Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

  • Roots
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars92
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2014
Compelling,sad but absorbing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2016
Good read..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
I was really surprised to see how many reviews there still are of this work when the whole historical basis of it has been completely blown apart and shown to be false. There are a number of areas that any would be reader should be aware of...Haley had to pay another author, Courlander who wrote "The African" substantial damages for plaigarism, there has been a BBC documentary equally as damning and a lot of work by an investigative journalist, Nobile, which all show that this book, no matter how well written, might be better classed as fiction, and unfortunately not original fiction either....
66 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
This is an amazing read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
This book will change your life. It isn't often that a single novel can move me to tears but this book did. Beautifully written, it grabs the reader from the beginning and never lets up. It is a revelation to the way the slave trade operated and brings shame to an era that had the audacity to call itself Englightened. I don't care whether the majority of it is fiction, distorted oral history or an amalgam of facts from many sources, the book has a truth about it which rises above all criticism and it has continued to haunt me since I turned the last page.
If you only read one book in your life then read Roots and then reflect on issues of brotherhood, humanity and the greatness of men's spirit, as I have done.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2001
I borrowed this book from a friend not knowing what to expect. I'll return it knowing that I have just read what is probably the most moving true story ever written.
I defy anyone not feel sad as the family moves further from its roots as each generation passes. And I defy any white readers not to feel a little shame at the colour of their skin at one point or another during the book...I did.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
This book should be called Alex Haley’s Fraudulent Roots, it was plagiarized from Harold Courlander’s The African a 1967 novel, look it up Alex Haley has apologized and been sued for the fraud, but other than that it’s a good story.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Thank you for fast delivery, great value book is a great read, going to the Gambia so wanted to find out the history of slavery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Fantastic book even though pre owned the hardback quality is great. Definitely one book that will stay with me for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse