Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting Started with Python
Excellent book, I'm using it to teach my son programming on the Raspberry PI. Its a great intro to python programming on any platform, nut is bent towards the PI's unique features such as programming the GPIO. thoroughly recommended.
Published 22 months ago by Geoff Waldron GSM Primographic

versus
33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for the absolute beginner
This book is for the absolute beginner, I bought it hoping it would give me good insight into using the Raspberry Pi to create some cool hardware/software applications, although it does that to a certain extent the book skims over it with the very light touch.
So you should consider buying this book if you do not know what a Raspberry Pi is and never set one up, have...
Published 22 months ago by Rodney Griffin


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting Started with Python, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, I'm using it to teach my son programming on the Raspberry PI. Its a great intro to python programming on any platform, nut is bent towards the PI's unique features such as programming the GPIO. thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The general programming elements are interesting and useful. But the first 20% of the book (as measured by the Kindle) are concerned with describing and setting up the Pi, which I thought wasteful in a short book and unnecessary given the ready availability of this on the Net.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cover the varies software languages, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming the Raspberry Pi: Getting Started with Python (Paperback)
A good read for anyone planning a project using raspberry pi, as it builds up layers of python software from a basic starters to more advance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldilocks book, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming the Raspberry Pi: Getting Started with Python (Paperback)
This book is just about pitched right for those wanting to venture out from the basics. Nice and straight forward explanations and with lots of diagrams and pictures and copious amounts of code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and easy to read, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is brilliant. If you are a relative novice to programming like me, it takes you right from the basic "hello world" app, right up to reasonably complex programs which involve the use of the Pi's GPIO ports. And if you are already a master programmer it still has alot to give, with information involving the specifics of the Pi and what extra software needs installing (All with links etc) so that you can create a masterpiece in next to no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars here we go again..., 17 Aug 2013
By 
David T. Woolrich (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming the Raspberry Pi: Getting Started with Python (Paperback)
I first got intersted in computers a few years ago, well 1980 actually. I bought a Sinclair ZX80 and 81 and I was hooked. This new product looks very interesting and at 66 years old quite a challenge.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Python and PI, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is well written and covers the main structures of python programming. The Raspberry Pi is for mostly a fun tool for dabbling with games making or constructing some hardware project. This book certainly helps towards learning basic Linux and Unix commands and in a short time gain confidence to start achieving some great projects and customised personalised environment. The kindle version is fab and handy for researching Web links on the fly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for the absolute beginner, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming the Raspberry Pi: Getting Started with Python (Paperback)
This book is for the absolute beginner, I bought it hoping it would give me good insight into using the Raspberry Pi to create some cool hardware/software applications, although it does that to a certain extent the book skims over it with the very light touch.
So you should consider buying this book if you do not know what a Raspberry Pi is and never set one up, have never programmed, and especially not with Python, as more than 50% of the book is devoted to setting up the Pi and basic python programming, for which you will find better resources on the internet for free. There is not enough for specifically programming with the Pi hardware, which after all was what I was after.
One good thing is he does mention many of the extension boards and how they can be used. Other than that it is not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a traditional text book, 31 Oct 2014
By 
PhilC (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book explains a lot about Raspberry Pi. Very clear, very precise. If like me you like the style of a well written text book this is an excellent book. The sort of book that can be used for reference.
Moreover it gives information on the hardware as well. Wish I had bought the book earlier and before grandson arrived,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Programming the Raspberry Pi: Getting Started with Python (Paperback)
Excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Programming the Raspberry Pi: Getting Started with Python
Programming the Raspberry Pi: Getting Started with Python by Simon Monk (Paperback - 1 Jan 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews