Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop scrolling and buy it
If you're looking to start out in building regs, or anything architecture related this is your bible. It covers all the basics to do with building construction and as an architect moving from design into producing construction drawings it is a great start.
Published 10 months ago by TE

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerously out of date in too many places
I have spent most of my career as an Architect in practice and now lecture in Construction Technology. While this book is well written with good, clear illustrations, it has only been updated in a piecemeal fashion, so unless you know your construction (in which case you don't need a book at this level) a new student of construction management, architecture etc will not...
Published 15 months ago by VBird


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerously out of date in too many places, 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook (Paperback)
I have spent most of my career as an Architect in practice and now lecture in Construction Technology. While this book is well written with good, clear illustrations, it has only been updated in a piecemeal fashion, so unless you know your construction (in which case you don't need a book at this level) a new student of construction management, architecture etc will not be able to distinguish what is up to date and what is not. If you follow the index link to lintels, for example, you will see a whole bunch of lintels which were fine in the 1970s, but would not have been legal to use in UK construction for the last 20 years; another example - the section on site surveys was described by a colleague as "antique". The book is riddled with this sort of thing; it is dangerous and should not be in circulation. I have taken these matters up with the publishers without success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop scrolling and buy it, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook (Paperback)
If you're looking to start out in building regs, or anything architecture related this is your bible. It covers all the basics to do with building construction and as an architect moving from design into producing construction drawings it is a great start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British bulding construction how it is, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook (Paperback)
I have owned copies of this book since they were first published . It is well written with very good illustrations , only bettered by the builders details sheets which are no longer in print . I use the book as a quick reference and to show clients , Architects , Tradesmen etc before works commence. The great thing about the books is that they have not thrown out the baby with the bath water. So when working on refurbishment work you can get a really good idea of what you are likely to find. My only complaint is that there is not a hard backed copy .
A must on any builders book shelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook (Paperback)
If you are looking for a book to cover all the basic construction details then this is the one to get
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for students but for professional..., 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook (Paperback)
The book is written more like a student book then a handbook. I would expect more examples from practice which could be useful for professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Comprehensive, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Paul FitzGerald (Hailsham, E.Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook (Paperback)
As an ex-teacher and chief examiner of technical and building drawing I love the hand drawings and stencil-font style. This 9th edition has still got the look and feel of a 1950's hand written technical book but with the latest up-to-date information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 24 Aug 2014
By 
J. Windress "J." (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook (Paperback)
Really surprised at this book. Firstly the thickness of it, I was expecting 370 odd pages but this is over 800!

It's really informative and when I qualified as a domestic plumber I wish I had this book to hand, it's more detailed than my actual dedicated plumbing books.

A really good purchase and will hopefully aid me through my training as a Civil Engineer this September.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars construction books, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook (Paperback)
very good book to use as reference for studying your choosen course easy to understand and well illustrated and a must for everyone studying construction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook (Paperback)
Thank you! I love the book.It is helping me a lot at work..since I have to learn how to built in England!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb resource, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Construction Handbook (Paperback)
I chose this book as I teach construction skills and needed a terminology resource for my learners and this is exactly what I need. With excellent line drawing I can show them why a purlin is called a purlin and where why and how it is used .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Building Construction Handbook
Building Construction Handbook by Roger Greeno (Paperback - 15 Oct 2012)
Used & New from: £18.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews