nor should he. This is a towering work of political philosophy - a diatribe against the ignorant, intolerant & plain stupid: those who castigate the defenceless & weak; those who would deny him his right to a life of extraordinary homosexual promiscuity & depravity that would make the most liberal amongst us blush. Only the Daily Mail would be brave enough to publish the man who tells it how it really is. Read him and weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for opening my eyes, 12 May 2007
This review is from: Littlejohn's Britain (Hardcover)
Before reading this book I, like many people, believed Richard Littlejohn to represent the Daily Mail branch of the National Front.
But understanding more of the man helps you see Britain through his eyes - and boy has he seen it all.
The descriptions of his home life are truly fascinating - the image of him sitting in his bedroom dressed as a policeman playing "Second Life" and screaming at his mother that he wants sausages for dinner will stay with you long after you have put this brilliant book down.
You couldn't make it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Littlejohn's Britain
Littlejohn's Britain by Richard Littlejohn (Hardcover - 3 May 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews