Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best introductory microeconomics textbook available
Don't listen to some of the reviewers here - this is a very good textbook.

The textbook is well-written and provides good, witty examples. While this textbook is an introductory textbook it isn't mind-numbingly basic (probably why some of the reviewers here don't like it) and does require a certain intellect to be able to follow. But if you can follow it you...
Published on 16 July 2009 by John Doe

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Text Book Ever
I relied on this book for a first year module ('Principles of Microeconomics') of a economics degree. I recently took the exam, 35 multiple choice questions, and thanks to this book (well, my lecturer for recommending it), it looks as though i will have to resit it (unless i get lucky of course).

It is just so badly written. The author tries to fit so much on...
Published on 24 Jan 2008 by Jason Tootle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best introductory microeconomics textbook available, 16 July 2009
Don't listen to some of the reviewers here - this is a very good textbook.

The textbook is well-written and provides good, witty examples. While this textbook is an introductory textbook it isn't mind-numbingly basic (probably why some of the reviewers here don't like it) and does require a certain intellect to be able to follow. But if you can follow it you will quickly realise that it is the best introductory microeconomics textbook around.

It must be noted though that this is an American textbook and there is not a European/UK version - therefore everything in the textbook is in US $ - don't let this put you off. Robert Frank is a brilliant economist and this is the perfect textbook if you want to be introduced to microeconomics.

As an added bonus there is an online study guide available on the publishers website for free which I recommend is used alongside the textbook to test and deeper your understanding of the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great way to learn "thinking like an economist", 8 Oct 2001
By A Customer
The author's goal of writing "Microeconomics and Behavior" has been to produce an intellectually challenging text that at the same time would be accessible and engaging to students. Whereas the majority of textbooks unfortunately seemed to focus on either one of them, he certainly succeeds in finding the right balance between the two.
The book provides all the necessary microeconomic knowledge for undergraduate students and serves as an ideal basis for further study.
Its major plus compared to the bulk of micro textbooks is definitely that it limits technical (mathematical) explanations to the minimum required without neglecting the importance of mathematics. Instead, the author regards the teaching of technical tools and the teaching of intuition as complements and intends to make readers think like an economist - supported with numerous good examples for all the fields covered.
This economic naturalism that the book wants to (and achieves to) teach makes it very special.
It covers the basic areas of consumer behaviour, theory of the firm/market structure, factor markets, general equilibrium/welfare and is furthermore divided into core and supplementary chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the lot, 31 May 2010
By 
Paul Sharpe (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very good book, makes it clear and easy to understand and was much better than other books I got on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars re: additional Microeconomics and Behaviour workbook, 18 Jan 2008
By 
D. M. Patel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would advise anyone buying this book to also purchase the accompanying Microeconomics and Behaviour Studyguide by James Halteman (Author). It helped me get a 1st in my University Exam at Oxford.

Link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/0072977469
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Text Book Ever, 24 Jan 2008
I relied on this book for a first year module ('Principles of Microeconomics') of a economics degree. I recently took the exam, 35 multiple choice questions, and thanks to this book (well, my lecturer for recommending it), it looks as though i will have to resit it (unless i get lucky of course).

It is just so badly written. The author tries to fit so much on to the one page (about a thousand words) that it's pretty much impossible to understand it all. Plus, it has to be the dullest book ever. No fancy headings or nothing. The author is american too, so it is very americanized, which makes it even harder for someone from the UK to understand. I have been absolutely fine with all my other textbooks, even macroeconomics, but with this one, i couldn't go more than half a page without getting lost. Seriously though, if you are going to be relying a lot on a text book to get you through a microeconomics module, there are plenty of more books out there. Just make sure you don't waste your money on this piece of crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microeconomics and Behavior
Microeconomics and Behavior by Robert H Frank (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2007)
Used & New from: 7.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews