Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2015
The collection title is “Practice Makes Perfect”, which is why I bought it; and there is indeed plenty of practice in the book. Therefore OK so far.

But there are three non-trivial downsides in my particular case.

1) It's aimed at students but seems to forget that conversations aren't always about school. Virtually all the examples illustrate conversations between or with students.
Now that in itself is not a showstopper, but...

2) It's aimed at US students. If you don't know the vocabulary of the US schooling system you'll be constantly looking up things like "majoring" and "sophomore". And that really is annoying.

Probably most the serious downside, though, is

3) It's basically a book for learning Latin American Spanish. The occasional token Eurospanish expression is thrown in for good measure, but the book is essentially written for people who drive "carros" and "se enojan" with each other.

Now, all those are fine if that's what you are looking for, but there should be a big warning on the cover to that effect.

Another niggling flaw for the male reader is that a majority of examples have female protagonists (woman author, you see). If you're a bloke, you have to be on a constant lookout for -o/-a booby traps (no pun intended). I'm not criticizing the author too much because it's something a native English speaker never has to think about in their own language, therefore it requires a special effort to neutralize or at rather equalize gender when visiting a language where it has a much bigger incidence. This author doesn't seem to make that effort.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
This is a really useful book for anyone doing an Intermediate Spanish course. It has lots of example conversations of very practical situations and explains the vocabulary and grammar used. Although a lot of the subject matter was already familiar to me I still learnt a lot. Slight American / Latin American bias to some of the vocab but a very good glossary explains it all.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
One of the most useful in this excellent series. It is set out under headings of various situations, and gives you useful words and phrases for these situations. This is indispensable book to complement the more grammatically oriented ones.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
This is an extremely useful book as it gives practice in everyday conversations in a very normal way. Most of these situations are very common and probablyu we all will need to use the vocabulary provided at some time when speaking Spanish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I HAVE A LOT OF THESE BOOKS AND THEY ARE REALLY GOOD, THEY ARE GOOD VALUE, THE CONTENT IS GOOD AND YOU CAN ALWAYS USE THEM TO DO BITS OF WORK OR LOTS OF WORK, I USE AN A4 PAD TO WRITE ANSWERS TO THINGS THEN I CAN ALWAYS KEEP RE USING THE BOOK WITHOUT MARKING IT.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Very useful guide with some excellent content but the Kindle version is difficult to use because the text of the dialogues has been converted to pictures which are too small on my Kindle. Also the licensing is very restrictive. I usually install my language learning books on several different devices - phone, ipad, Chromebook, Kindle, Kindle Fire, work pc - but this is the first book that has prevented me from doing this. After just 3 devices I could not install it on any further devices. I removed it from my phone and my Kindle but I still couldn't download it to another device. The content needs hyper-links to the answers after each section. It's too difficult to keep moving to the 'back' of the book to check answers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
This really does fill a gap. It is laid out very clearly and drags you back to things which you thought you knew - but didn't. It really is about conversation. They should bring out a Kindle version with sound. That would be perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
This book is very helpful for expanding your range of expressions for Spanish conversation. It makes a useful complement to other learning materials. There is a Latin-American slant, but that is true for the whole range of "Practice Makes Perfect" books, which are all very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
you need to have the spanish verb tenses green book and the other complete spanish grammer, and you can then learn the language
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
I consider this book very useful and entertaining because it contains several dialogues which are all very realistic but take into account that this book is not aimed at the beginners but the advanced students who already have studied Spanish. If you are such a person, buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)