Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Architects Pocket Book - 4th Ed -
This book has been a constant desk fellow of mine throughout my architectural education and work in practice.

Inside is a well considered series of chapters documenting the day to day considerations when working in the construction industry. As a quick reference supplement to my working this title has been invaluable. The problem with any architectural...
Published on 25 April 2011 by SJ-H

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Architects Handbook
I bought this book having borrowed from friends. But am disappointed that I chose the kindle version because the reproduction quality of the sketches is quite poor. I have even looked at the book on my ipad where the screen is a little larger and it is not
much better. If I was to buy again I would buy the hard copy!!
Published 18 months ago by Maria Fairhurst


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Architects Pocket Book - 4th Ed -, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
This book has been a constant desk fellow of mine throughout my architectural education and work in practice.

Inside is a well considered series of chapters documenting the day to day considerations when working in the construction industry. As a quick reference supplement to my working this title has been invaluable. The problem with any architectural resource is that the industry is constantly in motion and information is constantly updated.

It is a constant battle to try and keep up with the most recent changes to policy and regulation. Which is why i point out that this book is a supplementary guide and not a bible. It does not cover a lot of the specialisms that are encountered in regard to modern day construction. That said, the portability, detailed diagrams and extensive references make this book stand out amongst similar titles.

Having long owned a copy of the previous edition, the revised edition of the Architects Pocket book doesn't seem to contain a significant change in content. As the previous review points out, there appears to be only 5 extra pages. Therefore if you already own a copy of the 3rd, i wouldn't see the absolute need in purchasing this new edition, provided you are pragmatic about the information inside.

But for anyone new to the subject or thinking of finding a suitable quick reference, then here undoubtedly is your place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Architecture Student Must Have, 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
I bought this book at the end of first year studying architecture after borrowing friends copies for most of it. A very useful text to look up quickly correct dimensions and drawing trends of various components; only wish I'd bought it sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Collation of Data, 17 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
I like the idea of this book which gathers together a lot of data from other sources which will be useful to a Architect or Interior designer into a nice pocketable format. I guess some of the data could age quickly as building regs and standards change so may be best to check before committing to a design or specification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Architect's Pocket Book, 3 July 2011
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
I have found this little book an invaluable resource when consulting with Clients, Builders, and others during the design stage of projects. It is a store of mundane information which is vital to settle disputes, and differences of opinion. What is the size of a standard single garage? What is the mass of concrete blockwork? Stellwork information is easily to hand. It is a cracker of a book.
Sid Keeling. 3rd July 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased with service., 19 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Rowan "Wiggy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
Really fast delivery on this item. My son needed this for a future university course so it was nice to be able to buy from Amazon and put it away in plenty of time. Great little book and great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
Easy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good reference, 3 July 2014
By 
E. Lucas (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
Neat little compact informative book, a good reference fuide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Timothy Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
Very useful little book with some things missing that I would have liked to have seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Architect's Pocket Book, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
This is a great reference book and I was recommended it by a work colleague because of some of the energy statistics and information. However, as someone who has come into a housing association from a non-technical background and ended up carrying out EPCs etc, it is going to be a great help, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a knowledge of building and construction details without having had formal training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and useful, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Architect's Pocket Book (Paperback)
Good book to have around and small enough to carry in my handbag for quick referencing.

Useful information and facts which I found very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Architect's Pocket Book
Architect's Pocket Book by Charlotte Baden-Powell (Paperback - 2 Feb 2011)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews