Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great book
A really great book even for beginners. I do have experience on microcontrollers and programming so in some cases I skip lots of things and focus on the rest. I like the fact that details are provided for everything - for how to use terminal to how the sensors works! Great book, great projects, a great buy in general!
Published 13 months ago by ignacio_ch

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe goes too deep too fast...
Initial chapters on set up of the device might have been better used on some "limbering up" software projects before hitting the GPIO trail itself. The book graphics could be a bit clearer (either colour and\or bigger scale). Not sure it is ideal for a newbie teen who has never handled a soldering iron or other practical skills first, although as an automation...
Published 9 months ago by Steve D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great book, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
A really great book even for beginners. I do have experience on microcontrollers and programming so in some cases I skip lots of things and focus on the rest. I like the fact that details are provided for everything - for how to use terminal to how the sensors works! Great book, great projects, a great buy in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beside private use, recommended for schools to intrigue students to start thinking creatively and make practical work themselves, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
"Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius" by Donald Norris is an interesting book that introduces reader to Raspberry Pi that is regardless of its small size fully operational computer working on Linux operating system.

Inside the author presented 12 practical construction projects (robot car, MP3 player, camera controller, earthquake detector, GPS...) that showed Raspberry Pi's capabilities from the simple ones to the most advanced and complex.
For each project author stated its requirements, both software and hardware, together with describing whole making process in details, including pictures and schemes.

As author said, the Raspberry Pi is currently a most inexpensive computer that offers such level of functionality and is freely available on market.
Its concept was introduced 7 years ago on Cambridge University in order to make an inexpensive computer that will allow experiments unlike high-end expensive PCs that people for fear of damage don't dare "to play" with.
As a result, the Raspberry Pi was created that allows even small kids to play and experiment, and while they are learning to program they are also able to make things without a fear that something expensive will be damaged or broken.

"Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius" is nice book for all inventors or device constructors, regardless of their age, although I would strongly recommend it to the teens that will learn a lot while they'll use it.
In an extremely simple and graphically interesting way, with a lot of details the author manages to intrigue the reader not only to make herself/himself these 12 featured projects, but to soon try some own project using the principles learned from the book.

Therefore I recommend this book not only for private use, but also for the schools because it will intrigue students to start thinking creatively and make practical work themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe goes too deep too fast..., 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
Initial chapters on set up of the device might have been better used on some "limbering up" software projects before hitting the GPIO trail itself. The book graphics could be a bit clearer (either colour and\or bigger scale). Not sure it is ideal for a newbie teen who has never handled a soldering iron or other practical skills first, although as an automation technician I find the content OK to run with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - gave this to the IT network manager ..., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
Great book - gave this to the IT network manager in our school - someone I regard to have Jedi level geekness / nurdiness and he read the book - declared it "very useful" and said he even had to look a few things up. If you have have to buy a book to get Pi projects for a school moving over to computing curriculum then this is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
Not sure why it's for evil geniuses as the closest it got was a device to control your lights at home but was really good to give an alternative view on projects for the Pi. I already had books on how to set it up, write Python etc etc and wanted something more project-based to inside ideas. This book does exactly that, provides the code and instructions for how to do them and generally really useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much joy to be had, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
Given as a gift to my husband with a raspberry pi and pored over with much hilarity. I think in retrospect that a book on python would have been more useful to get going, but the ideas provoked a lot of family discussion about projects and was a good introduction to the basic anatomy of the thing for my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought for my son, he finds it awesome,, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
but is daunted by the specialist components he is going to have to buy, so not sure how much he will actually do. He bought me my own Raspberry Pi for Christmas, so maybe I will do one or two of the projects or be inspired to invent my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... my 12 year old godson and he is very pleased with it as it helps him with programming his ..., 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
I bought it for my 12 year old godson and he is very pleased with it as it helps him with programming his Raspberry Pi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 Oct 2014
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
Requires lots of extra purchases to create the projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
It is what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius
Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius by Donald Norris (Paperback - 1 Sep 2013)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews