Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick intro to SharePoint
If you want to have a brief intro to SharePoint 2013 this is the book for you. But do not expect any "in-depth" articles. This i a beginners book only.
Well written and of great value to the beginner in SharePoint.
Published 13 months ago by Jan Kronborg

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good and quick high level view of functionality, but no depth to help when things get tough.
This book provides only a very superficial look at Sharepoint, barely scratching at the surface of what is a very powerful tool when set up correctly. Did this book help my colleague with setting up Sharepoint reliably (without Corporate IT involvement)? Unfortunately not. Did it help with setting up sites and sub-sites reliably, including making changes to them to get...
Published 3 months ago by J. S. Hardman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick intro to SharePoint, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Jan Kronborg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Do Everything Microsoft SharePoint 2013 (Paperback)
If you want to have a brief intro to SharePoint 2013 this is the book for you. But do not expect any "in-depth" articles. This i a beginners book only.
Well written and of great value to the beginner in SharePoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aAnswered (almost) all my questions, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book I've come across that is not just an inadequate rehash of earlier editions produced for SP2007 or SP 2010. It really does get into the subject from a fresh perspective, one that is firmly planted in the shoes of the user. It makes it possible to easily understand how this new functionality can be applied to good effect. Any criticisms? I would like to see a version of the book that addresses the Office365 audience only, rather than one aimed at all possible constituents. But this is a minor issue, and the author handles the distinctions we'll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite good reference, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bit more depth would have been good as would have some overview of Yammer ands it's implications. Broadly though does what it sets out to do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to everything sharepoint 2013, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Heywood "Jean" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Do Everything Microsoft SharePoint 2013 (Paperback)
Excellent, clearly presented and easy to follow. Has made the transition to shsrepoint 2013 much easier. Would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good and quick high level view of functionality, but no depth to help when things get tough., 21 Jun 2014
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book provides only a very superficial look at Sharepoint, barely scratching at the surface of what is a very powerful tool when set up correctly. Did this book help my colleague with setting up Sharepoint reliably (without Corporate IT involvement)? Unfortunately not. Did it help with setting up sites and sub-sites reliably, including making changes to them to get them how we really wanted them? Nope (although this probably wasn’t helped by the underlying installation having issues). Did it even give useful information about setting up wikis, calendars etc, or advice on best practices? No. What it did do, is give an easy to read, very high-level, understanding of what Sharepoint can do, and give us (unfortunately false) confidence in how easy it would be.

So, if you are after a high-level , easy to read, view of what Sharepoint can do for you (if you really have to use it), then this book is absolutely fine. But having read the book, get your Corporate IT people (who probably work with deploying Sharepoint far more than you or I will ever do) to do the actual installation and support. Use this book to help identify and convey your requirements and get them to do the nitty gritty, painful stuff of getting it to work.

If, on the other hand, you are setting up Sharepoint yourself and hope to set up sites & sub-sites for your projects, this probably isn’t the book for you (and if you really just want a wiki and a team calendar, Sharepoint may not even be the tool for you, although Corporate IT might insist you use it). For our needs, we will probably end up with two Sharepoint systems, one that handles integration and reporting for Team Foundation Server (which it is really good at) and nothing else, and one managed by Corporate IT where we put our sub-sites for projects, wikis, calendars etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, not much use for the experienced, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Do Everything Microsoft SharePoint 2013 (Paperback)
This book is designed for people who know very little about SharePoint from an application usage perspective. Readers who have used previous versions, especially MOSS 2007 and earlier, will find it useful to show "this is how you do XYZ in SP 2013". However, it is of little value to people who already know SharePoint 2010 in depth from an operational perspective, there are a couple of chapters that cover new things but this information can easily be found on technet/MSDN. It also covers nothing in terms of application development.

I am writing this review from the persecptive of someone who has been using MOSS 2007 and SharePoint 2010 as part of my day job for the last five years. Someone with a different level of experience may rate it higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Sep 2014
By 
Shelley Hayles (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Do Everything Microsoft SharePoint 2013 (Paperback)
Very useful for the things I needed to know. Has been very helpful so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Do Everything Microsoft SharePoint 2013
How to Do Everything Microsoft SharePoint 2013 by Stephen Cawood (Paperback - 1 April 2013)
£11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews