Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
64
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2006
I am going through a career change which includes qualifying as a domestic electrician and this book has been vital in preparing myself for the courses i need to take. This is one of the most comprehensive study books i have ever read.

Everything is very clearly and logically laid out, and written in a style which is both easy to read and easy to understand. You do not need to read the book from cover to cover. I have dipped into different subjects and chapters at different times and still the meaning remains clear. The question papers at the end of each chapter are perfect for checking your understanding, making sure that you are learning the important information and not the trivia which has to be included for legal reasons!

Overall, a superb book which can be used as a revision/reference aid for experienced electricians and as a fantastic grounding in the subject for people who are starting out in the trade. Also, DIYers would be very well served by taking the time to read this book in order to fully understand what they should and shouldn't touch and why!
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
Hi All, just a warning about this book and also the advanced edition as well. These books, whilst great in their time, are no longer up to date with the current 17th edition regs. For this reason there are numerous references to the BS7671 regulations that are not accurate.

The newer editions are up to date in accordance with 17th edition regs and are very good indeed. These outdated books will cause you a LOT of extra reading if you are studying for a qualification.
66 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
This textbook is perfect as an accompaniment to studying the city & Guilds Diploma Level 2 and was originally recommended by tutors at my college to enhance my learning in the subject. Clearly written in easy to understand language, to make learning with this book a steady learning curve.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2008
I bought this book when i was doing a course in Electrical installation (C+G), this book was absolutely fantastic. Its presented in a clear and presentable manner, making it easy to understand.
Would highly recommend for any one wanting to learn about basic electrical installation work!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
A great reference for the new diploma for electrical installations.
Well set out with key facts, definitions and safety first sign posts.
Well written questions with some answers given accurately at the rear of book.
Some other answers can be found in the text.
Need occasionally to cross reference to BS7671:2008 but most regulations are mentioned within this books text.
Good clear illustration in colour.
Some information repeats i.e. safe isolation. Maybe to highlight this concept.
Multi choice & short written questions plus diagrams asked for by students to complete.
Overall, a well researched product.
Not a complete item but a very good course companion.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Excellent book content relevant for new 2365 city and guilds qualification practice questions and answers a must buy for revision and teaching.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
I have found this book to be a God send in studying for the 2365 level 2. It is written in a manner which is easy to understand and digest. The chapters of the book are laid out so as to follow the units of the level 2 exams in order, thus enabling you to easily study towards a specific unit without having to refer back and forth to different subjects. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2012
This book is a Guide to the City & Guilds 2357 course, but is NOT up to date with the current regulations: The "Green" IET 7671 2011 Amendment 1, Book covering the latest regulation amendments. In other words it's already out of date but still being printed and sold on. There are mathematical mistakes in this book that will confuse a student as well. At the moment it seems to be the only book which states it is intended for use with the 2357 course. If you follow this books examples and try to follow the reference to the NEW IET BS 7671 Regulations (amendment 1 Green Book) you will find a lot of them have been moved around or changed. This book should be amended or taken off the shelf as it is out of line with the BS 7671 regulations which it makes extensive reference to as learning material.

Yes it is a book for use with the City & Guilds 2357 course but it is definitely not up to date with the current regulations BS 7671 2008 with Amendment 1 20011. Date of this message 25 September 2012.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
I've found this book provides a good grounding for my electrical installation studies in terms of theory but for the maths and there is alot you need to know inorder to become qualified, you need a good maths book on engineering. The books im using right now are Electrical Craft Principles: v. 1 and Electrical Craft Principles: v. 2, these are what my tutor uses to teach the maths side of the course. Lots of examples in these books that will get you by. The basic theory is pretty easy, it's the maths side that most guys on my course are struggling with. I've have looked at the maths calculations books by the relevant authors but they are not as complete as whitfields books on E.C.P. (you will need both books).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
'Basic Electrical Installation Work' is something of a standard in the electricians' community. It is fairly easy to follow, but rather repetitive, indeed some of the diagrams and even some parts of the text appear several times. This is a pity, as the repetition adds nothing to the structure or content of the book, and it could have been made much more concise.
In summary: quite good technical content, but rather poorly constructed text and illustrations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)