Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars14
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£41.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2004
I have a couple of the excellent "The Complete Reference" books and use them extensively. C++: The Complete Reference is another great reference in the series and is incredibly useful. I wouldn't however recommend this for the C++ beginner (C++: A Beginners Guide , also by the fantastic Herbert Schildt was the book i started with and is excellent for the beginner). I would highly recommend this, and all Herbert Schildt books as they are excellent.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2004
This is the only C++ reference book you will need, period.
It contains basically every function in the standard library and also gives an overview of the basic language features.
Although it does give an overview of the basic programming elements of C++ it probably would not be suitable for a beginner or someone simply trying to learn C++.
As a reference i highly recommend it.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2003
This is a handy book to have available when writing software in C++, serving as a realiable way to accurately describe the core ANSI/ISO language features as well as the standard template library.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
Great Book, genuine in genuine package. Sometimes it's nice to just have a book to hand that helps in all manner of ways even if it prompts you to look something up on the internet it's got to be useful when studying. Have ordered from them before and would order again, and would certainly recommend to a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
Herbert Shildt provides a thourough, yet understandable reference for both C++ and it's ancestor "The C Subset" in this single unifying book.
I do not recommend this book for beginners, as those completely new to either programming, or even just C++ may not understand a good portion of the context.
The internet may provide many answers to your C++ related queries, but this book is EASILY more valuable a resource.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
wow this book is big, just bare that in mind. other than that, it's a great resource to have by your side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
Very good book. Use it daily as reference for things i forgot during studies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Really nice book for c++ beginers and understandings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
This book is one of the most important reference about C, C++ programming. It covers programming foundations, principles and advanced techniques of both C and C++ languages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
Everybody knows that
The C++ Programming Language by Bjarne Stroustrup is a must have book for every c++ programmer.
like The C Programming Language by Brian W. Kernighan and Dennis Ritchie for a computer scientist...

But both are quite difficult for a "Not So Expert" to read them and understand them fully,deeply,correctly.
So i believe Herbert Schildt's book is a excellent way of approaching c++ without getting confused and messed up.
Everything is well explained,written in style with examples of code everywhere..
I suggest it for people that already know how to program and they want to start discovering c++'s world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)