Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2009
Having also bought the Hutchinson book of Stories to be read aloud, I bought this to complement it. It does not disappoint. Having all the favourite stories of your childhood plus some new ones is fantastic. Some stories are short, some are longer and you can dip in and out as you choose. Perfect for bedtime reading. You really feel you are passing on a tradition to your children by sharing with them some of the classic fairy tales which they, in turn will pass on to the next generation when their time comes. This book is large and full of fantastic illustrations. It would make an excellent gift for anyone from a baby right up to about the age of 10.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
i bought this book after having had the 'treasury of childrens literature', which both me and the kids loved. the treasury of fairy tales is equally fab - when i was a child i read lots of fairy tales and it was lovely to find them again as an adult and introduce them to my own kids. it has stories of varying lengths and various complexity, so you can read it with younger and older children. the illustrations are by lots of different artists, and plenty of them, so again lots of variety. a really good book for taking on holiday with the kids for a week, knowing you'll not have to read the same one twice. particulary like 'the wild swans' and 'the twelve dancing princesses'. not so keen on 'the red shoes', a very unpleasant moral. 'the snow queen' is good for reading to a sickly child. beware of reading 'the little match girl' if you cry at mawkish endings...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2009
i bought this as a gift for a little girl. it has lovely illustrations and has all the old favourite fairy stories. nicely bound.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
I bought this to have to read to my baby daughter both for now and for years to come.

The collection itself is ok, although not a patch on the old Readers Digest 2 volume collection which my parents had when I was a child, whch, in addition to most of the stories here, also had excellent mid eastern tales from the Arabian Nights and other cultures (but is sadly out of print).

We're only 4 stories in so far, but the language has been very disappointing, with more than a whiff of political correctness, which ruins things. Goldilocks and the 3 bears for example: used to be daddy bear, mummy bear and baby bear; now it's big bear, medium sized bear and little bear. Red Riding Hood: "Granny isn't up to snuff". Huh? all sorts of things going though my mind reading that. And "don't tarry"; please, use terms children can understand (like "linger").

Hopefully they'll get better as we progress.

On the plus side, the pictures are good so far.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
This book lived up to my expectations. It is suitable to read to my newly 6 year old granddaughter and she can read it for herself as her ability progresses. It contains a good mix of well known Fairy Tales with some more obscure ones. It will last her for several years.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
I bought this for my 4 year olds. So far I like it best out of the fairy tales books we have; Dk first fairy tales and others. Each story is retold by a different writer and illustrator. There are some of our favourites like Val Biro and Rachel Isadora. The stories are not watered down, like in some collections- Little Red Riding Hood and two of the three pigs do get eaten by the wolf and all of Henny Penny's friends are eaten by the fox.
My kids love it and want to read story after story. It is a good follow on from 20th century children's literature treasury. The stories are arranged in order of length and complexity, so those towards the end of the book may be more suitable for slightly older children.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
A great collection of all the old favorites which will keep the bed time story tradition going.

Makes a special gift which will be really appreciated.

Is well produced and bound and looks expensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
bought the book for my bBY NEICE AND SHE REALY ENJOYS THE BOOK BEEING READ TO HER AND LOVES THE PICTURE WHICH ARE VERY GOOD,WOULD RECOMEND TO ANYONE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
My girls love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
The book in itself is beautiful and you can find absolutely all the stories that you liked (or disliked) when you were a child. Personally, I'm not a fan of the drawings but it is still nicely illustrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse