Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£22.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2013
The first half of this book is a stimulating description of a wide array of topics of importance in practical electronics. It's full of the useful sort of stuff you don't get in textbooks but which you need to know, eg how to choose and use transistors or how many different types of battery behave. The second half of the book covers the use of micro-controllers and is mostly based on the Arduino, however if you don't have one of these marvelous devices you'll probably want to fork out £25 to buy one.
Throughout the whole book the choice of projects are extremely interesting, eg how to use ultrasonic rangefinders or how to switch a relay from the a web page with an Android phone. The coverage of how to carry out each project is comprehensive and includes program code as well as the electronics.
All in all the book is an excellent motivational vehicle to help you learn practical electronics whether you just work through the book for fun or intend to carry on to bigger projects.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I can recommend this along with make: electronics by Charles Platt for the beginner.
it is a basic look at electronics, very light on math directing the reader to online calculators instead of showing the relative equations. the overuse of arduino is the only downside for me. there are some very good ideas in the book which gave me ideas for hacks of my own.
if you are looking for a book to learn electronics as a novice, I highly recommend it. if you have some knowledge and want to learn the math and the subject in depth, try practical electronics for inventors, much harder going but fantastically in-depth.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
As a book on Arduino I would give this 5 stars, however I bought a book on ' hacking everyday household items' which this is not !

How is buying an arduino and a shield and then connecting them up ( however well written) 'hacking ' ?

I already have several books on Arduino , so this book was of no use to me.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Excellent book, takes you from the basics through to circuit board design, really interesting for the novice & an ideal book for leaning from, covers a lot of subjects.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Well laid out and easy to follow with plenty of examples and references to other good resources. Just what I needed
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
A little disappointing as over 100 pages of 258 are Arduino based projects. Take away the basic stuff, ohms law etc. you are left with a few teenage kit projects. The only real hack is one paragraph on dismantling a VCR and that is just "hey look what's in here kids"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Not exactly what I expected, when early on in the book there is a statement informing the reader not to worry about capacitors as they are not important in the context of this book. One has to worry that it is not going to be great. Sadly that proved true.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Written with a wry sense of humour and aimed perfectly at the beginner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
If your not convinced about purchasing this book, then head over to Adafruit and see some of the super tutorials created by Simon Monk for Arduino and Raspberry Pi.

Excellent, clear guide for hobbyist electronics and DIY makers. Recommended !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Has some interesting project and enjoyed building some which later came into use on some of my other projects or ideas for new builds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)