Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book. A rare find that lives up to the hype.
This book make a fascinating read. It is written almost as a hacker's notebook, detailing how a system is targetted and then attacked. Fortunately the book didn't scare me, instead it did reassure me as I was aware of most of the techniques discussed. But the value lays in the way that the book is a summary of all those thousands of web pages discussing vulnerabilities...
Published on 17 Mar 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Average !
This book covers common 'sploits that all the klubies and kiddies try to run against evert network / system that happens to be running an effected deamon. the author has gone into a great amount of detail over things that have been cover over and over already. More attention could have been paid to coding (C, perl and sh. scripting) and to things such as ip/tcp...
Published on 8 Sep 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book. A rare find that lives up to the hype., 17 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library) (Paperback)
This book make a fascinating read. It is written almost as a hacker's notebook, detailing how a system is targetted and then attacked. Fortunately the book didn't scare me, instead it did reassure me as I was aware of most of the techniques discussed. But the value lays in the way that the book is a summary of all those thousands of web pages discussing vulnerabilities and hacking tools. The book is less than 500 pages yet still covers the pre-amble to an attack and the major weakness (and how to exploit them) of Win 9x, NT 4, Novell and Unix along with other sections on Windows 2000, network devices, firewalls, web servers etc. Some knowledge of Unix and NT services and TCP/IP is assumemed, but it makes a refreshing change to have a book that isn't 1000 pages of padding taken up by TCP/IP and the history of the Internet (again!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Security Consultants had better read this!, 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library) (Paperback)
This book will become the bible for wannabe script kiddies everywhere. The book explains how to conduct an attack against most sorts of computers and network elements and then describes how to circumvent the exploit. Basically, if the attackers are reading the former then you had better have read and implemented the latter. If you only have one book in your armoury then this should be it. Well written and interesting it thoroughly deserves to be a best seller, at least in the computer security industry. I would have given it the 5th star had there been an accompanying CDROM with the various tools mentioned in the book but the companion website is nevertheless very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning - Network Administrators must read this book !, 5 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library) (Paperback)
I initially thought that my NT systems were as secure as they needed to be but after reading this book it has really opened my eyes to the mutliple methods that can be employed to break into systems. If you have any external links be it dialup access, permanent internet connection you must read this book. Even if you don't it is imperative you read this book to prevent unauthorised access from your 'trusted' local users !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars want to learn how to protect your computer? READ THIS NOW!, 28 Feb 2000
By 
auto28967@auto28967.screaming.net (um i think it is the USA but i could be wrong!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library) (Paperback)
i am not a system adminsitrator just a normal computer user i dont want people to "hack" my computer so i bought this book to find out how to stop them. and it has worked i now follow a simple set of rules from the book when on the internet. if you are paronied (which you should be) on the net then get this NOW! it might just save your computer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Scarred of this Book, 5 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library) (Paperback)
Does exactly what it says on the tin.
How to hack into nearly all networks and systems. If you have Netware, NT, Unix, Linux, routers or dial-up networking then you MUST read this.
Gives simple instructions on the easiest ways to close up the loopholes. If you value your data then you MUST read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good book for newbies, similar to the Mark Hawthehorne bk, 10 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library) (Paperback)
A very interesting and worth while book to read. Very good with lots of info on hacking, both how to hack and how to prevent it. Could have been better with a CD with the tools explained but Hackers 2000 2cd rom has everything u need on it which is explained on it, better of buying both of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How exposed is your network? Find out before the bad guys!, 1 Nov 1999
By 
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library) (Paperback)
This book is a must for system administrators. I've been studying Unix security for many years, and the authors of this book know what they are talking about! It is easy reading, but goes down to sufficient level of detail to give you a complete understanding (or points you to the appropriate URL)
It contains detail on scanning and securing:
* Windows 95/98
* Windows NT
* Novel Netware
* UNIX
* Dial Up lines
* Routers
* Firewalls
* Web Servers
The only complaint I have about the book is that it does not come with a CD containing all the tools referenced. Yes, they are available from the book's FTP site, but I distrust any programs downloaded from the Net, and the book does not warn the reader about how to treat downloaded programs.
Nevertheless, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for 'newbies', 13 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library) (Paperback)
If your a newbie in the world of computer security and fed up with trying to find answers on the internet then this is a definate book to read. It introduces the aspects concerned with all kinds of security and will improve your understanding of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Average !, 8 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library) (Paperback)
This book covers common 'sploits that all the klubies and kiddies try to run against evert network / system that happens to be running an effected deamon. the author has gone into a great amount of detail over things that have been cover over and over already. More attention could have been paid to coding (C, perl and sh. scripting) and to things such as ip/tcp hijacking or packet sequence prediction. Firewalls seem to be well overhyped in this book, when even the most popular and supposedly best firewall is far from secure (as those at DefCon 8 will agree :-)). I was tempted to give this book an even lower rating, yet I have a great deal of respect for the author and am sure he could have done much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellenn introduction, 5 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library) (Paperback)
This is a good intro into cracking. Though it is a bit hands on. For this matter it would have helped to have the utilities described on cd rom. I am now searching for a more detailed text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hacking Exposed: Network Security Secrets and Solutions (Network Professional's Library)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews