Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource for learning Italian verb formations.
This book gives brief but clear explanations of how and when different verb tenses should be used. After each description it then gives several pages of practice exercises. These range from translating Italian to Italian, Italian to English and English to Italian using all the subject pronouns. In particular the exercises leave you with a better understanding of...
Published on 10 July 2000

versus
48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for errors
I like these series of books. I have used the French one before.
They have helped me improve my grammar retention. However, I have got to the section on -ire verbs (Pg. 21) and have found it lacking in accuracy. Four of the standard -ire verbs have an inaccurate or misleading English meaning. For example avvertire is described as meaning "to announce". It actually...
Published on 19 Jan 2008 by David Townend


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for errors, 19 Jan 2008
By 
David Townend (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I like these series of books. I have used the French one before.
They have helped me improve my grammar retention. However, I have got to the section on -ire verbs (Pg. 21) and have found it lacking in accuracy. Four of the standard -ire verbs have an inaccurate or misleading English meaning. For example avvertire is described as meaning "to announce". It actually means "to warn". In addition, other verbs are described as being standard -ire verbs but are not. Benedire for example, is an irregular verb even in the present tense.

Will post more feedback if it gets better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource for learning Italian verb formations., 10 July 2000
By A Customer
This book gives brief but clear explanations of how and when different verb tenses should be used. After each description it then gives several pages of practice exercises. These range from translating Italian to Italian, Italian to English and English to Italian using all the subject pronouns. In particular the exercises leave you with a better understanding of what the English equivalent of each verb tense means. As the title indicates, the exercises are verb drills which reinforce learning by repetition so that the language can be written without stopping to think. All the major verb tenses are covered with good coverage of irregular verbs. The number of different verbs used in the exercises is not huge but it is adequate. I was preparing for my GCSE Italian at the time and it was of enourmous benefit but could be used by anybody wanting to learn the structures of verbs. This book certainly helps bring clarity to one of the most difficult aspects of learning Italian and also, happily, has the answers at the back. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely useful introduction to this topic, 19 Nov 2001
By 
Mr. W. P. Simpson "Poppy's dad" (Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verbs are the key to communicating. You might freewheel a little in the Tarzan fashion ( me Tarzan, you Jane, he Boy ). Next stage is to use a verb ( Tarzan swim, Boy play, Jane work ). This book expains clearly the mechanisms for forming and using Verbs WITH LOTS OF PRACTICE and the answers at the end of the book.Invaluable help for beginners like me.
Work through this book patiently and whatever else you don't know at the end, the constant repetition means that verbs are no longer a part of what you don't know. I reckon that the amount of work I have done means that the cost of this book to me is about 10 pence per hour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Revision and New Work, 8 Feb 2003
By A Customer
I have found Italian Verb Drills invaluable. It has been excellent both in learning new work - verb endings, different tenses, etc, and also for revisiting and revising. The book is clearly laid out and the answer section enables one to check work at the end, or during the exercise to make sure one has the right idea. I would recommend it to anyone taking up Italian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some small improvements would make this 5 star, 31 Mar 2012
By 
GillianBC (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Verb Drills, Third Edition (Drills Series) (Paperback)
It's good - repetitive practice does help. If I were redesigning this book I would:
1) Have the answers on the same page so that you could cover them up while working, then easily check your answers. It's annoying to have to look in the back of the book.
2) Use more complete sentences for the questions e.g. instead of 'I eat' use 'I eat an apple' or 'At 11am, I eat an apple'. It goes into memory much better if the sentence has more meaning.
3) Have more practice e.g. chapter 1 exercise 15 introduces 4 very important 'are' verbs that are irregular in the present tense. The only exercise is to conjugate them once, in the usual order, io, tu, lei etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too little on the irregular verbs, 30 July 2011
By 
Pam Wilkinson (Emsworth, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Verb Drills, Third Edition (Drills Series) (Paperback)
I am a beginner at Italian. I have started working through the book, but found the approach to the three main conjugations of words rather odd. There were a lot of exercises requiring only knowledge of the "regular" endings of the verbs but scarcely any dealing with the irregular verbs, which would be much more useful. The key irregular verbs (possere, dovere, andare, dare etc) need a lot more attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good investment, 20 Oct 2009
I've been teaching myself Italian for a number of years and always seemed to hit a brick wall when it came to practising my verb conjugations. This book has definitely been a great help in overcoming this hurdle. It includes 12 chapters each covering a specific concept briefly followed by a few pages of various exercises. Contrary to a one star rating the book does have a chapter specifically dedicated to the crucial `To have' and `To be' verbs and placed in such a way that by the time you get to it, you're already feeling confident enough to tackle them.

This book does not aim to bog you down with complex verb rules and regulations, it's there to help you practice conjugating verbs and it scores top marks for doing just that.

As a side note, I find the exercises work best if you say them out loud, instead of writing them down and in that way you can use the book over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars learning without pain, 22 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This easy to use, very comprehensive book is excellent for refreshing, or learning, the Italian verbs. The exercises are simplified, and gradually introduce new verbs. The explanations are clear, and easy to understand. By studying it regularly, the usage of verbs becomes easier, and thereby improves the general Italian. Inexpensive, but top quality contents. Congratulations. Lanette Nielsen (Denmark)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MR C. CLAY, 8 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. C. Clay "CaldoC" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am currently doing a intermediate level of italian but find it always useful to remember the key verbs. I have used a lot of italian books in order to understand italian and this one explains and does what it says ''drills'' those verbs into your mind with a good set of exercises. A well organized easy to understand book perfect for beginners of Italian! I would seriously recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 27 Nov 2007
This is a very good book. I used this shortly after finishing the 'Michel Thomas series' and it strengthened my ability to conjugate verbs enormously. It also gives help on a lot of the important irregular verbs that Italian has. I really do recommend this book, especially at this price.

Note: This book is not intended for any other area of Italian grammar other than VERBS!!! As the title suggests. If you want in depth grammar help, buy `Italian grammar drills'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Italian Verb Drills, Third Edition (Drills Series)
Italian Verb Drills, Third Edition (Drills Series) by Paola Nanni-Tate (Paperback - 1 Oct 2010)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews