Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Academic, illustrative and informative
Never before have I come across a body of text that has provided not only the tools for academic success within the subject, but inspiration for taking my own work to new levels through the intensive research Bordwell & Thompson have gone through. In my own studies 'Film Art' has been an inspiration and the summarisation of other works within it has meant less time...
Published on 5 Jan 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy it here NO DVD
They don't send you the accompanying DVD with this NEW book. It's an excellent text book but at £50 you want the whole package!
Published on 2 Sep 2012 by hopper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Academic, illustrative and informative, 5 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Film Art 6/e (Paperback)
Never before have I come across a body of text that has provided not only the tools for academic success within the subject, but inspiration for taking my own work to new levels through the intensive research Bordwell & Thompson have gone through. In my own studies 'Film Art' has been an inspiration and the summarisation of other works within it has meant less time needed on reading and more can be concentrated on putting pen to paper. A rare theoretical must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Condition, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this second hand. Arrived promptly and in excellent condition. This text book is an absolute must have for all film students. Informative chapters on editing, lighting and mis en scene. Detailed examples are provided to assist your understanding. Great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good resource!, 8 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been extremely helpful to me. It covers the basics and is easy to follow. The references to films made it even more helpful. A great buy. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for film and moving image students (9th Edn, 2010), 12 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Art: An Introduction (Paperback)
If you are studying film or moving image at university you really need to buy this book- it will be helpful throughout your degree. It is a classic in introducing the study of film form. It's comprehensive, written in clear English (very little confusing jargon),has superb illustrations, and this ninth edition brings it bang up to date. So it is worth the relatively high cost. Check out David Bordwell's blog for more film discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book in the World, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the title says, its the best. You wouldn't necessarily need the most recent edition unless your after more up to date examples and different information, but fundamentally this is great. Authored by the most well known authors this book will most definitely see you to a first class degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Film book to have and enjoy with a cup of tea. I am a film lover and also a film producer. Will def recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful as i needed this for film studies at uni and this was one of the core books i needed. Anyone interested in film will find this book very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Film Art, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought it might have been a later edition but it was in great condition so I am okay with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Book, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Art: An Introduction (Paperback)
I first encountered Film Art on my degree course and found it to be an invaluable source of information. Decades later I wanted to read it again and found the updated version just as useful and engaging. For anyone who loves film, this is a fascinating read, expertly written and full of examples from cinema around the world. The fact that I could pick up a copy second hand so cheaply was excellent - a new copy will set you back over £70.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received book has completely met my expectations. Simply love it. The content is very useful and interesting in the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Film Art: An Introduction
Film Art: An Introduction by Kristin Thompson (Paperback - 1 Jan 2010)
Used & New from: £11.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews