Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 17 May 2010
This review is from: Practical Golf (Paperback)
This has been one of my 'bibles' for a very long time. My edition is one of the early ones with black and white drawings to explain what's what - which is fine by me. I see on the cover of this latest edition that the illustrations are by Anthony Ravielli who did the illustrations for my edition. The book gives simple and clear explanations of the whole game in a sound analytical style. He explains for each shot shape (pull, push, slice, hook, straight) what the club is doing (club direction and face angle) and what it is with your swing that causes that (swing plane and timing - legs too slow or too fast or whatever). These explanations have stayed with me for years. The 2nd best teacher is watching the flight of the ball - it pretty much tells you everything you need to know. The best teacher is your local PGA pro of course. There are also useful sections on awkward lies/ stances, playing the game, etc. A very useful all round book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacobs the Genius, 2 April 2011
This review is from: Practical Golf (Paperback)
The best golf book I've ever read. Demystifies the essentials of golf and allowed me to recognise the sources of my bad play.
No fancy stop-motion photos etc, just a few simple diagrams/drawings.
Promised to get rid of my push slice and did so.
No wonder John Jacobs is still regarded as a master teacher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Golf (Paperback)
This book is so difficult to obtain in the UK but there was no problem from USA and the service was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good basic instruction, 8 Mar 2013
By 
R. S. Wallace (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Golf (Paperback)
There were times last season when I felt my golf was going nowhere, even after a couple or so leasons from the Pro. Over a pint the guys suggested that John Jacobs" book, tho' old, was perhaps the best in basic instructional technique ie if you hook rather than draw the cause is ------ It seems to have worked. Aye right the new fitted set of Ping Ansers may have contributed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... instuction books and can honestly say this is my favourite. Highlights common fault on downswing which personally helped ..., 10 July 2014
By 
john moylan (dublin, ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Golf (Paperback)
I have lots of golf instuction books and can honestly say this is my favourite. Highlights common fault on downswing which personally helped me a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational guide to playing golf well., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Golf (Hardcover)
Whilst this golf instruction book was first published in 1972 it remains one of the best sources of golf instruction on the market.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars practical golf, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Golf (Paperback)
First class book easy reading and easy to understand would recommend to the learned amateur..... blah blah blah blah Bob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Golf manual, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Golf (Paperback)
This is the best golf instruction manual I have ever seen.
He make sit so simple.
However you ned to be a golfer to get the best from it.
Not really for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Practical Golf
Practical Golf by Ken Bowden (Hardcover - 12 Jun 1972)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews