Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK
invaluable if you are interested in upcycling old furniture. I have lent the book to a friend who is equally impressed!
Published 17 months ago by G. Hood-Henry

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars UNIMPRESSED. OUTDATED.
I was extremely disappointed in this book though perhaps 25 years ago when it was written I may have felt otherwise... but maybe not!

Obviously everything in it is very 1980S and boy, does it look it - very outdated! I bought infinitely better books at the time and up to the late 1990s and today there are certainly numerous ones around that are much more...
Published 13 months ago by Apricotflowers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars UNIMPRESSED. OUTDATED., 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Decorative Paint Techniques: A Step-by-Step Source Book of Paint Finishes and Interior Decoration Techniques (Hardcover)
I was extremely disappointed in this book though perhaps 25 years ago when it was written I may have felt otherwise... but maybe not!

Obviously everything in it is very 1980S and boy, does it look it - very outdated! I bought infinitely better books at the time and up to the late 1990s and today there are certainly numerous ones around that are much more inspirational, up to date/contemporary and visually more interesting and exciting.

Annie Sloan's name and shabby-chic painted furniture is very fashionable now so I'm sure many people will think about buying this... but I'd advise them to check the FIRST publication date beforehand and buy one of her more up-to-date titles.

These should enable you to create the techniques and finishes you've seen and admired, and achieve the look she is famous for NOW - which in my opinion,this book will very definitely NOT do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 6 April 2013
By 
G. Hood-Henry "AmazonFan" (Northamptonshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Decorative Paint Techniques: A Step-by-Step Source Book of Paint Finishes and Interior Decoration Techniques (Hardcover)
invaluable if you are interested in upcycling old furniture. I have lent the book to a friend who is equally impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a practical resurce book, 18 Feb 2013
By 
D. Ellis "jacules 2" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Decorative Paint Techniques: A Step-by-Step Source Book of Paint Finishes and Interior Decoration Techniques (Hardcover)
Knowing alot of painters and decorators locally i was able to converse with them of the different a varity of techniques which they had forgotten about and needed some help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars this will be a good book., 18 July 2014
This review is from: Complete Book of Decorative Paint Techniques: A Step-by-Step Source Book of Paint Finishes and Interior Decoration Techniques (Hardcover)
I had hoped to find more in it about painting furniture but if wall painting is what you want, this will be a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews