Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turns the complex and daunting into the SIMPLE and COMPELLING., 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition (Paperback)
John is a total expert in his field and rightly so. How To Get A Job You Love (and his other works for that matter) hold unique qualities for me.

John knows how to focus your attention on what's really important and wake you up from the disempowering trap that bad jobs put us in. He doesn't insult your intelligence with overly simplistic 'just believe' jargon. He isn't afraid to tackle the more complex areas of career development. In typical John Lees style he turns the complex and challenging into the simple and compelling. THAT is why he's my go-to-guy when suggesting a book on career development and transformation. BUY IT AND READ IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone searching for fulfilling work, 7 Nov 2012
This review is from: How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition (Paperback)
As a Career Coach, this book is my main source of reference when working with clients. It takes you through all of the necessary steps that you need to take when going through a career transition towards great work and contains some great practical exercises that are simple to use. John's style is simple but very effective. I can't recommend it highly enough, although I believe I just have!
Mark Anderson, KickStart Careers Coaching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll Love this Book, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition (Paperback)
I can thoroughly recommend the latest edition of How to Get the Job You'll Love. John's 2009/10 edition was a real source of inspiration and is now a well worn and frequently read continuing source of advice and guidance. Each Chapter has something of value, whether its reviewing your career decision history, identifying your career drivers, designing the perfect job, or surfacing your unmapped talents.

From a personal perspective, John's exploration of motivated skills proves an enabling way to discover that place where you're doing what you're really good at and really enjoy doing - How powerful is that!

On the job search front there's loads of really practical hints and tips. From busting job hunting myths to using creative search strategies to developing your personal/professional networks.

Whatever your perspective on career development - personal and/or professional - this really is the resource for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks like it works!, 7 April 2014
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition (Paperback)
I bought this book for a friend who is venturing out into the employment market in the quest for a job after a long period with the same large organisation. Although my friend is normally sceptical about "self help" type books they are delighted with this book by John Lees. The feedback I've had is that it offers straightforward, practical advice about understanding the best type of job for you; preparing yourself to search for work; dealing with selection processes; and; above all; managing yourself effectively through all of this. There's no jargon, relatively little theory but plenty of advice about things you can actually do. It turned out this was an ideal choice of gift for my friend and it really has helped them - they already have two interviews lined up and now all they've got to do is keep on following John Lee's advice and hopefully they'll get at least one of the jobs! A clearly written, practical and "real world" text. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book you'll love!, 20 Mar 2013
This review is from: How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition (Paperback)
This book has stood the test of time. I used it in an earlier format when I was just starting out on my career and this new updated edition is brilliant. John Lees is a true career guru, he provides practical help in an inspiring way and makes the reader consider much wider horizons then they would normally have ever done for themselves. There are checklists, tests and really useful resources to tap into. This book is well worth a read - I always recommend it to those who are looking for the next job or who are just thinking about whether to do something entirely different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for job seekers and career changers, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book for anyone feeling that their current job is less than satisfactory, or for anyone contemplating a career change. With helpful exercises and activities, John Lees guides you along a path of discovery to help you better identify a job or career where you'll feel inspired and energised. You'll learn more about the constraints that are holding you back from getting a job that matches your skills, values and knowledge - and how to overcome these hurdles. There's plenty of advice on how to approach a job search, plus practicalities on CV and interview preparation. Above all, though, this book will give hope and inspiration to all those who are disillusioned or demotivated by their current roles, want to make a change, but are unsure where or how to start.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding work that you can excel at, 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition (Paperback)
John's book `How to get the job you'll love' has been a personal source of inspiration for me as I have faced restructuring and job uncertainty in recent years. It has helped me to review my career to date, address what holds me back in succeeding and identify the values, skills and knowledge that I want to bring to the workplace. Through the new edition of `How to get the job you'll love', I have learnt even more strategies and ideas on how to navigate finding meaningful work in challenging times including creative job search, developing self-employment and making use of social media. Having undertaken many of the exercises in the book, reflected on my learning and taken direct action on my career planning, I now find myself in a job which meets many of my aspirations but I have also found the confidence to seek out freelance projects which also reflect and utilise my core skills and abilities. In my opinion, this book is a comprehensive and definitive guide on how to find the work that you can excel at and find greater fulfilment not just in work but in life as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book does what it says on the tin!, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition (Paperback)
As a professional career coach I always recommend John's books and in particular the 'How To Get A Job You'll Love' series. This latest version has been updated for the current job market with information on using social media in your job search and especially helpful - how to stay resilient in these tough times. These are all areas we can improve on, whether you are looking for a new career or just want to enjoy the one you are in.

Highly recommended and easy to read and use with plenty of practical tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice with lots of detailed guidance, 9 July 2014
By 
Alan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition (Paperback)
I bought this to help some apprentices at work think about their career options - its got real world pragmatic advice, and I like the way it puts the emphasis on you to do things and find the work, not wait for it to come to you. Includes detailed advice on CVs and interviews, but also LinkedIn profiles, researching companies, and a whole lot more. The content is great, and it summarises everything in useful checklists at the back. It's not just for people at the beginning of their career either - it includes advice for people wanting or needing to shift careers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition (Paperback)
Bought this for my grand-children's benefit as anything which might help them to overcome the problem of not really knowing what thy want to do or achieve in life is to be commended. Only time will tell whether it will has helped to unlock their true potential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition
How to Get a Job You'll Love 2013-2014 Edition by John Lees (Paperback - 1 Nov 2012)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews