Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars70
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2012
This is a very useful book to have around. I have just used it to repair a DVD player I thought was dead. The instructions were easy to understand and easy to follow. The downside, I don't get to buy the TV/ DVD combo I had my eye on!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2012
This just has to be one of the best How To books available for electronics. Written in a no-nonsense style that almost anyone can understand. It's as if the author is standing right next to you! Far too many other How To electronic books always assume that the reader is already well versed in the art of electronics - which of course, is not always the case. Electronics can be a daunting subject - even for those people who eat drink and sleep it. But now, look no further, because this author has written a book for the rest of us! And best of all, it is actually fun to read too!

I cannot recommend this book enough - it really is that good. Two of my friends liked it so much they're buying their own copies as soon as possible. If you're new to electronics and been put off by some other books which don't deliver, buy a copy now and stand by to be amazed. Michael Jay Geier has written a classic. Hallelujah!
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
good practical book for the fault finder because there are far too many books out there that dwell heavily on the physics and mathematical workings of components, it is of course important to know the physical properties of components and the job that they do in each circuit, but not to a point where you would be involved with the complete redesign of a new circuit from scratch, plenty of books out there covering the subject, but not nearly enough covering the subject that this author has covered really well, obviously from shear practical experience as any repair tecky out there will be able to relate to when reading through it as repair work in its self requires a some what different approach that is well covered in this book.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Useful for anyone who has some understanding of electronics but as a professional I wouldn't recommend this to an absolute 'rookie' DIY buff. It contains some very useful tips and hints for the 'amateur serviceman.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
As a beginner I found this book really helpful,it is easy to understand and seems to cover a good range of problems that might be encountered and ways of testing and fixing these problems.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Bit dated to be honest. I'd throw more of the stuff that this shows you how to fix rather than repair it. Cassette recorders etc, but if that's what you need to fix then it's ideal
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Not as helpful as i'd hoped, I have not yet had time to read cover to cover, but, I do know basics, like ohms law, reading risisters, and have a meter, but it fails to fill the blanks, like, what is latching? And where to put probes when testing? Being solar powered in my house, my problems are related, a power inverter that blown, a 50 battery charger, that doesn't function, 3 laptops with faults, the book only skims over things, but, explains basics, what is ac, or dc, be careful how you open laptop casing, Nothing earth moving for me. End of the day, it cost me 27euros,
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Very well put together, Service engineers can very quickly relate to this book. There isn't a lot of illustration and it does assume some basic understanding of electronics, but you would expect to have this knowledge if you are purchasing a book on diagnostics! This book can be well complimented with 'The Art of Electronics'. Both are must have books for Service Engineers.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Electronics obviously work the same wherever you are located in the world. This book is written mainly for the American audience, which is fine, but the author uses 19 words when 5 would be sufficient in most cases. If the context was more precise and direct, I would have rated it at 5 stars. I like to go to the problem and get the solution without lengthy dialogue.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
Great if you have or are planning to buy an oscilloscope. I however am not. There are some good tips for non scope owners, and is a worthwhile read on the subject.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)