Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good!
I've been attempting to learn Korean for a little while now, and this is by far the best book that I have used. It breaks the learning down into small, manageable chunks, with plenty of activities that help to really engrain everything that you've covered. It focuses primarily on language useful to real-life situations, making this book particularly useful for someone...
Published on 31 July 2012 by Soymylk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little disappointing
I choose this book because I was moving to Korea to teach for a year and needed to pick up some basic Korean phrases.

However I immediately noticed that you are at a severe disadvantage if you don't already know the Korea script. The book asks the reader to try to learn to recognise the words and phrases without understanding the actual letters. This just...
Published 22 months ago by Gerard Irvine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good!, 31 July 2012
By 
Soymylk (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners) (Paperback)
I've been attempting to learn Korean for a little while now, and this is by far the best book that I have used. It breaks the learning down into small, manageable chunks, with plenty of activities that help to really engrain everything that you've covered. It focuses primarily on language useful to real-life situations, making this book particularly useful for someone such as myself who is soon to be living in South Korea.

Explanations are given for much of the language used. I feel that having an understanding of the way a language works, as opposed to simply knowing what words to say and when, really helps in the long-term, so this is definitely a huge bonus to the book. The audio CD is clear and really helps to get pronunciation right, with the games and activities helping make learning Korean that much more enjoyable.

The explanation of hangul, the Korean alphabet, is unfortunately quite basic, which lets this book down a little. Hangul consonants, double consonants, vowels and diphthongs are presented in a table alongside their romanised equivalents, however a little more information on correct pronunciation would be beneficial. A few irregularities with hangul are mentioned in the book, however they neglect to mention some of the irregularities that appear in the activities, which was quite confusing.

Overall, I think that this is a fantastic book for the beginner in Korean, however I'd recommend that you supplement it with an additional means of learning hangul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Help!, 24 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners) (Paperback)
I found this book to be a great help, giving me good starting blocks to learning the korean language. The Keywords, Audio CD and activities are a great feature of this book, helping you to remember keywords and sentences in the easiest way possible. As someone who is planning on going to South Korea, I found this book, among many others, to be very helpful. And unlike many other language books, this book helps you understand conversations that take place in real life situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little disappointing, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners) (Paperback)
I choose this book because I was moving to Korea to teach for a year and needed to pick up some basic Korean phrases.

However I immediately noticed that you are at a severe disadvantage if you don't already know the Korea script. The book asks the reader to try to learn to recognise the words and phrases without understanding the actual letters. This just doesn;t work for me.

I struggled from an early stage so I'd warn people to first become familiar with the Korean alphabet before buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For beginners/ beginners plus, 25 Aug 2014
This review is from: Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners) (Paperback)
This was the book I was learning from when i was taking korean classes, and the lessons are bitesizes and have an audio disc to accompany it. i like the different activies and the way that it doesn't just teach sentences but teaches you enough grammar that you are able to build different sentences on your own. there are also games at the end of each unit that furtherinforces the lessons taught. so i like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great:), 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners) (Paperback)
Love it so far, perfect for beginners. And the CD's also very useful. + the game cards' great, an easier way to remember words. :) Thank you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars woow, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners) (Paperback)
i am not sure i how i am going to feel about it as i need to start the lesson but from what i looked throw the book it is defiantly a challenge especially if you can speak abit of korean by only listen to music and dramas. the spelling of the words and the pronunciation is completely different. so i will write another review after using it for a while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great starter, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners) (Paperback)
Great starter book for learning Korean, however it does not show you how to write Hangul and assumes you already know how to do so. The CD is also helpful in learning to recognise Korean sounds.
I did notice some typos in both English and Korean that were a bit frustrating when trying to answer some of the questions set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 16 July 2013
By 
A. V. Baik - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners) (Paperback)
This is quite a cheap book but it is perfect for its purpose. The book with its lessons and games and the CD that come with it will give you the confidence to start talking with Korean people with some confidence. An ideal family item to get everyone learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good basic overview, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners) (Paperback)
I would recommend this book but to get the most out of it you will already need to know Hangul; 'Learn Hangul in one hour'. After purchasing the book its a good idea to go through and cross out all of the romanisation next to the korean words. This forces you to LEARN Hangul, instead of memorize words by translating them to english first.
Thank you for the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the total beginner., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners) (Paperback)
Much more use to me than the Learn Hangul in One Hour that I purchased. I have the Chinese version of this book too. Perfect for the total beginner like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Read and Speak Korean for Beginners with Audio CD, 2nd Edition (Read & Speak for Beginners)
£11.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews