Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary for my course
This is one of the books on our reading list at uni. I had no idea how to look at images "properly" I either liked them, disliked them or had no preference. Now I have something to say about every image and can express an informed opinion. I can describe, interpret and evaluate which is exactly what I need to be able to do.
Published 14 months ago by Jan Toner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A standard textbook without much flair
I was a bit disappointed by this book. I bought it because it was recommended by a college lecturer but, to be perfectly honest, it failed to provide much in the way of fresh perspectives. Competently enough written and the author clearly knows a little about his subject but it did not provide the inspiration I was looking for in terms of enhancing my critical approach to...
Published 12 months ago by PhotoEcosse


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary for my course, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criticizing Photographs (Paperback)
This is one of the books on our reading list at uni. I had no idea how to look at images "properly" I either liked them, disliked them or had no preference. Now I have something to say about every image and can express an informed opinion. I can describe, interpret and evaluate which is exactly what I need to be able to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criticizing Photographs (Paperback)
I am finding this book invaluable in my photography studies. I have always found it hard to find the right words and method to analyse and criticize both paintings and photographs. This book has been a real help to me in choosing what to look for and how to describe what I feel. Would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A standard textbook without much flair, 4 Dec 2013
By 
PhotoEcosse (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criticizing Photographs (Paperback)
I was a bit disappointed by this book. I bought it because it was recommended by a college lecturer but, to be perfectly honest, it failed to provide much in the way of fresh perspectives. Competently enough written and the author clearly knows a little about his subject but it did not provide the inspiration I was looking for in terms of enhancing my critical approach to photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tool to learn viewing, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Criticizing Photographs (Paperback)
Very good methodological manual to look at photographs. In some cases a bit "mechanistic" and linear, but providing very good food for thought on the viewer's perspective on photographs.
I use it to develop my own way of looking at photographs, taking advantage of a refined methodological approach. It requires a practical translation into one's own vision and perception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criticizing Photographs (Paperback)
A great book and a must for anyone studying photography at city & guilds or higher qualification. I have found it invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Criticizing Photographs
Criticizing Photographs by Terry Barrett (Paperback - 1 May 2011)
£53.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews