Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Theory of culture
My only qualification in this field is that I lived for 12 years abroad (of France), but I have never studied, nor been really interested in sociology. This book present a very clear and convincing taxonomy of cultures along 5 dimensions : weight of hierarchy, individualism vs collectivism, masculine values vs femine, fear of uncertainity, short term vs long term. These...
Published 17 months ago by Alec Charras

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice and simple
This is a good book if you're looking for an easy-to-use guide to inter-cultural working. Hofstede's research is the most well known, and probably the easiest to use, cultural framework but there are a number of issues you need to bear in mind if you're looking at this from an academic perspective. His research has been empirically challenged several times and there are...
Published 15 months ago by Sam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice and simple, 11 May 2013
This review is from: Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition (Paperback)
This is a good book if you're looking for an easy-to-use guide to inter-cultural working. Hofstede's research is the most well known, and probably the easiest to use, cultural framework but there are a number of issues you need to bear in mind if you're looking at this from an academic perspective. His research has been empirically challenged several times and there are sometimes deep flaws in his reasoning. A simple google search will bring up a number of scholarly articles criticising the framework. Overall, three stars because it's easy to read and straightforward but, from an academic perspective, there are deep flaws that aren't acknowledged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Theory of culture, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Alec Charras - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition (Paperback)
My only qualification in this field is that I lived for 12 years abroad (of France), but I have never studied, nor been really interested in sociology. This book present a very clear and convincing taxonomy of cultures along 5 dimensions : weight of hierarchy, individualism vs collectivism, masculine values vs femine, fear of uncertainity, short term vs long term. These dimensions seem to be meaningful. A posteriori, I could understand and evaluate the behavior in countries I lived in. I used it in a conference and people were interested and quick to get the feeling of what was behind.
I would recommand it as a first book for comparing culture and national ways of manage, lived, behave. (I do not know any second book for the time being!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough but, being an empirical study, lacking in explanation (theory), 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition (Paperback)
In the empirical tradition, this book describes dimensions elucidated through an empirical study - in this case the statistical analysis of items (from questionnaires or workshops, sorry I can't remember). The point being that the authors have used correlations of the degree of agreement between people of different nations to a set of statements, to "shake out" the dimensions they describe.

That is, they didn't start with theory, propose dimensions that they believe to exist, and then test those through the measurement of empirical data, they let the data throw out the dimensions. There's lots of Social Science research methodology literature that discusses this point (in general) in detail.

Back to this book, and to the dimensions: from my own cross-cultural experience (being a Brit living in France), showing a difference between our nations in the dimensions of Uncertainty Avoidance (colloquially "Fear of the Unknown") and Power Distance, gave my "Anglo-Saxon" mind some comfort that the frustrations I felt at the time were not all in my mind. The discussion around these points allow one to put those "lost" feelings into perspective.

I only stop short of giving the book 5 stars because for a book that's manifesto is to improve cultural understanding, I feel that more care should have been taken not to explain the dimensions from a northern-european (similar to "Anglo-Saxon" (how I detest that term!)) standpoint. For example, there's a statement that goes somewhere along the lines of saying that in certain cultures not losing time (in getting from A to B in a car, i.e. driving fast) is considered more important than human life. (Had the authors really evaluated the value of human life in the country in question?)

But certainly to be read by all those looking for answers when trying to put cross-cultural differences into perspective. This work is also a cornerstone to the cross-cultural literature used in multinational corporations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice transaction, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition (Paperback)
the book was like expecting to be,as it had been described…without delays,in time.. it looked like new,it hadn't been used so much..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cultures and organizations: informative, accessible and enjoyable, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone who wants to gain some understanding of what lies behind the different behaviour we can see when we work with people from around the world. It's helpful, clear and a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good reference in culture and organisational culture, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition (Paperback)
I highly recommend it to those who are interested in the organisational culture .. compared to different books, the author put excellent materials in this book ..
very valuable..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best Resource, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition (Paperback)
I think one of the best resource in Cultures and Organizations. I would advice to academic staff for culturel research.
Thank you,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition (Paperback)
Well written book, very interesting and easy to understand. Delivery was fine too. All in all very happy with the product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 15 April 2013
By 
Rod Matthews - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition (Paperback)
An astonishingly comprehensive analysis of cultures in over 70 countries conducted over a 40 year span. Hofstede suggests that our cultural imprint drives many of our values, beliefs, thoughts, feelings and behavbiours. Many of these operate at the unconscious level ... until you travel overseas and experience a different culture. The book measures and compares cultures on 6 dimensions and in doing so provides amazing insight into how to operate when living and working in a culture that you did not grow up in. A must for anyone who works with people from different cultures."
After speaking with expert lecturer on Cultures Olga Muzychenko, I now have reason to doubt how Hofstede integrates data from different studies to arrive at final conclusions. ... even with that knowledge ... it is still very much worth a read. Comment Comment | Permalink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haven't been able to put it down, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition (Paperback)
As soon as I started to read this I was hooked. I work in a 4 nation consortium contract and was curious about the way our partners act in very different ways to situations. I've already gleaned a lot and from this book and look forward to the rest of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition
Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, Third Edition by Michael Minkov (Paperback - 1 Jun 2010)
£12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews